We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
254
25
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
25
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banyan suite settlement beach kentia palms banyan trees light lunch complimentary drinks fish young staff other guests snorkeling equipment pre dinner drinks bbq lunch sashimi bbq pack staff were superb attention to detail world heritage listed
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

What an amazing place. The location is quiet yet close to the beaches and facilities. The rooms are very well appointed, the food excellent and staff friendly, informative and first class. I would Highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Merran

Thankyou for your review and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed exploring Lord Howe Island.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was exactly what we were looking for - total relaxation among serene and pristine surroundings. Loved there was little reception so that we were reminded to relax! Bikes and snorkelling equipment were included and we definitely made the most out of it. My dream came true when we got to see a massive turtle swim right up at us at settlement beach which is literally behind Arajilla. Such an amazing experience. We also enjoyed seeing the massive fish that swam in shallow waters and kayaking on the beautiful island. We were spoilt for choice on the gourmet dining at the retreat plus they organised a deluxe BBQ lunch for us. Everything you could ask for if you are looking for the perfect getaway. Staff went out of the way to make our stay perfect including that extra night when our flight got cancelled from poor weather. Staff also went beyond measures to make sure we were on the return flight we wanted. There was nothing to fault, it was really the perfect getaway honeymoon start for us.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank a-little-fatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thankyou so much for your review and sorry to hear that your flight got cancelled however it turned out perfect that you were able to spend an extra night with us and be even more pampered.

It is one of the great things about Lord Howe Island being able to experience a different picnic spot each day and just take in the serenity, it truly is beautiful.

We wish you a wonderful long marriage together and look forward to welcoming you back for one of your anniversaries.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

A really first class Resort on a most beautiful island. The cabins were well appointed and the restaurant of high quality. The daily 'happy hour' brought people together socially and there were plenty of activities available on the island including snorkelling, spa, diving, walks, beaches and cycling. We booked for three nights worried as to whether we would like it. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andymunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Andy
Thankyou so much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your time on Lord Howe Island and while staying at Arajilla. We encourage the 'happy hour' for a time to get together and meet our other guests while sharing different stories from that day.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We had an amazing stay at Arajilla where we felt very well looked after. The villa was beautifully appointed and spacious with a mezzanine floor where the TV was. Decor was light and fresh looking and the bathroom very spacious. King bed extremely comfortable. The chefs worked very hard to present first class food and we enjoyed all the fish we ate very much.
The staff was very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them.
All in all, we had the best time ,riding around on bikes ,snorkeling boating and seeing the reef, as well as walking. There are many walks from simple to extreme ,so something for everyone. A real nature lovers paradise with all the birds, fish and turtles.
The coral was better than we had seen in the Barrier Reef and the fish were unbelievable. All in all, a wonderful resort and island to visit and we will definitely be going back.

Room tip: All rooms would be quiet as there are only 12. I cannot rate the hotel above as it would not let me click on . Top rating though
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 769helenmaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thankyou so much for your review and we are glad to hear you were able to experience the island by riding your bike and snorkelling and walking all the different tracks, there is so much to do on Lord Howe Island and we hope to see you back in the future and we can look after you again.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Hi every one this resort is one of the best we have ever stayed in it has got every thing required for a great break the people are fantastic the food is extremely good it uses mostly home grown food the meals are just the right size and not over done staff second to none and I know I might be raving but there not enough great word to describe this place I wish the sty could have been longer but it was great 6 days of heavan

Joe

Room tip: all suites are great just come
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A8915RRjoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Joe

Thankyou so much for you review and we are so glad you got to experience 6 days with us and hopefully next time you can stay longer and explore some more of this beautiful island.

Kind Regards
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews