We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marie_Pierre2013
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia

Pandanus Apartments need a make-over

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Dec 2013
We booked at Pandanus for 6 nights under the impression that the apartments were stand-alone
cottages. Their website does not mention that the apartments are duplexes, so you have a common wall with your neighbours. If you wish to read a book or have a drink during the afternoon on the front verandah there is no privacy as the other guests are right next door (abou 10 feet away). At night we could hear them walk around, due to the timber floors, doing their washing etc, the pump must have been right under our bedroom and we could hear every tap being turned on and off. Very disappointing to pay that amount of money and have basic facilities like that. The bathroom and the kitchen are average as well, with a very small shower ; there is nothing luxurious about Pandanus. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Kenya Apt, which is a replica of the one next door. They do not provide bicycles but saying that Liz was a very good host and drove us to anywhere we wanted. I think for the price they charge it was disappointing.
Everything on Lord Howe Island is expensive ie. the restaurants, the supermarkets, the gift shops. It is a pity because it is such a beautiful island and so close to the mainland!
Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Vio.com
Free Wifi
Pool
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      Free Wifi
      our unit is in the foreground
      Go to your Happy Price
      • ZenHotels.com
      • Agoda.com
      • StayForLong
      Free parking
      Beachfront
      Front lawn
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      Free parking
      Aerial View from Ned's Beach. A 2 minute stroll from Apartments to Ned's Beach
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      • Booking.com
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Lord Howe Island
      Reviews (31)
      Filter reviews
      31 results
      Traveller rating
      10
      13
      6
      0
      2
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      10
      13
      6
      0
      2
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      17 - 22 of 31 reviews
      Reviewed 24 November 2013

      We were looking for 2 bedroom accommodation on Lord Howe as we were spending 5 days with friends from Norway. We could not have been happier with our choice. The email correspondence prior to our visit was friendly and helpful and all our questions were answered promptly. Liz was there to meet us when we landed, and the bare-footed welcome was a good introduction to the casual feel of the island. We were taken on an informative tour of the island and then made to feel very welcome at Pandanus. Our villa was spotlessly clean and well equipped. It was also incredibly quiet and private (only 4 villas). The outdoor bbq area was huge and we made use of the bbq for breakfast and dinner. When we decided to eat out, Pandanus Restaurant on the property was outstanding and well deserved of its No. 1 rating on TripAdvisor. Liz was always available to advise and also popped in with some bananas straight from the tree. When our flight was delayed on the homeward journey due to bad weather, Liz again kept us informed and made sure we had a bed for the night should our flight have been cancelled (which fortunately it wasn't). Lord Howe Island is a magical place. We hired bikes for the week and enjoyed the many hiking trails. All in all, the perfect place to take visitors from the other side of the world and the perfect place to relax.

      Room tip: We stayed in Villa No. 1 which was at the end of the garden and very quiet although all 4 looked lovely.
      Date of stay: November 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank MimiNSW
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 28 September 2013

      What a terrific time we had during our week in Lord Howe. We arrived to a warm welcome by Liz our host at Pandanus Apartments - we had booked very late and had luckily secured a spot at Pandanus quite late in the day. The place was terrific - Liz welcomed us at the airport and took us on a tour of the island before taking us to our great 2-bed apartment set in a most beautiful tropical garden setting. She couldn't do enough for us, offering to take us to one of the local stores to do an initial shop, dropped us down to the bottle shop to get some supplies and was always on hand to drop us to get our bikes, down to a barbecue spot or out to dinner at one of the restaurants. The location of Pandanus was perfect, close to Neds Beach and lots of great spots to eat - Beachcomber, Greenback's Eatery (up the hill) and the restaurant at Pandanus itself, which was terrific - lovely food. As a family of 4 we had a terrific time and would strongly recommend Pandanus to anyone heading to the island.
      Thanks Liz for your great hospitality - we will definitely be back again soon.

      Sherie C

      Date of stay: September 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Sheridan C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 20 August 2013

      We were 3 Norwegian couples who decided on a short break on Lord Howe Island in July. We had some trouble to find a place to stay but were saved by the manager Liz of Pandanus. She accepted our short stay and finally our order for air tickets were accepted. Liz met us at the airport and took us on a sightseeing so we were informed about where we could find shops, restaurants, post office, local museum, nice beaches and walking tracks - all that was good to know about. We were installed in what I would call small bungalows rather than apartments, and they were well equipped even with picnic baskets. We enjoyed our stay here very much, with a lush garden, big Bayan trees and Kentia Palms. We would have loved to be guests at Pandanus Restaurant as well, but we had not booked tables separately ( the restaurant is a separate business) and in the Australian winter time the restaurant is not open every day. But Liz booked tables for us at other restaurants for our dinners and she drove us there with a smile. The restaurants drove us back after dinner. Breakfast and lunch we organised ourselves and for a very nice picnic at Ned's Beach we simply ordered a fried chicken for pick up the next day, together with salad and some french fries, from a restaurant. We loaded all into the picnic baskets, added some wine and went to the beach where we had a splendid time. We did not swim in the sea but we waded and had a fun time feeding fish there. The island is small and apart for the dining we always walked. We found Pandanus being very well situated wherever we wanted to walk. We were very content that it was Pandanus that saved our short break at Lord Howe Island, a very good choise on a beautiful island.

      Date of stay: July 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Bjorn44
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 17 April 2013

      We would highly recommend against staying at the accommodation at Pandanas. We were very disappointed with our stay at Pandanas, especially considering the costs of this accommodation at over $350 per night.

      To note the quality of the Pandanas restaurant and service was very good, however this is run by different people (apparently an independent lease) and although we had looked at some of the reviews for Pandanas before staying there, I think the good reviews were in relation to the restaurant and not the accommodation.

      Whilst we don’t normally stay in accommodation this expensive, I had been very sick in the earlier stages of my pregnancy so thought we’d stay somewhere nice for our baby moon (last holiday before our baby is due to arrive in 2-3 months), and most accommodation on Lord Howe appears relatively expensive. However, I would far prefer to have stayed in a big impersonal hotel than be treated so rudely and end up feeling so ripped off by the service of the manager of Pandanas. I normally prefer staying at small places as they have always been more friendly and had a more homely feel, but have felt far more comfortable staying at big impersonal hotels than at Pandanas.

      The facilities provided at Pandanas were very basic (far more basic than most other places I have stayed in that are less than half the cost), for which we weren’t surprised (considering the island), but it was really the services and communication that was very poor.

      Initially we thought it was nice that the manager (query owner) offered us transport to different restaurants (the restaurant usually provide transport home at night as there are minimal other transport options available especially when raining), however any service at Pandanas was certainly not friendly. Examples include: after 1st night (we needed to change rooms, as a single bedroom unit was not available for the first night, so we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit the first night and then a single bedroom unit the other 6 nights) we were told in the morning “ we need you out in 15 mins”. We were already nearly ready for the move, however there was no simple friendliness – “like how are you?”, “how was your stay last night?” Etc, or polite request like “do you think you could be ready in 15 mins?”. When i worked in the hospitality industry, we never spoke to guests like this.

      Following this, of the 7 nights we stayed there, the only additional service we requested were a change of beach towels and other towels once during the 7 night stay (as they were wet and did not dry well overnight), and transport to two restaurants. On any attempt to book transport (as offered on the first day), we were greeted with a blunt “whats up”. The first one, on my birthday, of which she was about 20 mins late to the time we had agreed (missing the sunset as planned).

      Otherwise, we loved the island. All but one of the restaurants we attended had great food and excellent service, although some a bit expensive, no more expensive than what we’d expect to pay for good quality food at any normal Aus city. In general, the other services offered on the island were great, although we were surprised that some of the “tours” that we advertised were not offered at all during the whole week we were there.

      Room tip: Overall, I would suggest booking very early for any trips to Lord Howe Island. If there is no accommodation available elsewhere on the island, I would suggest waiting until you go to the island at a different time. If we return, we will look to stay at accomodation close to the lagoon, as Pandanas was a good 15-20 min walk from most businesses, or requires a steep bike ride on an uneven road - not very safe in the dark particularly when wet.
      Date of stay: April 2013
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      7  Thank Kath C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 February 2013

      We loved our 5 nights at Pandanus.
      Liz greeted us at the airport and was a wonderful host. She went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay. Initially she gave us a comprehensive tour of the island, took us to the shop to get our food, tracked down our suitcase when we had wrongly picked up one that was the identical but not ours from the airport. When it poured with rain for a couple of days she offered to drive us to where we going.
      On the nights that we went out to restaurants, Liz dropped us off.
      Our accomadation was great and had so many little extras, ponchos and umbrella for the rain, a torch for returning home at night, a picnic set back pack complete with picnic blanket, plates etc for BBQing at the fabulous beach BBQ s.
      Great to have a laundry facility to wash and dry cloths.
      Really appreciated the free Wifi
      Liz also dropped our hire bikes back for us on our last day when it was raining.
      Would highly recommend staying here

      Date of stay: February 2013
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Candy B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews