We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Deliciously crafty. Amazing!

Delicious selection of craft beers and great food. This place is a must visit. Highly recommend... read more

Reviewed 12 August 2018
levi m
via mobile
Hit it up for some bloody good beer!

The majority of the beers we tried we loved! Especially the Rip Bridge, Waggy Wit and Sir Thomas... read more

Reviewed 26 May 2018
Dylan C
via mobile
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
19
5
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
5
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2016

My wife and I visited this little brewery today. We tried a tasting paddle with 5 of the brews on offer. Without exception, the beers were top quality. To accompany our drinks, we had a mezza plate consisting of our choice of 5 of the delicacies on offer. There were local cheeses and a number of other complementary items such as olives, falafel

Thank Travelbugz157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Thanks so much for your review Travelbugz157!
We're glad you enjoyed the brews and food.
Look forward to having you back soon.
Happy travels! :)
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Small tap room but has craft beer on the menu that's brewed on site. You can order a paddle and try several of the beers at once.

If you like craft beer, check this little gem out.

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post your review David!
Hope to see you back again soon.
Cheers, Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I'd been meaning to get down to this brewery for a while and the opportunity presented itself last month.
The beers were good with plenty to choose from and good quality throughout. The staff were attentive and happy to have a chat and answer questions.
There was good snacks available and we had a meat and cheese platter which was nice. The only downside here is there's no full kitchen so it's not really a lunch option. They're only 12 months old so this isn't surprising and perhaps this is in future planning?
That didn't detract from our experience at all it just means visits need to be planned around that.

Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

HI Scott,
We're glad you made the time to visit us Scott - thanks for posting this review too!
As you've noted, we're primarily setup as a tasting room (not a restaurant) where customers can visit the brewhouse, taste the range and hopefully grab some takeaways.
The food setup is simple, yet substantial enough to complement the alcohol content of the tasters. The Mezza menu you sampled has been created to showcase the very best local produce sourced from our fellow coastal artisans Little Creek Cheese at Wyong and Jacques Kitchen at McMasters Beach.
While our focus remains the quality and range of beers being offered, we're always looking to the future of the Block 'n Tackle Brewery offering, so stay tuned for more developments in the not-too-distant future!
Cheers
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Was a little disappointed with the whole experience compared with other breweries simular in set up,its in the industrial area which is ordinary,and the beers where a little disappointing,ordered a wheat beer and it was served in a small ordinary glass,not good ,Maybe will improve hope so as I think it has the potential to be good maybe a different surrounding maybe good.

Thank rosandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi Rosandmike,
Thanks for submitting the feedback. Good, bad or ugly, we appreciate the time people take to write these.
I'm sorry we couldn't please you in the beer stakes - we aim to have 8 beers on offer at any one time with styles from malt-driven porters and stouts through to hop-forward pale ales and IPA's. Everyone has a different palate for beer so we try to rotate our specialty brews as much as possible for variety - perhaps you could come back soon and see what's new?
With the glass size, this is actually a restriction that was imposed on our licence, so as much as we'd love to present our product in more respectable containers, we're prevented from doing it by the wonderful minds in power.
The brewing process also requires us to be located within an industrial area so we're limited by zoning in that respect, however we find most customers appreciate the fact that they're able to get their brews fresh from the site where they're produced.
As a local, we hope you'll give us another chance so we hope you'll drop by again soon. Cheers
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Took a group of Rotarians along for a tour of the Brewery. The staff made us so welcome - nothing was too much trouble. We had a fantastic evening tasting the wonderful ales and sampling lovely fresh local dips and cheeses. Can't wait to take friends there

Thank life_is_good_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thanks so much for providing us with your feedback. Your group was a pleasure to have on the tour of the brewhouse and their questions were great. We're glad you all enjoyed it and look forward to having you back again soon.
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews