We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
insularium
Singleton, Australia

At no time were we made to feel welcome at this hotel

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jan 2023via mobile
From the minute we stepped in to this hotel and were met with abrupt service we knew this wasn’t a friendly welcoming place to be. The deal we had signed up for provided two beer tasting paddles. The hotel insisted it was one. We had to fight to get what the advertised deal was (including having to show the advertisement to the abrupt disinterested receptionist).
As platinum (now black) Rydges member I was entitled to two welcome drinks. We eventually got one and gave up as dealing with the staff was just too hard.
Food in the restaurant was absolutely lovely, but having finished our meals we waited 40 minutes for someone to clear our plates and ask if we wanted dessert in the not busy restaurant. We just gave up and left.
Breakfast was average (fruit bitter and not fresh, stale croissant, poached egg could be bounced off the floor).
The highlight though was when we checked out and minutes later realised we’d left something in our room. Husband told
by another abrupt and unfriendly receptionist - no you can’t retrieve it because you’ve checked out. Eventually after he insisted someone get it for him then (and she realised he wasn’t going to let her serve anyone else because he wasn’t going to just go away unless she resolved it), she reluctantly organised someone to retrieve our property.
I’ve stayed here years before and enjoyed it. We stay in Rydges hotels all the time and have become used to the easy excellent service other Rydges provide. This one needs a good manager to get in there and overhaul it and get it back to at least being a pleasant experience.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa De Bono, Marketing at Rydges Campbelltown Sydney, responded to this review
Responded 15 Jan 2023
Hi Insularium, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us, however do thank you for raising this feedback so we can follow up. The receptionist you showed the advertisement to has already raised the beer tasting paddle for two concern with the Management Team, and your service within the hotel and restaurant departments has now been advised to our Operations Manager. I hope that you can give us another try in the future to redeem ourselves as this is not the hotel environment we want to give our guests. Kind regards, Jacque (Duty Manager)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$133
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$116
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
1.9 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
  • Agoda.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
    AU$183
3.3 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Exterior view
AU$80
  • ibis Budget
    AU$80
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$80
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Free parking
Refreshing 20M Swimming Pool
AU$176
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$196
  • Hotels.com
    AU$180
3.6 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Free Wifi
Free parking
100years+ horse carriage/cart
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
  • Vio.com
2.2 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
getlstd_property_photo
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
6.3 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Free parking
Exterior
AU$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    AU$184
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
0.0 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$173
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$151
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
7.6 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive suite
AU$200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$184
  • Expedia.com
    AU$200
10.6 km from Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Campbelltown
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
276
261
91
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
261
91
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews catholic club buffet breakfast business trip comfortable room sydney pillows macarthur conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2023 via mobile

First impressions are that it needs maintenance.
You step into the lift and the floor tiles are severely cracked.
In the room there is a clump of hair etc hanging down the drain in the basin which is badly cracked.
When you have a shower the water from the shower leaves a huge puddle on the floor which doesn't drain as the low spot is not at the drain
We had a Jug and milk but no cups, tea, coffee or sugar.
There is only one chair in a King Room but the bed was comfortable.
The air conditioning thermostat is extremely sensitive and it took 2 days to get our temperature. It was a shame the air conditioning could not be turned off as it was not really required.
It was just not an inviting room to retire to.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CanberraAussie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa De Bono, Marketing at Rydges Campbelltown Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2023

Hi CanberraAussie101, thank you for your review. Sometimes working in a place every day you forget to take the time to look around as a first-time guest would see things, so your maintenance feedback has been very helpful and has been passed on to the Management Team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to Rydges Campbelltown. Kind regards, Jacque (Duty Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2022 via mobile

We arrived late on a business trip, what a refreshing arrival to a beautiful, clean & comfortable room by welcoming professional staff. Left early without my work laptop, my total nightmare… but Sarah and staff were absolutely amazing. They went above and beyond, can’t recommend high enough! The beautiful rooms, surrounding location & ultimately the service . Well done to Rydges Campbeltown, you have employed awesome staff here who make your national business a trusted place to book in at the next stop/destination. 10/10 ♥️👍

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa De Bono, Marketing at Rydges Campbelltown Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2022

Hi Ana, thank you for your review. It's so great to hear how our team has wow'd you on your stay, and we have exceeded your expectations for service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Campbelltown again soon. Kind regards, Jacque (Duty Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

We stayed this past weekend and have to say it was a very disappointing experience.
We booked a premium Spa Room at $419 for the night.

Spa was broken and couldn't be drained - were advised a note would be left for housekeeping.
Furniture is Dirty, marked and stained. Mattress dipped towards middle. Furniture tired, walls tired, bathroom ceiling water damaged, bathroom cabinets water damaged..

Our stay included breakfast. Bacon and Eggs were good. Pastries on the other hand were dry and stale.

We mentioned this to the front desk who advised our feedback would be passed on.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank danielk0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa De Bono, Marketing at Rydges Campbelltown Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2022

Hi Daniel, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay, while we strive to exceed expectations for every stay it seems we have missed the mark on this visit. We hope you return to the hotel and have a better experience. I have also passed on your feedback regarding the room to our Housekeeping Manager and the breakfast to our Food & Beverage Manager. Kind regards, Jacque (Duty Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

This hotel would get 5 stars BUT be warned the aircon system is very very loud and it makes for very tricky sleeping. That said - there is truly nothing to fault. The rooms are generous size, thoughtfully furnished and the bed is very comfortable. An extra bonus is the lovely restaurant and bar downstairs. Great food. Helpful professional staff. Classy decor. Breakfast is a tad ordinary - but nothing to complain about. If they could fix the aircon noise it would be truly superb.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Xenia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa De Bono, Marketing at Rydges Campbelltown Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Hi Xenia, thank you for your review. How great is that bed! It's a Rydges Branded Dream Bed and you can buy it from our website to have at home! It's so great to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and I have passed on your feedback regarding the air conditioner to the Maintenance Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Campbelltown again soon. Kind regards, Jacque (Duty Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2022 via mobile

This hotel fits the half way between Brisbane and Melbourne where road exhaustion sets in. Have stayed here seven times in a couple of years. The feature I want to acknowledge is the kitchen which produces excellent meals with the highest standard of presentation and quality ingredients. If you want a dinner of high standard, you would be hard pressed to go past this.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa De Bono, Marketing at Rydges Campbelltown Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Hi John], thank you for your review. It's so great to hear your speak so highly of the chefs within our OTIS Bar & Grill, we certainly strive to meet and then exceed expectations with our menu, presentation and, of course, taste! We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Campbelltown again soon. Kind regards, Jacque (Duty Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews