We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
82
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ground coffee mt gower lovely toiletries cold bottle fresh bread beautiful island town centre lovely apartment stayed longer fabulous hosts watching the sunset return visit the perfect place to stay sharon soaps moisturiser plane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2021

We stayed at Waimarie Apartment 1 for 10 glorious days. Sharon and Peter were fabulous hosts from the moment we were picked up. The home made slice, bread and eggs in the fridge were much appreciated as was the cold bottle of bubbles! The apartment was furnished in true island style, modern and very clean with a fabulous bathroom. Lovely deck on the front was great for a good read and views and the private rear deck got lots of lovely sun. Mount Gower is a feature of Lord Howe Island and you can well and truly see it from Waimarie's gorgeous garden and bbq areas. All very private. A great ride into town on the bikes too!

Room tip: Only 2 apartments so very private and quiet, both are very nice.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter VAN GELDEREN, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

Hello Di,
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, and especially all that Waimarie has to offer.
Thank you, we really appreciate your kind review. We hope to see you again sometime.

Best wishes,
Sharon & Peter
Waimarie Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021

We just came back from an amazing week over at Lord Howe Island staying at Waimarie Apartments. I would 100% recommend them for your stay at LH. (1) The apartment is amazing - nicely decorated and spacious. You have your own private bbq area with views to the mountains and sunset and a separate private outdoors coffee lounge on the back which is also pretty cool. All the linen, towels and kitchen stuff is first class. (2) The area is very secluded and private - while a very short 8 minute stroll into town. You can definitely get closer to town but Waimarie gives you a huge space in front of your apartment to enjoy without feeling the claustrophobia of other resorts. The breeze is great and very silent at night. (3) The hosts are the best! Drove us into town as much as needed, gave us good recommendations on what to do, welcomed us with a bottle of bubbles and roasted coffee.

Don't think it twice. If you can find availability make sure you book it or it may be too late! :))

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DavidIbanezG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter VAN GELDEREN, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Hi David,
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed all that Waimarie offers.
We hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
Sharon & Peter
Waimarie Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2020 via mobile

It is inspiring to witness Sharon and Peter’s dedication to Waimarie. As returned guests, we immediately felt at home. Their warm, relational manner and commitment to improvement and growth is apparent. We highly appreciate the chats, laughs and generosity.

Waimarie provides the perfect balance:

Ideal distance from the town centre to the stunning southern beaches
Sparkling clean, totally self contained with many additional luxuries
Opportunity to cook, bbq or be driven to cafes, clubs and restaurants
Quiet, private yet interesting with superb water views and the added entertainment of sheep and planes.

We already miss Waimarie, stunning Lord Howe Island and being with family who stayed in the ajoining apartment. The decision to book for a fortnight was an excellent one and we already anticipate our return visit - fingers crossed it’s even longer!
Stuart & Helen

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter VAN GELDEREN, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Dear Stuart & Helen,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review of our property. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us again and we are so happy you enjoyed our new improvements.

Best wishes for the New Year,
Sharon & Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

Waimarie Apartments are the perfect place to stay on Lord Howe Island. The accommodation at Waimarie certainly adds to the magic of the Lord Howe Island experience. There are spectacular views of nearby mountains Lidgebird and Gower, and the sun setting over the lagoon is a photographer's delight.
Sharon and Peter are superb and friendly hosts. Their attention to detail and generous and thoughtful hospitality left nothing to be desired. As noted in other reviews, everything has been thought of with the luxury inclusions: the starter breakfast provisions, bottle of French bubbly, personal bbq, quality skin products (soaps, body lotions, moisturiser, shampoo), superior linens, etc.
A stress free, relaxing and chilled holiday, with plenty of adventure if that's your choice! We stayed 2 weeks and will definitely be back. Peter and Jo

Room tip: Both apartments have excellent views
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jorQ8654GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter VAN GELDEREN, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Hello Peter and Jo,
Thank you for your very complimentary review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us again.
We wish you a healthy and happy festive season and 2021.
Best wishes,
Sharon and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Oh my! we were so lucky to find a magnificent view, a sparklingly clean apartment and THE most comfortable bed. I could go on...I will...the interiors were understated and so well resolved...quality in all things - the coffee, the teas, the butter, the soaps, shampoos and moisturiser generous and so useable ...even the pack of cards and the cups we drank from! Our hosts, Sharon and Peter, really were hosts in their own low key island way enabling us to have an outstanding time in our 6 days due to their local tips. I love snorkeling, swimming, coral and fish and saw the best I have seen in years. We walked to the south end of the island and I went out to Balls Pyramid (so wild and spectacular), in the open sea with a capable local captain. Amazed when I saw myself in the mirror back in Sydney, I was so rested and well. We can't wait to go back. If it is your first visit to the island, you will love it - a south seas paradise full of palms, greenery and unique species. The apartment matched the island - high quality, well managed and friendly - with an eye to detail. One of the best outlooks from the accommodation choices on the Island. Proximity to the airport is actually a bonus enabling spectacular views of the mountainous rock. The small planes are very infrequent and add to the interest of the area. All in all - one of our best holidays - and so close to Sydney - why didn't we visit years ago?
.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank MargaretofBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter V, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Hi Margaret,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed what Waimarie, and our beautiful island has to offer.
Due to the current situation, we will be closed for some time.
Our sincere best wishes for the future and we hope you remain well.
Sharon and Peter
Waimarie Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews