We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
49
68
16
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
68
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anchorage restaurant water bottles post office laundry facilities neds beach small tv transit lounge superior apartment perfect location dishwashing liquid level walk electric blankets on the beds toilet and shower rooms are clean easy walk bike racks general store
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

What a beautiful stunning World Heritage island
The Island is pristine , remote , stunning , and definately has the WOW factor
I do not need to repeat the comments from other reviewers re restaurants , everything being weather dependent , expensive etc but a couple of things do need to be emphasised
Be aware that most activities on the island are weather dependant.
When we were there the Qantas Link aircraft , a Dash 8 , couldnt land due to high winds and had to return to Sydney so TRAVEL INSURANCE IS A MUST.
The Island operates on Island Time so check , check and double check your arrangements.
The boat tours will simply not operate if the weather is dicey , so be waned.
The best value for money as far as eating out is concerned is the pie nite at the bowling club.
For $15 per person you can tuck into a home made pie , with peas , mash and gravy.
I chose steak and mushroom .
There are several choices.
Do not miss out on the apple pie for desert for $10
For a bit of olde worlde experience try Pinetrees .
A 3 meal course will set you back $55 but well worth it with a roaring log fire , beautiful table setting and good old fashioned service.
We travelled in Winter so you do need to plan in advance where you want to eat as many restaurants close for the winter or if the numbers are low , will simply not open!!
I did find also that visitors are tolerated by the residents
I must comment though on our accommodfation ,Mary Challis Cottages.
This wasnt our first choice but I sure am glad we stayed there.
Location is excellent as it is very close to all activities , is on the flat and the cottage , of which there are two , very comfortbale.
The furnishings though are dated but very clean
The owners at first seemed formidable but once you get to know them are truely welcoming but I wouldnt want to cross them.
Do NOT let that put you off.
I would def stay there again...absolutely!!
It ia a must to hire a bike .. $50 for a week

In summing up , a brilliant holiday , a brilliant destination , and would thoroughly recommend it
We atayed one night only at Somerset Apartments , a one bedder , newly decorated , very tiny though compared to Mary Challis

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank westcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

While Somerset Apartments were in a good location, we had a couple of occasions when the owners were extremely rude and abusive to us.

On arrival, the woman (who was a little odd) who collected us from the airport, complained about how many bags we had. We had one checked and one carry on piece of luggage each. This was a pretty ordinary way to begin our stay at their apartments.

Throughout the stay, there was a courtesy bus service offered. The one time we availed ourselves of the bus, we were 6 minutes late due to the clocks in the room being incorrect. The male owner abused us, shaking with anger, and then drove like a maniac to our destination.

Very strange people run this place, who seem to have very little concept of appropriate customer service. I wouldn't stay here if you want a stress-free break.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank nadiadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in August 2010 which is off season on the island. The Somerset Apartements were a perfect place to stay for us as we could cook our own food and store it in the refrigerator. Since baggage is limited to Lord Howe Island we were happy to have all the pots, pans, dishes and other necessities provided for us. There were back packs for day hikes as well. Nobs picked us up at the airport and gave us a great introductory tour of the island including the location of the grocery stores. Credit cards are well accepted on the island. We used the pay laundry facilities which were also good. The rooms were clean and well prepared for our arrival. The location is good being close to "downtown" and to Ned's Beach where you can feed the fish. A phone near the post office can be used to book restaurants and tours. The hotel will drive you to the restaurant and the restaurant will drive you back to your hotel. I climbed up Mt Gower wih the Jack Shick tour and it was arduous, but great. It's dark on Lord Howe so take a flashlight. You can visit http://www.fhada.com/lord_howe.htm for more photos and some travel trips. Lord Howe Island is a great place to visit. Book your tours early!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maxpixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Friendly pick up at airport by all the apartments / hotels on the island. Short informal tour of the main part of the Island on way to a the apartments. Check in perfect just taken straight to your room with a quick guide to the facilities etc.
The rooms are clean but sparse. Functional but not luxury. I would term them very laid back and relaxing with small balconies some more private than others. The apartments are not serviced other than a towel changes if you leave them outside, so don’t expect your beds to be made. Toiletries supplied in Bathroom is Soap only and washing detergent in the kitchen. The beds have electric blankets on them for the winter months.
The kitchen has sink large fridge, microwave, kettle plates and cutlery etc. Gas BBQ facilities are extensive in shared areas of the apartments. Central communal area has books games and loads of information on the island. Washing facilities and washing lines for drying again shared.
Small TV’s in rooms with very limited choice of stations. 4 main channels which seem to be televised from central Australia / Northern Territory. Very odd but guess dependant on the satellite. The rooms do not have phones and there is no mobile phone coverage on the island but public phones are plentiful.
Food is extremely expensive in local shops if self catering so if you have any room left in your luggage out of the 14kg that QF allow pack as much extra food items as possible particularly those small items as they do cost a lot in local shops. There are no ATM on island, credits cards are accepted but banks did not accept international debit cards for cash advance.
The owners will drive you every night to local restaurants at around 6PM (I think) and the restaurants will then drive you back to your apartments. A great service. But it is not that far to walk to many.
There are no keys given for your rooms as there are no external locks. There are also no safety deposits box’s in rooms so this takes a little getting used to for those conscious of security. But after a day I promise you, you will think it’s a wonderful concept but takes a little getting used to. The room scan be locked from the inside however if you are inside if you wish.

Bike hire is available near by and very reasonable daily rates.

The Island is truly beautiful and I would describe as the most beautiful place I have ever visited. It is not cheap but well worth the visit and expense.
Everyone was so friendly. Can’t wait to go back one day!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank STEVEFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

A nice basic place to stay. Very clean and neat. We stayed in a self-contained 1 bedroom. Food is very expensive on the island so it was great to have our own cooking facilities. There are not many accommodation places that have beach views unless you want to pay close to or over $1000 per night. The "town" is small and all the shops and restaurants are in easy walking distance. It is in the middle if the island so there is easy access to the beaches on either side by walking or riding a bike. You can do day walks to either end of the island from there. An easy no-frills place to stay. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank David-Sydney_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews