We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but flavoursome”

Block 'n Tackle Brewery
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Kincumber
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Block 'n Tackle Brewery is a small, artisan brewery specialising in small-batch brewing of high quality ales. All beer and cider brewed on site is available for tasting and takeaways in our tasting room which features 9 taps showcasing a broad variety of ales from hoppy XPA's, Pale Ales and IPA's to malt-forward brews such as Porters, Stouts. The beer menu includes information on the style of each brew with tasting notes and food matching tips for each ale. A full food service menu including pizzas and 'beer-inspired' delicacies is available Friday evenings and across the weekend to accompany beer tastings. Takeaways can be purchased in either 1 litre 'Peeler' bottles or our famous 1.89 litre stainless steel mini kegs which can be refilled on your return to the brewery. Live music and events are regularly held at the tasting room - check the website for full details as well as a detailed listing of the brews currently available at the tap room.
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Small tap room but has craft beer on the menu that's brewed on site. You can order a paddle and try several of the beers at once.

If you like craft beer, check this little gem out.

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post your review David!
Hope to see you back again soon.
Cheers, Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

15 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I'd been meaning to get down to this brewery for a while and the opportunity presented itself last month.
The beers were good with plenty to choose from and good quality throughout. The staff were attentive and happy to have a chat and answer questions.
There was good snacks available and we had a meat and cheese platter which was nice. The only downside here is there's no full kitchen so it's not really a lunch option. They're only 12 months old so this isn't surprising and perhaps this is in future planning?
That didn't detract from our experience at all it just means visits need to be planned around that.

Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

HI Scott,
We're glad you made the time to visit us Scott - thanks for posting this review too!
As you've noted, we're primarily setup as a tasting room (not a restaurant) where customers can visit the brewhouse, taste the range and hopefully grab some takeaways.
The food setup is simple, yet substantial enough to complement the alcohol content of the tasters. The Mezza menu you sampled has been created to showcase the very best local produce sourced from our fellow coastal artisans Little Creek Cheese at Wyong and Jacques Kitchen at McMasters Beach.
While our focus remains the quality and range of beers being offered, we're always looking to the future of the Block 'n Tackle Brewery offering, so stay tuned for more developments in the not-too-distant future!
Cheers
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Was a little disappointed with the whole experience compared with other breweries simular in set up,its in the industrial area which is ordinary,and the beers where a little disappointing,ordered a wheat beer and it was served in a small ordinary glass,not good ,Maybe will improve hope so as I think it has the potential to be good maybe a different surrounding maybe good.

Thank rosandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi Rosandmike,
Thanks for submitting the feedback. Good, bad or ugly, we appreciate the time people take to write these.
I'm sorry we couldn't please you in the beer stakes - we aim to have 8 beers on offer at any one time with styles from malt-driven porters and stouts through to hop-forward pale ales and IPA's. Everyone has a different palate for beer so we try to rotate our specialty brews as much as possible for variety - perhaps you could come back soon and see what's new?
With the glass size, this is actually a restriction that was imposed on our licence, so as much as we'd love to present our product in more respectable containers, we're prevented from doing it by the wonderful minds in power.
The brewing process also requires us to be located within an industrial area so we're limited by zoning in that respect, however we find most customers appreciate the fact that they're able to get their brews fresh from the site where they're produced.
As a local, we hope you'll give us another chance so we hope you'll drop by again soon. Cheers
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Took a group of Rotarians along for a tour of the Brewery. The staff made us so welcome - nothing was too much trouble. We had a fantastic evening tasting the wonderful ales and sampling lovely fresh local dips and cheeses. Can't wait to take friends there

Thank life_is_good_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thanks so much for providing us with your feedback. Your group was a pleasure to have on the tour of the brewhouse and their questions were great. We're glad you all enjoyed it and look forward to having you back again soon.
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

A great little craft brewery with an excellent product. All the beers they sell are made on site and are AWESOME! !! We had their 5 beer taster paddle and they give you tasting notes and recommendations on which to drink first to last. They have a small menu range but they also have an arrangement with a local gourmet pizza bar who deliver. It's located in a factory bay and the decor is basic and rustic (a bit boat shed like) so don't dress up, just go ready to enjoy good beer. ( watch out for the 9% alcohol beer. Take a designated driver)

Thank MattnWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at Block 'n Tackle Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Hi MattnWend,
Thanks so much for the positive review - really appreciate it!
Hope to you see you again soon.
Many thanks!
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Block 'n Tackle Brewery also viewed

Erina, New South Wales
Avoca Beach, New South Wales
 
Terrigal, New South Wales
Holgate, New South Wales
 

Been to Block 'n Tackle Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing