We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
92
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
92
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sourdough bread yoga mat mt gower thought of everything french champagne outdoor eating area lovely hosts apartment was spacious beach towels perfect location sharon fridge paradise accommodation luxury garden bubbles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2021

We just came back from an amazing week over at Lord Howe Island staying at Waimarie Apartments. I would 100% recommend them for your stay at LH. (1) The apartment is amazing - nicely decorated and spacious. You have your own private bbq area with views to the mountains and sunset and a separate private outdoors coffee lounge on the back which is also pretty cool. All the linen, towels and kitchen stuff is first class. (2) The area is very secluded and private - while a very short 8 minute stroll into town. You can definitely get closer to town but Waimarie gives you a huge space in front of your apartment to enjoy without feeling the claustrophobia of other resorts. The breeze is great and very silent at night. (3) The hosts are the best! Drove us into town as much as needed, gave us good recommendations on what to do, welcomed us with a bottle of bubbles and roasted coffee.

Don't think it twice. If you can find availability make sure you book it or it may be too late! :))

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DavidIbanezG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter VAN GELDEREN, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Hi David,
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed all that Waimarie offers.
We hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
Sharon & Peter
Waimarie Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2020 via mobile

It is inspiring to witness Sharon and Peter’s dedication to Waimarie. As returned guests, we immediately felt at home. Their warm, relational manner and commitment to improvement and growth is apparent. We highly appreciate the chats, laughs and generosity.

Waimarie provides the perfect balance:

Ideal distance from the town centre to the stunning southern beaches
Sparkling clean, totally self contained with many additional luxuries
Opportunity to cook, bbq or be driven to cafes, clubs and restaurants
Quiet, private yet interesting with superb water views and the added entertainment of sheep and planes.

We already miss Waimarie, stunning Lord Howe Island and being with family who stayed in the ajoining apartment. The decision to book for a fortnight was an excellent one and we already anticipate our return visit - fingers crossed it’s even longer!
Stuart & Helen 🐝

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter VAN GELDEREN, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Dear Stuart & Helen,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review of our property. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us again and we are so happy you enjoyed our new improvements.

Best wishes for the New Year,
Sharon & Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

Waimarie Apartments are the perfect place to stay on Lord Howe Island. The accommodation at Waimarie certainly adds to the magic of the Lord Howe Island experience. There are spectacular views of nearby mountains Lidgebird and Gower, and the sun setting over the lagoon is a photographer's delight.
Sharon and Peter are superb and friendly hosts. Their attention to detail and generous and thoughtful hospitality left nothing to be desired. As noted in other reviews, everything has been thought of with the luxury inclusions: the starter breakfast provisions, bottle of French bubbly, personal bbq, quality skin products (soaps, body lotions, moisturiser, shampoo), superior linens, etc.
A stress free, relaxing and chilled holiday, with plenty of adventure if that's your choice! We stayed 2 weeks and will definitely be back. Peter and Jo

Room tip: Both apartments have excellent views
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jorQ8654GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter VAN GELDEREN, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Hello Peter and Jo,
Thank you for your very complimentary review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us again.
We wish you a healthy and happy festive season and 2021.
Best wishes,
Sharon and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Oh my! we were so lucky to find a magnificent view, a sparklingly clean apartment and THE most comfortable bed. I could go on...I will...the interiors were understated and so well resolved...quality in all things - the coffee, the teas, the butter, the soaps, shampoos and moisturiser generous and so useable ...even the pack of cards and the cups we drank from! Our hosts, Sharon and Peter, really were hosts in their own low key island way enabling us to have an outstanding time in our 6 days due to their local tips. I love snorkeling, swimming, coral and fish and saw the best I have seen in years. We walked to the south end of the island and I went out to Balls Pyramid (so wild and spectacular), in the open sea with a capable local captain. Amazed when I saw myself in the mirror back in Sydney, I was so rested and well. We can't wait to go back. If it is your first visit to the island, you will love it - a south seas paradise full of palms, greenery and unique species. The apartment matched the island - high quality, well managed and friendly - with an eye to detail. One of the best outlooks from the accommodation choices on the Island. Proximity to the airport is actually a bonus enabling spectacular views of the mountainous rock. The small planes are very infrequent and add to the interest of the area. All in all - one of our best holidays - and so close to Sydney - why didn't we visit years ago?
.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank MargaretofBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter V, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Hi Margaret,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed what Waimarie, and our beautiful island has to offer.
Due to the current situation, we will be closed for some time.
Our sincere best wishes for the future and we hope you remain well.
Sharon and Peter
Waimarie Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

Wow! This place is beyond amazing. There is no better place in Lord Howe if you want privacy, serenity and views to die for. The minute that you think you might want something, you'll most likely find that it is already in your apartment! As soon as you arrive there, you find provisions for a cooked first breakfast in your fridge. The coffee provided was the best! A box of different types of tea was also very much appreciated. We kept the wonderful Champagne for our last night there and enjoyed a barbecue outside for the last time in the beautiful gardens. Beach towels shampoo, soap, body lotions, backpacks, yoga mat, picnic cloth etc etc all provided. The apartment had all the necessary kitchen utensils to cook up a storm, if you wished. The restaurants on the Island, that we visited, were all very good, as well
Sharon and Peter are a wealth of information if you have any questions about the Island or where to go. They are special people who have thought of everything. We found "Heaven on Earth " and can't wait to visit again!
Thank you Sharon and Peter for a stress free holiday. Merry Christmas to you both.
Chris and Steve

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank loverapidbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter V, Owner at Waimarie Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2019

Hi Chris and Steve,
Thank you very much for your complimentary review.We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed it so much.
We would love to have you back when you get the chance.
Best wishes,,
Sharon and Peter
Waimarie Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews