We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff(Kingscliff)(Great Value!)
USD 182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra on Salt Beach(Kingscliff)(Great Value!)
USD 114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Waters Motel(Kingscliff)(Great Value!)
USD 92
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Cove Holiday Apartments(Kingscliff)(Great Value!)
USD 170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chinderah Motel(Chinderah)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Santai Retreat(Casuarina)(Great Value!)
USD 157
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,538)
Filter reviews
3,539 results
Traveller rating
1,734
1,243
354
127
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,734
1,243
354
127
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolseasons restaurantpepper saltfree moviesbuffet breakfastmain poolpeppers kingscliffin house moviesthe gold coasthotel roombyron baybedroom suiteschool holidaysrelaxing staygreat poolfamily holidaygreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
3,531 - 3,536 of 3,539 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2006

I've just recently returned from a week at Peppers Salt Resort and Spa with my wife and 2 year old daughter. We were originally looking to stay on the Gold Coast but were put off by high prices and influx of youngsters due to 'schoolies'.

As others have mentioned Peppers is part of a larger development called 'Salt' at Kingscliff. It is about 5 minutes away from the village and a 20 minute drive south from Coolangatta airport. Salt is mostly residential with Peppers and the Outrigger Hotel as the centrepieces of this $1 billion AUD development.

We stayed in room 8120 on the ground floor which had it's own plunge pool which was fabulous. The standard of accomodation is superb. Our one bedroom suite had a main bedroom with a L shaped lounge and dining area (table and 4 chairs). The lounge area is separated from the bedroom by glass pannelled sliding doors. There is a galley style kitchen and european laundry (washing machine and dryer). The kitchen has a fridge which comes stacked with bottles of soft drink and beers. Coffee and various teas are complimentary and get restocked on a daily basis. There is also washing powder for the dishwasher and washing machine.

There is one main pool and a seconday one at Peppers which didn't seem to be used much whilst we were there. The main pool has about 40 sun lounges which sit on sand around the perimeter of the pool. There is a poolside menu with meals costing on average $20. Drinks are also available and the service is generally efficient, although it can be very busy on weekends. I wasn't particularly bothered by this but some people may find it annoying that the main pool lies directly underneath the southerly flight path for planes landing at the airport in Coolangatta. Expect at least one flight an hour during the day.

We had a small issue at reception on arrival, however once this was brought to the attention of some other staff this was dealt with most professionally and we were compensated accordingly. Nearly all staff are highly efficient , friendly and courteous.

The restaurant at Peppers is called Roughies. We only ate there at Breakfast. A main will set you back about $30 at lunch or dinner. Other people we spoke to at the resort thought it was well worth the money.

Breakfast is a buffet style affair. There is no menu but a choice of about 6 different cereals,fresh and canned fruits plus yoghurt and pastries. Hot food consists of hash browns, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, scrambled and fried eggs. If you're not on a bed and breakfast rate expect to pay about $20 for continental breakfast and more if you want the hot food.

There is a large park between Peppers and Outriggger. On the edge of the park are various shops and restaurants. There is an IGA supermarket which has a relatively large selection of groceries and is moderately priced. There are 2 ATM's at Salt, both branded ANZ. One is in the supermarket and the other at Salt Bar and Bistro (nearest the beach). Salt Bar is probably the cheapest place to eat out at the development ($15 to $20 for a main meal). They have a BBQ on Friday/Saturday nights and Sunday lunchtime. $17 will get you a plate which you can fill with steak, chicken, sausages and a choice of salads. Would recommend.

Finally, my wife attended the Golden Door Spa which is at the front of Peppers where she had 2 treatments. From my perspective it's pricey but my wife loved it and probably would have paid double. Worth the money if you want to keep the other half happy.

So overall I would recommend Peppers. We had a fabulous time and will probably return someday.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank John8Dory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2006

After a disappointing stay at Rae's at Watego's, we drove up the coast to Peppers at Salt. What a pleasant surprise! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful; the rooms are modern, large and very well appointed; the facilities are great (beautiful pool, Golden Door spa, fine dining restaurant); and it's a short walk to the beach. We mentioned when we checked in that it was our 10th wedding anniversary and about 5 minutes after settling in to our room, a complimentary bottle of champagne arrived! Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marcelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

Peppers Resort is part of the new Salt Village complex, which is on 73 hectares of land facing the Pacific Ocean. It is a new development which incorporates Peppers Resort and Outrigger Resort, Golden Door Spa, a village centre with restaurants, shops, cafes, bistro, surf club, parklands, bicycle and walking paths. A jetty and boathouse for kayaking or fishing, and a luxury beach residential area with private homes and units.

Our one bedroom suite 6116 is on ground level overlooking the lagoon pool. The suite is brand new and beautifully designed. The suite has a small gallery kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge, cooking utensils and crockery. The lounge room consists of a modern lounge suite, colour plasma TV, CD player, and a dining suite. The bedroom consists of queen size bed, side tables, large wardrobe with beach towels and bath robes supplied.

The bathroom is absolutely chic and modern with a spa bath, separate shower and toilet. The see through window into the bedroom adds a different style in open planning. There is also a laundry with washing machine and dyer off the kitchen.

Sliding doors lead onto a covered patio with deckchairs, table and chairs. From our room we had direct access to the swimming pool and the plunge pool was right outside our door. We thought out suite to be beautifully designed with a modern beach feel.

The resort has numerous swimming pools on each wing and some rooms have their own private plunge pools. The hotel is a three storey low rise modern building. The foyer is very modern with a slim line design which also overlooks the lagoon. Its approx a three minute walk to the beach, shops, cafes, ATM, and surf club, most of the rooms look over the pools but some do face the street.

The resort has bicycles to use; a beach house is also available for rent, which would be fabulous for a family. There is one main restaurant which is expensive but the food is fabulous. For something cheaper try the Salt bistro located on the oceanfront.

We did really enjoy our stay here, although it is new and slightly isolated from the local town. It is approx 5 minutes drive into Kingscliff and a 15-20 minute drive to Coolangatta airport. There is no public transport from Salt Village into town. The beach is gorgeous, long and sleek which is patrolled yearly. This resort would certainly suit young families or couples who are looking for a beach holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2006

My husband and I decided on a weekend away from work and were very pleased with Peppers at Kingscliffe. From the time we arrived we were treated as special by the staff. Not once did we see a staff member looking crumpy or through us (not like Outrigger across the road which we visited). The staff at Peppers were always smiling and saying hello can I help. The Roughies Restaurant was clean and the food was very good. We did venture across the road to look at the restaurants and decided on the Salt Beach Bar which ws comfortable and very affordable. We had expected to go into nearby Kingscliffe for meals, however didn't need to. We will certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Petallitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
110
Reviewed 13 May 2006

My Partner and I recently stayed at the new Peppers Salt Resort & Spa in Kingscliff on the North Coast of NSW.

What a fantastic place. From the moment we arrived, we were in heaven. The staff were welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was far better than I could have hoped. The modern decor was fresh and very stylish. Perfect for the beach side location. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the central park and views down to the ocean.

There were lots of things we could do through the resort, or you could just sit back and relax by one of the pools. This would be a great place to go with a group or family. We noticed when booking that there were 2 & 3 bedroom suites available.

For us, it was perfect for two. I was extremely impressed by the sensational dining at Roughie’s Restaurant & Bar. The meals we had could only be described as divine. The Golden Door Spa had not opened at the time of our stay, but I will be checking it out soon. We will definitely be going back to treat ourselves to another few days of luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews