We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
329
20
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
20
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon loft mt gower breakfast and dinner mini bar degustation menu the entire island bucket list worth every cent fine dining whole team down to earth world class magical place perfect hosts mark lilly wines
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2024

A spectacular location for our holiday stay with two teen. The location, dining, and hospitality team at the Capella represent the best Australia has to offer. Lord Howe itself was like stepping back in time to a place with the only decisions needing to be made are what peaceful, beautiful thing to do that day. We hiked the crest of the island, saw more coral and fish than I've seen anywhere else, and cruised the island on electric bikes by breweries, beaches, and the historic little town that seems to hold many stories. Wish I had gone to their museum the first day to get the lay of the land and understand the history more, but other than that I can't think of a thing we would change. It would be an equally magical spot for a couple alone. With this much space and beauty there's a spot for everyone. One of our best family trips ever.

Room tip: Check out the town's little museum for a sense of the history and also some great ideas for adventures.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mcA7993VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2023 via mobile

An outstanding few days . Lord Howe is such a delight to visit and capella just adds to the experience .
Situated just out of town
But it’s easily accessible either by a Capella drive or a bike and yes e bikes are there !
It’s a beautiful spot and the rooms are very comfortable with a great hot tub
The food is outstanding but the real plus was the sensational service from every staff member they really are a great team

Room tip: We had a winter deal stay 4 pay 3 and winter was perfect weather
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jgle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

Dear Jgle4,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We are delighted that you found Capella Lodge contributed so positively to your time on Lord Howe Island. From the comfortable suite complete with plunge pool, first-name service and refined, local dining, we aim to provide a memorable experience and glad you will look back fondly on your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
Team Capella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2023

Don’t go here unless you have time and money to waste. Day one of holiday – flight couldn’t land because of weather, flew around for a while, then went to Port Macquarie to refuel. After 2 hours in the airport we were then flown back to Sydney – 10 hours going nowhere! We were fortunate that we could fly again the next day – we were told it can take 3 or 4 days to get there. I spent the whole weekend worried about whether we would get on the plane to go back to work, which was not very relaxing. My fears turned into reality when we turned up to the airport for the return flight and we were told as there was no wind that not all the passengers may be able to fly home as it was a weight restricted flight. We were then weighed with our bags and then told there was good news and bad the news – the good news is that everyone could get on the plane, but we would not be taking our luggage with us. Our luggage was delivered over 2 days later (and someone had to be at home to accept it, which was very inconvenient). We are still arguing with the insurance company weeks later about getting the money back for the unused night of accommodation. Yes the island is beautiful and accommodation and food were excellent but the wine was very average. So, in summary if you are looking for a relaxing long weekend just go somewhere else, such as Qualia or Wolgan Valley – it will better at half the price, without all the hassles of travel.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank N7391XCcharlesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2023

Dear Charles,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here at Capella Lodge. We are sorry to hear that your trip was impacted by unexpected travel delays and issues with your luggage. We understand that this would have caused significant inconvenience and stress. While we strive to make every guest experience seamless, unforeseen circumstances beyond our control can sometimes occur, and it’s unfortunate that your travel was inconvenienced.

We glad you able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the island and appreciate the lodge and cuisine.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Team Capella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2023

We had 5 wonderful nights in lated December.
Only 9 suites........so it has an intimate feel.
All the staff were fantastic.
Food was excellent - especially the Asian options. Try to be there for the Asia night on Thursdays.
Location is perfect...........away from the noisy end of the island. A short walk to the very good golf course.
Best premium option on the island.
We will return.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 514grahamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Baillie Lodges, Owner at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2023

Dear Graham,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Capella. We're thrilled to hear that you had a memorable stay, and that the staff took great care of you. We love our rotating menu’s, but the amazing seafood that we source from the island helps make the Asian cuisine a real highlight! We appreciate your accolade as the best premium option on the island, and can't wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Team Capella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2022

What a wonderful holiday we had at Capella over eight nights. We created memories that will last a lifetime, and that was only possible because of the amazing staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.

The lodge itself is located at the "quiet" end of the island, quiet being a relative term. The room facilities were fantastic - comfortable, quiet. We stayed in the Makambo and Lagoon Lofts and each were perfect for the island experience. All had wonderful views. Makambo has a great hot tub with room for six, along with a great outdoor deck with sun and shade chairs. The mini bar, all included, was kept well stocked, and the room cleaning was first rate.

The dining experience was outstanding. Under Dennis, across breakfast and dinner each day we estimated we had well over 40 courses and couldn't fault any of them. The food was first class, and we were lucky to experience two dinner degustations which were as good as you would find in any mainland top restaurant. There was complete flexibility with the breakfast and dinner menus to suit the guest, with the ability to mix and match a daily menu with a repeat menu of favourites. After 6pm, all alcohol save for a few more expensive wines was included in the tariff and there was a lot of fun with the cocktails. Jess oversaw a fantastic team of front-of-house staff, a number of whom were travellers from around the world. I won't name them all in case I overlook someone, but each of them brought a lot of laughs and fun to the table each time we sat down.

Lodge management under Libby and Mark, each with decades and decades of experience, was seamless and highly professional, and Sally and Lucky helped every day to ensure all our plans ran smoothly. Thanks to all for helping to create such priceless memories for each of us.

Specific tips that may help:
Take less clothes than you think you'll need. Luggage restrictions apply anyway, but we found we used less than expected. This includes shoes
The lodge provides, very helpfully, good quality backpacks and two types of beach/swimming towels (heavy and light). They also provide water bottles for guests to take each day on their adventures
Use a soft bag for carry-on luggage - those with hard bags saw them taken on boarding and stored in the luggage compartment due to size restrictions
The lodge provided snorkelling gear in great condition - our son has size 15 (US) feet and he was able to use the flippers provided
The lodge also provides bikes, and makes available for hire golf carts for those less agile, to get around the island
Take advantage of the opportunity to have at least one BBQ - this is an island thing, with BBQs set up on different beaches around the island and wood provided by the island. The lodge provides a choice of foods for cooking, implements, kindling etc
The lodge helpfully will drop off, and/or collect, bags, snorkelling gear etc around the island to minimse the need to carry loads
The ride from Capella to Neds, which is about as far as you can ride on the island, took us around 15-20 minutes at a relaxed pace
A few of our party did the Mt Gower walk - it was a 9 hour excursion, and while highly recommended, wasn't for the faint hearted

Overall, we can't recommend Lord Howe, and in particular, Capella, highly enough

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank V3023URmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Baillie Lodges, Owner at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2023

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your recent stay at Capella. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful holiday with us and that our staff went above and beyond to create priceless memories that will last a lifetime.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location, suite facilities, dining experience, and all the extra amenities we provide to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We will make sure to pass on your kind words to Dennis, Jess, Libby, Mark, Sally and Lucky.

Thank you also for sharing your tips and advice for future guests, we appreciate your thoughtful suggestions. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Capella in the future for another unforgettable experience.

Warm regards,
Team Capella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews