We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
320
20
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
320
20
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf buggy other guests fine dining every evening mark lilly australia luxury beaches bikes mt island canapes meals lord bree accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2021

the room, service, amenities and staff were all great. We are not spa pool people but did enjoy our private spa. A highlight was meeting a large number of very friendly couples from different backgrounds - all interested and interesting. Minor complaint - management could do more to organise or help with activities. E.g., was keen to play a bit of golf but found out from Capella management when we got there that the course closed for an annual tournament and that we could not play. Found out later in the week talking to some of the players that we could have got on the course and played in the competition - missed my chance of being Lord Howe Island Champion!

Room tip: Pool with a spa pool is worth it
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CraigMichaelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2021

Dear CraigMichaelT

Thanks for taking the time to share your review. Capella's charm seems to have worked its magic - the relaxed, ambient nature of the lodge creates such a convivial atmosphere and exchanging stories with like-minded guests over a sundowner is as memorable for many as is the cuisine and the warm, 'nothing is too much trouble' style of service provided by Mark, Libby and their team.

They generally go above and beyond to facilitate guest requests including assistance with booking the range of activities provided by local operators. We note participation in the golf tournament requires pre-registration and a commitment to play in the entire event (alas joining part way through the week isn't possible). Perhaps something to plan for your next visit!

We hope to welcome you for a stay with Baillie Lodges again soon.

Ali Richards, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2021 via mobile

We booked our luxury island getaway 12months previously and decided at last minute to get married while we were there. It was a secret. No family or friends knew. The day and the ceremony was perfect, made all the more so due to the wonderful staff, fab location and warm hospitality of Capella. It was glorious.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank dsulway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2021

Congratulations on your nuptials! We couldn't imagine a more stunning place to elope than Lord Howe Island and no better team to create ever-lasting memories of the day than the staff at Capella.

We hope to welcome you again one day - perhaps a future anniversary!

Best wishes | Ali Richards, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

We had such a great time at Capella last year that we brought our boys with us this year. The most beautiful views, comfortable chic rooms, and fantastic fine dining. We would most highly recommend all the staff here, who obviously love their job and the Island they work on. Libby and Mark run a great team and lead by example. Thanks to Dave for advice on where to snorkel and fish identification. Copper never disappoints with his delicious food. Bree, Jarod and Jess always friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank 911cathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

Dear Cath

Thanks very much for your review which highlights so many wonderful elements. At a time when the opportunity to travel is especially cherished, it's even more important to get everything just right. We're delighted you think the Capella team excelled in all respects.

It sounds like the beginning of an annual pilgrimage and we hope to see you and the family again next year!

Sincerely,
Team Capella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

It was our first visit to Lord Howe Island and our stay at Capella Lodge enhanced the beauty and magic of the island. At first I was hesitant that Capella is located on the southern end of the island, away from the shops and Neds Beach, but it turned out to be a blessing. We felt secluded and isolated from the “hustle and bustle” of town, which was what we were craving after a hectic year. Sure it took a bit more effort to travel to the attractions, but that’s the beauty of a relaxed holiday where you can hop on your bikes or hire the golf buggy or the staff will drop you or your gear off. Also it is the only accommodation on the island with views.
Our flight had arrived early at 10am and we were expecting to have to kill time ourselves until we could check in. To our surprise, after Libby picked us up at the airport, she sat us down the dining room for a late welcome breakfast and had our room ready to use by 1130am.
I echo the sentiments of all previous reviews – amazing views, luxurious accommodation, outstanding food and welcoming warm staff. Big shout-out to Dave, Jarrod, Jess, Jess and Bree, and the unseen kitchen and cleaning staff. They were personable, helpful and happy to give ideas and recommendations. Mark and Libby were consummate hosts and no request was too much trouble. Lucky, the assistant manager, sparks of joy and vivacity and can regale a good story.
We looked forward to the drinks and canapes at sunset every evening, and it was a great opportunity to mingle with other guests and swap notes and ideas about activities and places to visit. If we had stayed at a self-catering apartment, we would have missed out on this convivial atmosphere.
We would highly recommend doing a BBQ picnic at one of the beaches of your choice. The staff will take down all the food and tools and save a picnic table for you, and then come pick it all up later.
It was a stay close to perfection. It is worth saving hard and splashing out on this indulgence at Capella. We’re already planning our next visit!

Room tip: All rooms face Mount Gower and the ocean
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank TravelGnomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baillie Lodges, Owner at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Dear TravelGnomes,

The best compliment we can receive is that our beloved lodge can do justice to the incredible setting of Lord Howe, and your kind words are greatly appreciated. Nestled into the hillside, footsteps away from Lovers Bay, Capella’s location is somewhat off the grid on the tiny island paradise. However, as you’ve noted the short commute is certainly worth the privacy and unrivalled views of the ocean and mountains. Capella’s style of relaxed, barefoot luxury is very special and the sum of many people and parts – some like our housekeeping ninjas are even invisible! We’ll make sure your praise is shared with our Lodge Managers and team members.

Gowers Terrace is a fantastic venue to enjoy a canapé and a cocktail from the evening’s open bar. Our guests typically appreciate the opportunity to be social over a sundowner while sharing a view and stories of the day’s adventures, before moving on to the main event - dining on Chef Cooper’s incredible cuisine. We are so glad you chose to fire up the barbecue at the beach - it’s one of the many experiences not to be missed when visiting Lord Howe!

Thank you again for your glowing review, and welcome to the Baillie Lodges family.

Until next time,
Team Capella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Capella for 3 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Lord Howe Island is a very special place and there is no better way to enjoy it than at Capella. From the minute we were greeted at the airport by Libby and Mark for the next 4 days were pampered by all the staff who are all absolutely delightful.

Capella is a beautiful boutique resort, thoughtfully designed, perched on a small hill providing knock out views toward Mt Gower and the ocean that are mesmerising. However it’s the staff that make it so special, all so helpful and who know you by name. They all go well out of their way to make your stay special including great tips on the numerous activities available on the island.

Worth a visit to enjoy the atmosphere, great evening cocktails and dinners, lovely rooms with everything you ever wanted, great friendly and personalised service and simply pure pampering!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timbo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

Dear Tim

Thank you for your wonderful review - you're preaching to the choir here! We're thrilled to have helped celebrate such a milestone and create a new chapter of memories for you both. We hope to welcome you back to Lord Howe and the lodge again soon.

Sincerely,
Team Capella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews