We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
31
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
31
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2021

I finally persuaded my wife to visit Lord Howe and picked this apartment on the advice of our travel agent, and a look at online reviews. We stayed in unit 1, which is a VERY spacious apartment on 2 levels, the bedroom, or should I say suite upstairs with full bathroom. Living dining kitchen downstairs, another bathroom. The fitout and appointments were first class and spotless, and the location gave a sense of being totally isolated on a tropical island.

Internet, wifi, TV, stereo, Bose bluetooth speaker, all there.

On arrival Ann and Tim met us and en route took us to the store for some basic provisions including breakfast cereal and wine. They were very obliging and considerate hosts throughout.

The unit came with a big bowl of fruit (mandarins, bananas), light and full cream milk, coffee anyway you like it. We even had Ann arrive one day with a bunch of local bananas, way better than the usual supermarket fare.

The kitchen is fully fitted including dishwasher.

The only issue we had, and this might not matter to some others, is that the bedroom curtains left gaps that allow early sun in, waking us up much earlier than normal.

It's less than 10 mins walk to the village, Anchorage Restaurant was good, burgers at Thompson's store outstanding. Some resorts include 3 Meals a day, talking to some of their guests I think they found it a bit too much, I think a self-catering option much better.

We had a delightful time and wouldn't hesitate to return. Don't miss Dave and Glenys' boat trip to Ball's Pyramid, spectacular.

Be warned that transport costs mean Island food is expensive.

Room tip: Unit 1 has 18 steps between ground floor and bedroom, unit 2 is 1 level, although I think smaller area.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JAWGJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2019 via mobile

Wow - we were so impressed when we arrived. Annie and Tim were away in Sydney but Chilli and Brad met us at the airport and after a quick tour of the island and shops, we arrived at the apartment. It is tucked away in lush foliage but still close to the road. It has to be the best spot on the island - on the flat, close to Neds beach, Thompsons store and The Anchorage cafe. Close enough to walk or you can easily ride bikes without any effort. It is also sheltered from most winds. The apartment was modern and had a beachy feel with lovely furnishings - a great comfy king bed, beautiful bathroom and the kitchen was well appointed. We loved the little extras - milk in the fridge, fresh eggs, coffee pods, beach towels, torches and umbrellas (which we needed on Melbourne Cup day - it poured). Annie rang us twice to check on our stay which was nice. We are sorry we did not get to meet them. Maybe next time...

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2019

We had two weeks on Lord Howe Island and due to availability had to swap accommodation half way through. Howeana Apartments was our second accommodation and whilst both were excellent the hospitality at Howeana was superb! The apartment was well fitted out with everything that you needed and like all accommodation on Lord Howe the owners would drive you to the restaurant in the evening if you wished.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

If you’re after boutique self-catering accommodation on LHI, I don’t think you’ll do any better than Howeana. Great location, Tick. Spotless presentation, Tick. Extremely well set up, Tick. Privacy, Tick Exceptional proprietors, Tick.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Gunnastay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2019

We stayed for our honeymoon and couldnt have wished for any thing else
It was perfect and Tim and Annie made ups feel so comfortable and welcome
The apartment is close to everything and secluded and private in a beautiful tropical setting
The apartment was sparkling clean and well serviced and maintained daily
Having the option to cook and eat out just down the road is amazing
Comfortable, modern, clean :)
Thanks Annie and Tim for your welcome and looking after us
Pip and Bill

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BillyD570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews