We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
317
19
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
317
19
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf buggy mt gower plunge pool breakfast and dinner food and wine very special place the managers other guests fish bucket list whole team every evening heaven on earth exploring the island amazing food wedding anniversary a real treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

We stayed in a Capella Suite for a week for a holiday we had been planning since lockdown (with high hopes and fingers crossed we would be able to go).
Capella Lodge was magnificent - from the stunning views, the beautiful decor, the very friendly and helpful staff and the amazing food.
Thank you so much for our stay, looking forward to visiting again!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Penny360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baillie Lodges, Owner at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Dear Penny,

We are delighted your trip was able to become a reality after what has been a tumultuous year,
and especially glad that the lodge and our services were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for your kind words Penny, and we hope to see you at Capella or perhaps sister property Longitude 131° in the future!

Sincerely,
Capella Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2020

After a wonderful stay at Capella lodge in 2019 we rebooked for April 2020. Unfortunately our visit has been cancelled due to the Coronavirus. Thank you Capella for so generously refunding our accommodation payment. Your understanding has created such goodwill and we certainly will be back when the world settles down

Date of stay: May 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarianneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baillie Lodges, Marketing at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2020

Dear Marianne,

While this response is belated, on behalf of the team thank you for your kind words. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves on creating a unique experience for guests and your choice to re-book (even though the universe had other ideas) is the biggest compliment we could receive. We hope to see you again - Lord Howe might just be the perfect escape for Aussies given the circumstances!

Sincerely,
Team Capella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in early March. From the moment we were picked up at the airport we knew we had made the right decision.
The lodge has the most breathtaking views and the rooms are beautifully appointed. We stayed in a Capella Suite which is the lowest room category and were extremely impressed. There is a floor to ceiling window that runs across the front of the room, half of which is a screen so if you leave it open you can hear the waves and the birds.
There is a mini fridge in the room that is well-stocked with wine, beer and snacks (included in the room rate).
Breakfast and dinner was also included in the room rate. Every meal was exceptional. We never saw the kitchen staff but certainly appreciated the amazing work they do! Plates always went back empty!
The staff are all fantastic. They all make a point of introducing themselves which I think is lovely. They are all excellent LHI ambassadors and provided us with lots of good tips about what hikes to do. They set a high bar for the customer experience. We were a few minutes late for breakfast one morning because we underestimated the duration of the Goat House hike (which other than Mt Gower is the next most challenging hike). Dave was wonderfully understanding and didn’t make us feel bad about being late so we were able to enjoy our breakfast (even though we had zero expectations of doing so). This is an example of the kindness and the focus on the customer experience that sets this property apart.
There is so much you can do while you are on LHI. Capella provided us with bicycles for our stay. Some of the hikes can be done off of the property while others require you to bike to the beginning of the trail. Highly recommend doing as many hikes as you can to see all of the beauty the island has to offer.
We also did a 2 hour snorkelling trip which we really enjoyed, although many people were snorkelling off of many of the beaches on the island (and Capella provides you with the equipment which is great).
We wanted to go to Old Settlement Beach one afternoon but didn’t want to ride our bicycles as we had already had an active day. Lucky, the Assistant Manager (who is a delightful young woman) happily drove us to the beach and then picked us up 2 hours later.
We would highly recommend this property and LHI. You’ll fall in love with it!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BrianandNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baillie-Lodges-2020, Marketing Manager at Capella Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear BrianandNaomi

Thank you for your exceptional review! From the many highlights you've mentioned - from the cuisine to the comfort of your suite and the alluring charm of Lord Howe Island - it really does sound as though you've been captured in Capella's spell.

Our people are also a big part of the experience and it's lovely of you to mention Dave and Lucky, and indeed the team in general - all of them are dedicated to taking the famous 'extra mile' in providing excellent service.

We're thrilled you had such a wonderful experience and hope to welcome you back soon, just to fall in love again once more!

Warm wishes | from the Capella Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020 via mobile

Capella Lodge belongs to the collection of " Luxury Lodges of Australia ". It's located on Lord Howe Island above Lovers Bay overlooking the ocean and Mt Gower. It offers natural luxury at its best. Unfortunately, Capella Lodge was booked out when we visited but we managed to drive past it whilst exploring the island. If looking for a luxury hideaway then Capella Lodge would certainly hit the spot. It’s perfect for honeymooners or those looking to totally relax in a gorgeous isolated setting.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
49  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

We had an incredible holiday staying at Capella Lodge on Lord Howe Island, and everyone wants to go back as soon as we can. Lord Howe Island is a beautiful, amazing place with gentle beaches and fish you can feed, walks with wild nesting birds to challenging hikes with an untouched, unique rainforest on top of a mountain of rock from an extinct volcano. Staying at Capella meant being able to engage with and enjoy Lord Howe while having exquisite meals, friendly, helpful staff who were very knowledgeable about the Island and so many luxury touches - a real chance to relax in connection with nature while being so well cared for!

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Voyage021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews