We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It is much better than all those above pictures.”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden and table on North side of house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Some visitors
Kitchen table.
Looking out the sun room has a light and airy feeling.
Outdoor fire pit looking to the outside table.
Wombat on property, drive slowly at night
Echidna on property
Charming Eco Friendly Hand Crafted House on Rural 12 acres
Master bedroom.
Master bedroom bay window looking out to the native bush.
Ensuite with shower.
Main bathroom.
Hot outdoor shower and bathtub.
East end of the house and garden.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 3 - 'The Montana Room'.
Bedroom 4 has a king single bed also.
Games tables and other play things area.
Aerial view of some of our 12 acres.
Bar be que and outdoor table area.
Looking to the North and more of our 12 acres.
North side table.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Doyeon K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“It is much better than all those above pictures.”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I have Visitors, my sister's family, uncle & my mom from South Korea, all together, 6 adults & 3 kids loved to stay this great place.

Plenty of space and kitchen is well equipped, enjoyed every bit of this place which are BBQ, Pool table, pingpong table, veg & fruit garden & even fireplace!

I will come back with my friends next time definitely!

Thanks Dennis!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed everything and we are sorry we were not able to meet you. We hope to improve the pictures soon to give people a better understanding of our house. Thanks for your comment Doyeon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan R
1 review
“My wife wanted to buy this house!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Grery Gums for Christmas. Denis and Helen had decorated the house beautifully and provided a christmas tree. It really is a lovely property, beautifully built with lots of natural timbers and a great outdoor setting. We were greeted by the kangaroos most mornings and they dropped in on our dinners on the deck too. Just loved it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
We are really glad you had a great stay and we are sorry we were not there to meet you to make sure the kangaroos didn't bother you too much! Hopefully we can meet you during your next stay. Thanks for your very nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale H
2 reviews
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Helen and Dennis have built one of the best holiday homes that we have ever stayed in.
Absolutely everything that you may need for your stay is there and good quality items too.
We were 5 adults and it suited our needs well.
We will defiantly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the facility
Liked least: Phone reception not too good out there. But it was also a bonus
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you, Thank YOU!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H
Quakers Hill, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Set in the middle of Kangaroo Valley, Grey Gums is an amazing place to stay with every thing you could possible need. Extremely comfortable beds and quality inclusions. Owners Dennis and Helen Nickell are only to pleased to offer assistance when we required it. I would highly recommend anyone thinking of staying at Grey Gums to do so. A remarkable place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house
Liked least: I liked everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thanks Julie. We are just happy that you had a nice stay and that we could help you out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telehead9...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Cosy, comfy, whisper quiet, everything you could want and need.”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a wonderful stay at Grey Gums. Beautiful house with everything you need for a great stay. The outdoor shower and bath are a great addition. Plenty of indoor and outdoor games to keep you busy. Fire pit a nice surprise. Very clean and comfy beds. Fabulous veggie patch to use while staying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thanks for your wonderful review, we hope you can return when you don't have the time constraints of a wedding and can enjoy it more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 169
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing