We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
48
16
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
16
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews transit room self catering mutton birds wood bbq fresh veggies view apartment ned's beach apartments are spacious available for purchase own meals snorkeling gear wi fi stove top board games washing machine hire bikes various restaurants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2022

My husband and I had 7 nights in apartment 3 at Ebbtide. The trip was delayed by 12 months due to COVID but communication with Julie made it very easy to rebook.
We were greeted at the airport by Emma who then gave us a tour of the island as well as stopping by the liquor store and Joy's supermarket for supplies. The accommodation is set up the top of the hill, about a 10 min walk to and from the main shops which means it's nice a peaceful, always. Everything was very clean and well equipped, we were incredibly comfortable and the apartments are spacious. We took advantage of being on holiday to dine out most days, but the kitchen was well set up with basics for cooking your own meals. A big thanks to Emma who drove us to various restaurants at 6:30 most days and told us all the tips and tricks of life on the island. The transit room has another toilet, shower, washing machine and detergent, bags, backpacks, books, board games, shoes, umbrellas and food and drink in case you run out. Wi-fi is limited but was great for email and messages to keep in touch, we enjoyed the opportunity to switch off.
Thank you for being so friendly and accommodating. We expected this would be a once-off trip of a lifetime but we would love to come back and would highly recommend Ebbtide to everyone.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCoghlan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2022

Our group nearly booked Ebbtide out, occupying three apartments and a cottage for a multi-generation family celebration. We were so well looked after from the second Emma collected us at the airport. She and Julie strike a great relaxed balance between friendly availablity and privacy for their guests. There are thoughtful touches and details everywhere, from the amazingly well stocked transit room with books, snorkeling gear, backpacks to use, to the veggie garden with herbs and greens for guests to use. The accommodation was fresh and modern, and stocked with everything we needed for our stay. Even the artwork was so thoughtfully chosen, highlighting local artists, views, and island history. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katrina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Bretnall, Owner at Ebbtide Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2022

WoW!
Thank you so much for your very detailed, kind review. There is so much to Lord Howe behind the scenes and we are very pleased you were able to have a glimpse at this with the artworks and some insights into the Island.
We are so pleased to have shared our home with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

Fabulous service and beautiful setting. 10 minutes walk through the bush to Ned’s Beach. Wonderful herb salad and vege garden we were encouraged to help ourselves to. Offered fresh Kingfish and Trevally just caught by our hosts for a mere $20 a plate - enough for dinner for 2 or 3. Looked after us when the winds meant we got stuck for extra days. We stayed in one of the simple, very clean and comfortable Garden apartment. Lovely aspect surrounded by garden and a wood BBQ to ourselves. Have already booked my return stay!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Voyage62583888448
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Bretnall, Owner at Ebbtide Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022

Many Thanks for your review of Ebbtide, this is exactly as how we wish to project our piece of Lord Howe and Ebbtide by offering great service, clean, comfortable rooms suited to the natural environment around us.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2022

Ebbtide and Lord Howe are such special places, Emma was so welcoming and helpful and we loved our stay there. Our plans to eat out a few nights were curtailed when she mentioned they had fresh kingfish they had caught, that was dinner most nights with some fresh veggies and salads from Diamonds down the road. We stayed at The Cottage which had everything you needed, a small piece of paradise. Loved the little track down to Neds which I think we wore a hole in. Loved the honesty system for any extra supplies you might need if you didn't feel like going to the shops. Could not recommend Ebbtide more highly, we will be back, just don't tell everyone how good it is :)

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhonam191
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2022

I can't get enough of Ebbtide and Lord Howe. My kids love the freedom and access to their own games and swimming equipment in the transit room. They can grab what they need when they need it. Also the location of Ebbtide is perfect for access to Neds and quick ride down the hill to grab the morning coffees. Even in Winter we got cracking weather and great guidance on things to do from Em. We stayed in the family room which was perfect for our family of 4 (kids are 9 and 11). Remember if coming to Lord Howe it is remote, there is no 7Eleven or Aldis and late night shopping does not exist. Appreciate it for the remoteness and being able to detach from your every day life.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Bretnall, Owner at Ebbtide Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2022

Thank you Stuart and family for choosing Ebbtide to return to as a family holiday!
We do try and provide a "complete" package for your stay and all the extras in the transit room benefit for your time here.
Till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews