We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fernbrook Lodge(Dorrigo)(Great Value!)
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
USD 60
USD 58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
USD 69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn City Centre(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
USD 116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Parkside Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
USD 117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Zebra Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
USD 109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
102
38
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
38
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersrooms are spaciousdining roomgreat jobamazing locationdeer enclosurenational parkstunning viewssunday morninghelpful ownersair consteakpleasant staygreat hostssingle roomwatching tvmountain retreat
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

I travelled around a bit in Australia as I am from Germany. Stayed in this wonderful place for only 3 nights. Its definitely a place to stay longer than that at. The owners are the most wonderful, welcoming, helpful and accomodating guys I met in Australia. The restaurant offers delicious meals, excellent wines and wonderful desserts. The rooms are spacious, extremly tastefully furnished, clean, comfy and all with a stunning view! Breakfast (included) was terrific with fresh fruit and yoghurt additionally to all the "normal" food you´d expect. It is definitely THE PLACE TO STAY AT when you want to explore the surrounding rainforests, waterfalls and nature walks. I definitely recommend this wonderful place! Thank you very much for everything Wayne and Phil, xxx Jenni

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni_from_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShacresI, Owner at Lookout Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you Jenni for such a wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay and we are so happy to have met you. So glad you had a great experience in Dorrigo and surrounds and we hope you can swing past if ever you are in this beautiful part of the world. Your letter was lovely too...you made our day...take care and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

It is as good as it looks in the photos & website. Located in the Dorrigo mountain with view a lovely lush green garden in front of the verandah of your room.

We've booked for two family rooms and check in was easy and owner wss very friendly. Despite a busy time during Xmas Holiday, he took the time to tell us about the nearby attractions, things to be aware of such as bugs and wildlife nearby.

The room is nicely decorated and spacious inside. Proper kitchen with sink and table and chairs for 4 people. Beds are comfy and bathroom newly renovated with rain shower head. Very clean and neat inside. Free wi-fi available

The kids were delighted to see the deers and horses nearby. The continential breakfast was great and come with choices of fresh fruit, yogart & juices as well.

Both families enjoy the stay and we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wiz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShacresI, Owner at Lookout Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Great feedback. Thanks for such positive words and we look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next stopover...take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed at the Lookout Mountain Retreat in Dorrigo just after New Years on our way back to Sydney. What a delightful place to stay! The rooms are big and very well appointed and the beds are super comfortable. The views are simply magnificent and the owners Wayne and Philip are very welcoming hosts who could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had a lovely dinner and drinks in the dining room, which is a real bonus to have onsite. Breakfast the next morning, which is included in the tariff is a lovely Continental spread with a large variety of choices, including fresh fruit. I would highly recommend the Lookout Mountain Retreat to any travellers or those looking for a relaxing or romantic getaway. We had a wonderful time and were disappointed that we could not stay for a few more nights before returning to Sydney. We will be returning on our next trip up north.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Meg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShacresI, Owner at Lookout Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is so refreshing to wake up and be able to read such positive reviews such as yours... makes our day!....Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

What a lovely place! Beautiful location. The two hosts were a 10/10. Friendly, helpful and extremely accommodating. Beautiful accommodation. Room was spotless and very comfortable. We will tell all our family and friends to go and stay there. We will definitely be back and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room right down the very end. Quiet with beautiful views,
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank S8169MEkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShacresI, Owner at Lookout Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

A pleasure and thank you guys for the kind word and we hope you will share your experience with others. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Our lovely hosts ensured we enjoyed our stay at Lookout Mt Retreat. Room was super comfy, meals were great & location is fabulous. Dorrigo & Bellingen are interesting towns & the Skywalk & rainforest treks are a must do.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShacresI, Owner at Lookout Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Great feedback guys, and yes we think Dorrigo and Bellingen are unique towns to visit. The National Park is also a must see. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews