We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
57
36
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
36
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view swimming pool table tennis and pool table an easy walk owners and staff flight home balls pyramid great holiday self catering jetty court paddock beaches accommodation bbq kerry island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2022

Just wanted to say a huge thank you to Kerry & Keith for making our trip so memorable. From the initial pickup from the airport they went above and beyond throughout our stay to make it was as memorable as could be.

With a huge backlog of tourists unable to leave and with Sydney experiencing floods; Kerry made sure we were inconvenienced as minimal as possible including contacting Qantas on our behalf to ensure we were allocated on the next available flight home and even reaching out to other locals on the island to source baby formula for our 10 month old.

The accommodation had a great family vibe with the majority of rooms opening up onto a communal grass area with BBQ’s. Oceanview also has a lot added extra’s that you cant find anywhere else including their own beach shack, a pool and games room containing table tennis and pool table. I was also told that they will have their own restaurant and bar on site in the next few months which will be another home run.

Couldn’t recommend this place anymore highly!

Date of stay: February 2022
Thank H5314GOchrisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2021 via mobile

Basic level of accommodation. Rooms are clean and tidy but the walls are paper thin. Snoring from next door kept us awake at night!

Within easy walking distance of the main part of town.

Customer service provided by Kellie can’t be faulted. She went out of her way to assist with dinner bookings etc.

PS. Don’t be fooled by the name …. there are no ocean views!

Room tip: Booking dinner is extremely frustrating with limited options available. Best to book BEFORE you arrive …. seriously!
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eagles181
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2021

we stayed here for a week while diving.
the location is fantastic - very central with a quick shortcut to the store/cafe/restaurant of town through the vacant lot with resident bull Mabo. Plus its a reasonable walk to the stunning Ned's beach (back beach) & the main town beach - spectacular!
the family owner/operators are all very friendly, helpful & informative - nothing was an issue.
we didnt hire a car so walked everywhere - i would recommend perhaps hiring a car for a couple of days to provide some greater ability to investigate the island.
huge tip: reserve your dinners at least a week in advance. places have rotating nights they serve so everyone tries to book in. your accommodation will offer shuttle service there & the venue will shuttle you back.
there are 2 stores on the island - so plan snacks/small meals.
make sure you pack comfy shoes & socks as you will be doing a lot of walking!
the accommodation itself was perfect. comfy QS bed with 2 singles with a well stocked kitchenette & large fridge. The ensuite was a bit pokey but suffice. plenty of powerpoints.
great BBQs in the lovely gardens.
airport shuttle provided.
communal laundry which was great - only thing i would suggest are clothes racks so people can dry their clothes in their rooms/under the eaves & not on the main washing lines to avoid overnight dew & take up room washing line room for the operators to do sheets/towels.
we were disappointed the boat wasnt available for us to go fishing (which was the main reason we picked this venue) & the bikes/kayaks were also not available. luckily we were diving everyday & would recommend making contact with your accommodation provider in advance to confirm extras.
2 things i really liked:
1) the main clubhouse building with games, table tennis, tennis court & swimming pool
2) the transit room: where you could store your packed luggage on the day of your departure & then go explorng - with 2 bathrooms to have last minute showers before you depart - what a wonderful idea!!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2021

We loved our stay at Ocean View and found Kevin and Sue to be wonderful, helpful hosts. Ocean View is in a perfect location - we rode our bikes everywhere but just down the bottom of the hill we could jump off the jetty into the turquoise waters of the lagoon. Ocean View has a boat shed and we took a kayak and paddled out to Blackburn Island, used snorkelling gear over at the amazing, pristine Ned's Beach, and went on many walks around the island. Kevin will help you book restaurants, but get in early and book ahead your meals out as well as all your trips, because we found out too late we were a little slow in booking ahead for things like trips out to Ball's Pyramid. All in all, Ocean View is great for a family holiday, you won't want to leave.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Merrijiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2021

We made a last minute booking and stayed 6 nights in a studio apartment at Oceanview. We had a great time here. It is really well located, the apartment is incredibly clean and the gardens/BBQ (cleaned and spotless every day!)/pool were the highlight. Most of the guests return again and again, and it is perfect for a family holiday. Kevin and the rest of the family are clearly proud of and take excellent care of the estate. Also loved talking about the history of Lord Howe Island and how settlement came about. Thanks for all the lifts and conversations.

Room tip: Some of the apartments may be more private than others.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodgybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews