We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nick164
Sydney, Australia

An enjoyable stay, but F&B service in particular needs improving.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 July 2023
A few of us staying for a couple of nights, we opted for the 2-bedroom villa. We arrived on a Saturday early afternoon. As it was before the checkin time our villa wasn’t available; reception said they would call us when it was ready (they didn’t).

The main reception, bar and restaurant area is open and looks out on the main pool. Service at the cafe bar at the main pool felt more like an episode of Fawlty Towers. We were directed from one staff member to another; that staff member took our order (we had to repeat ourselves) and she then handed a handwritten docket to the original staff member to enter the order - it was still wrong. The venue wasn’t busy but a simple drinks order took an inexplicitly long period of time to be fulfilled.

As for dinner at the main restaurant, food was good. Service was inattentive - even though the restaurant was quiet. Service norms such as replenishing water glasses, checking on food, removing an unused table setting, etc were missing. The exception was the gentlemen who served us towards the end - Nicholas - who was excellent.

Breakfast was slow and disorganised. Bookings suggested during busy periods.

A big draw card of the resort for us was the adults only pool area, which was a quiet oasis. Daniel (the bartender at the swim up bar) was exceptional - friendly and attentive - the best team member we met during our stay at the resort. As a side note, we would add that the other two staff were amongst the worst in the resort - spent most of their time talking to each other, simple requests for another drink being regularly forgotten, drinks being served in unclean glassware, etc.

And as a final general observation, the breakfast and pool area safe 'glassware' is very much in need of replacement. It should not take a guest to highlight such basics.

Tips:
- Book in advance for breakfast
- The resort is spread out, with the adults pool at the southern end. Should you be wishing to use it mention this so as it can inform your villa allocation (ours did).

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Spa Cabin
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.3 km from Elements of Byron
Free parking
Pool
Vali Hotel Lobby
AU$152
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Elements of Byron
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Premium Family Villa 3BRM
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Elements of Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$198
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Elements of Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
The new resort sized pool at the Atlantic Byron Bay
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$332
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Elements of Byron
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$270
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Elements of Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$269
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Elements of Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$608
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Elements of Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$151
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Elements of Byron
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$329
  • Booking.com
6.3 km from Elements of Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (942)
Filter reviews
942 results
Traveller rating
647
177
72
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
647
177
72
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adult pool fire pit swim up bar main pool family pool bedroom villa beautiful resort private beach pool area morning yoga amazing pool we loved our stay osprey spa mars accommodation byron
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 942 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2023

Stunning resort with the most amazing pool areas and direct access to the beach, Elements of Byron certainly lends itself to a 5 star experience, except it didn't.

I think though that the time of the year that we visited definitely skewed our experience. The resort has been developed with the heat of the summer definitely in mind, which I can appreciate. But it doesn't quite work in the cooler months. Most of the accommodation is built into the shade of the trees so the cabins get little direct sunlight. We had a "bathroom" which housed a lovely stand alone bathtub, but the room had unglazed openings which turned the room into an icebox. And whilst the cabin had a heat pump and a gas fire, it never felt cosy.

Aside from the disappointment in the cabins, the restaurant was top class and the staff all very friendly and strongly service focused. Osprey Spa would be one of the best Spa's I've ever been too. Again the staff were faultless and the bespoke treatments were wonderful.

Elements of Byron is definitely on the must return to list - but in the warmer months!

Room tip: The resort is huge and some cabins are a long way from the restaurant and family pool area. Look carefully at the resort map before you book
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank z1bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023

We are a family of three with a one year old and had a fantastic week at Elements! All the staff have been so friendly and professional. We would like to mention Octavio in the restaurant who greeted us with a smile each day and ensured we had everything we needed during our breakfast and lunch. The coffee was superb! A great selection of food for kids on the menu. Perfect for families who want the option of eating in their villa with a local IGA, grazing by the pool or having a sit down meal in the restaurant.
There is an old charming solar train just a short walk from the hotel that takes you into Byron that runs every hour which is great fun for kids!
Our only negative from our stay was chasing housekeeping to clean our room each day whilst our toddler sleeps.
I had a blissful 90 minute massage in the Osprey spa which I recommend booking early during your stay or before your holiday as they get booked up. Luciana was a professional and nurturing therapist who ensured I had the best treatment and gave me great aftercare.
We also recommend the local Barrio tapas restaurant just a short 7 minute walk away. We look forward to returning one day soon!

Date of stay: April 2023
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2023

So pleased we stayed here!

First off, Elements of Byron is not cheap, nor is it in the centre of Byron but neither of these things detracted from our stay. The accommodation/rooms were a generous size and came with a bath, shower , lounge area and coffee facilities. You really can relax and enjoy the space of the room. Plus you can park right next to your room.

The resort itself has several aspects, luxe main pool, with a chill vibe and also an adults pool for those that what some music with their cocktail. There are a number of walking tracks, where you can spot so many insects, frogs, lizards and birds. We loved just wandering around. Lastly it had a very expansive private beach, which you could watch on your beach T.V. should you wish.

The resort is large, but they have golf buggies which can transport you should you not wish to walk.

Close by is the solar powered train which was worth a trip on just for fun.

We really enjoyed our stay and will be back, our guests also had rave reviews. Would 100% recommend for all ages.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hattiehasfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

It’s a beautiful property and the the villas did not disappoint. Service was so-so for a 5-star resort/hotel. Our Villa was always sandy even after being cleaned, there were cobwebs underneath the steps leading to the bedroom, it’s visible bec it’s eye level when you are seated on the sofa. It was never removed during our 5 night duration. We hired a private limo for NYE, they charge by the hour, I had informed the reception this, in fact they were the ones who booked it. My husband and I were at the lobby 10 minutes before pick up time, 15 mins after schedule I noticed there was a limo waiting right in front of the valet podium where there was an attendant with a driver walking around asking questions. I walked towards the driver and asked if she was there for us & true enough she was. She said, she was asking reception etc for us but they all responded they didn’t know who she was talking about 🙄 oh well. That’s the kind of service we had sometimes. But generally, breakfast was good, just noticed how staff would change a lot. I found out they were just hiring whoever is available (like backpackers) then they gamble on the service guests receive & still charge an arm and a leg for it.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank maxine1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2023 via mobile

Great place. Wonderful, spacious villas and excellent service. From checking in, to the pools and beaches - really great. Good food, great breakfast (it would be fantastic if coffee would come with breakfast) For families provided a very relaxing time, kids friendly and entertaining but not loud.
Worth its price and highly recommended.
Team all seem very professionell, well organized and very motivated.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tradergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews