We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Michael's Family Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 108 Restaurants in Gosford
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 August 2019 via mobile

Reading the reviews we were looking forward to trying this place. We were not impressed, first off, dirty wine glass with lipstick, quickly replaced! I chose the lamb, but too much salt which was mentioned to wait staff and price $40! My partner chose the vegetarian pasta, there again he commented on the salt issue. Will not return.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2019

We ordered chef’s special pasta, marinara, Napoletana, spicy prawn pasta and kids margarita pizza. The pasta sauce was rich and the pastas had generous amount of seafood. The kids margarita pizza was disappointing and was not what I expect margarita to be. If the regular margarita pizza is just the bigger size of kids one, then I would not order it. I also think kids meals for $16 is a bit dear even though it included a drink and a scoop of ice cream.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sn0wchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2019 via mobile

My friend and I who love Italian food decided to give this restaurant a try and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and patient when it took us a long time to decide on what to eat after a long awaited catch up. We had a garlic pizza which was tasty and better than expected. We shared some tortellini and a pizza which were really delicious.
The only let down for me was that as we arrived later in the evening and started eating late desert was not even offered, but the mains had filled us up.
I would recommend this place for families and friends as it was warm and comfortable.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 588bethanym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2019

Poor food , poor service

This is the first time we have visited this restaurant. I don’t like writing negative reviews so I will stick to the facts of our visit. I do write positive reviews so I do have a balanced view of good food and good service.

The restaurant was very quiet as it had just opened – no more than 6 people, so no real excuse for forgetting dishes ordered.

We ordered garlic pizza bread ( this was forgotten and never arrived ) , lasagne and marinara pasta.

The garlic bread as mentioned above did not arrive, we did ask one of the waitresses where it was, but she never came back to tell us, so we just had it deducted from the bill when we paid.

We specifically asked if the lasagne had the bechamel white sauce, but when it arrived it was obvious it was not there. The sauce oddly also appeared to have no actual meat, and the sauce was sickly sweet. Overall the dish was unpleasant.

The marina – again odd in that the mussel shells had no actual mussels attached, and the mussels in the dish were tiny – almost as if they had not actually come from the shell, but just a seafood mix.

A lady came to our table and did agree to not charge us for the lasagne, although was a little critical telling us we would be better to choose something else next time.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Marmiteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2019 via mobile

Relaxing night out, great food and service. Not rushed and waitress was very helpful with choices of foods on menu

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank dawnc256
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Michael's Family Restaurant also viewed

Gosford, New South Wales
 
Tumbi Umbi, The Entrance
Gosford, New South Wales
 

Been to Michael's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.