We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for weekend getaway with friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden and table on North side of house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Some visitors
Kitchen table.
Looking out the sun room has a light and airy feeling.
Outdoor fire pit looking to the outside table.
Wombat on property, drive slowly at night
Echidna on property
Charming Eco Friendly Hand Crafted House on Rural 12 acres
Master bedroom.
Master bedroom bay window looking out to the native bush.
Ensuite with shower.
Main bathroom.
Hot outdoor shower and bathtub.
East end of the house and garden.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 3 - 'The Montana Room'.
Bedroom 4 has a king single bed also.
Games tables and other play things area.
Aerial view of some of our 12 acres.
Bar be que and outdoor table area.
Looking to the North and more of our 12 acres.
North side table.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ree_Views...
Goulburn, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Perfect place for weekend getaway with friends”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A group of eight friends who enjoy going to different places to explore and relax. We had booked in to do the Flavours of the Valley cooking school and Grey Gums was the perfect place to stay.
Lovely home with everything you would need. I loved the outside bath and made sure I made use of this despite the cool weather.
The fire heated the house beautifully. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.
Only thing to be aware of is that it is three Kms away from town along a dark country round. Not suitable to walk into dinner after a few drinks! :)
Will certainly return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
We are glad you enjoyed the outside bath, it is my favourite thing also. Next time call me and I will give you a ride back from the pub, we don't want you falling off the bridge!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samnandre...
Cooma, Australia
1 review
“Best holiday ever.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thank you for a wonderful stay in your beautiful home recently. We loved every bit of our time spent on your property, there was so much to do and it was also the perfect place to sit back and relax at the end of the day. We enjoyed the cosy wood fire, the well stocked bookshelves and games cupboard, perfect kitchen, the space for the kids to run and ride their bikes, the pool and table tennis tables, the fire pit and the outdoor bath! All so much fun.
There was heaps of space for our family of six rand we felt really at home in your lovely space.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
It was lovely to meet you and the family, I enjoyed talking to you both about Grey Gums and your house. Keep me informed on how your next O/B project eventuates.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucyd0520...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Luxurious retreat in Kangaroo Valley”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My friends and I have stayed here two years in a row, it's become our bestie's winter getaway. We love coming here in the winter when it's nice and cold so we can make the most of the cosy indoor fire place, boardgames, sitting around the outdoor fire pit roasting marshmallows, drinking wine and making gourmet meals in the well equipped kitchen. We spend the entire holiday talking about how beautiful the house is. We get excited to use the fresh produce and even more excited about the clean soft sheets. The showers are amazing and to top it off, an outdoor hot tub in the sun, is absolute bliss (Just hope a big gust of wind doesn't come along and blow away the bubbles as someone arrives!!) It's private and secluded...apart from the kangaroos and other wildlife. The owners were very friendly and full of beautiful offerings prior to our arrival. I highly recommend this place whether it's for a family or friends getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and love put into building this house
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thanks for your glowing review Lucy. You and your friends are such great guests we love having you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful place......”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I've stayed here twice with friends now and we are going to make it an annual winter weekend away.
The house is beautiful, all the mod cons.
The outdoor bath is a must!!
We could have stayed for a month .......
If your visiting Kangaroo Valley, this is the place to stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
I couldn't agree with you more Katie. Thanks for coming to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarsh73
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and peaceful”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Spent a few days in Kangaroo Valley and staying at Grey Gums was one of the highlights. We did a lot of hikes in the area and the house was the perfect place to come back to. Coming home to have a hot bath outside with the wildlife at sunset was magical and then to retreat inside to the wood fire was an extra treat. The kitchen has everything you need and if you don't feel up to showering or bathing outside you have the option of two very new and modern bathrooms indoors. We had the pleasure of meeting Dennis, Helen was away. Dennis was very friendly and helpful. I would love to bring the family back for a visit. Thank you Grey Gums :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor Bath/shower and indoor fireplace.
Liked least: Our stay was not long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
We are glad you had the time to visit some of the unique places of Kangaroo Valley and to stay at our holiday house. It is pleasing to hear that Grey Gums had what you needed and that it enhanced your visit to this part of the world. We hope the rest of your family can enjoy it also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing