We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantaboulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden and table on North side of house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Some visitors
Kitchen table.
Looking out the sun room has a light and airy feeling.
Outdoor fire pit looking to the outside table.
Wombat on property, drive slowly at night
Echidna on property
Charming Eco Friendly Hand Crafted House on Rural 12 acres
Master bedroom.
Master bedroom bay window looking out to the native bush.
Ensuite with shower.
Main bathroom.
Hot outdoor shower and bathtub.
East end of the house and garden.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 3 - 'The Montana Room'.
Bedroom 4 has a king single bed also.
Games tables and other play things area.
Aerial view of some of our 12 acres.
Bar be que and outdoor table area.
Looking to the North and more of our 12 acres.
North side table.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Evangelin...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantaboulous”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We arrived just at the beginning of a major rain event which totally suited us. We needed a total break and that is exactly what we got. The fire was easy to get started, thanks to some expert fire laying by our hosts. I actually got it started on 2 mornings by myself, which I am ridiculously proud. Having breakfast on the first morning we were joined by 2 large kangaroos. On the 2nd and nd 3rd mornings we had and nd family of them, dad, mum with a joey in her pouch, and a little one. They stayed for about an hour each morning. Needless to say we were thrilled. Grey Gums is perfect. With just 2 of us so we had only the main part, with the additional bedrooms closed off. We didn't need them as the living area is so spacious. Surprisingly we arrived arrived 3 pm and the house was nice and warm even though the fire wasn't lit yet. It really was the perfect get away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed our house, you were the perfect guests for the weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caqulai
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, perfect, perfect!”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed here with three friends for Christmas in July weekend. The booking process was incredibly simple and stress-free thanks to Helen and Dennis. They replied quickly and fully to all my questions - including how best to see the wildlife in the area!
The house itself is superb - absolutely beautiful with everything thought of. Every detail has been considered to ensure you have a fabulous stay. They even decorated their house with Christmas decorations for us too! There's lots to do from walks to games to DVDs to books to exploring the garden never mind simply relaxing. There is so much space that you can always find somewhere quiet to be if you want and there are enough comfy seats and tables to seat everyone too if it's a full house.
We absolutely loved this house and our only issue was a weekend was not long enough! It's clear to see how much thought, care, attention to detail and love has gone into the house. I would highly recommend this house - its a home away from home for groups of friends, families in fact anyone - we will definitely be back! Thank you so much Helen and Dennis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the attention to detail - the care that has been taken with the property plus the extremely helpful hosts.
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
What a perfect review, I couldn't have said it any better myself! I enjoyed getting into the Christmas spirit and decorating the house for you. We really appreciate it when someone loves the house as much as we do. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath, the bush walk, the log fire, everything was amazing!!
Liked least: Having to pack up and go home....
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
We are sorry about the pics. It is the only complaint we receive. We will get a professional photographer to take pics that will do it justice, but we feel that it is much better that the pictures understate the property and guests feel delighted, than if they overstate the property and guests feel let down.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mimi Z
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Special Find”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here with our 3 daughters (7,10 and 12 years) for 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The house is spacious, comfortable, clean, eco friendly, and very well appointed. It has everything you need and more. The property was stunning, with lots of space to run around and explore. There was so much to do including eating roasted marshmellows on outdoor fire pit, playing table tennis and pool, playing footy with the kids on the huge yard, exploring the trails around their property, or going kangaroo and wombat spotting. It was close enough to town (5 min drive) yet far away enough to feel you were 'in the bush'. Our family have stayed in many places however this one truly rates as one of the best. We cant wait to return again soon. Tha

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was clean and well appointed. The owners have not forgotten anything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your glowing review Mimi. We love staying there also. We are glad that you found everything you needed and enjoyed yourselves so much. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Country Escape - easy drive from Sydney”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from our second stay ay Grey Gums and it was as wonderful as the first. Dennis and Helen will ensure that you have a very enjoyable stay. We were a group of 6 adults and loved the good space available in the house to congregate and spend time together or break away to have some downtime. The kitchen is one of the best equipped of any house I have stayed in and made for some enjoyable evenings cooking together. A highlight for us was spending evenings sitting around the outdoor fire, watching the shooting stars.

Plenty to do here and lots of wildlife. We had kangaroos hopping through the garden while we had our breakfast, black cockatoos in the trees and some had enjoyable afternoons spotting wombats at dusk. Some amazing bush walks around here too - we did the Fitzroy Falls walk and the Conservation Hut walk during our stay. The house is also well stocked with books, board games and DVD's and videos.

This house is within a comfortable drive for a weekend getway from Sydney. It is 5 minutes from the town so you are in total tranquility but within an easy 5 minute drive for any last minute groceries you may have forgotten.

We will definitely be back - looks like our Grey Gums weekend may become an annual event. And maybe next time I will be brave enough to try the outdoor bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent kitchen facilities and outdoor fire pit
Liked least: We could't stay longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your great review. We are glad you were able to do more bush walks. We hope it does become an annual event and that you will be able to enjoy the outdoor bath as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 170
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing