We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunset Villa

Lounge room opening to alfresco area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge room opening to alfresco area
Large entertaining deck with hinterland & sunset views Large open-plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Lounge room opening to alfresco area
Large entertaining deck with hinterland & sunset views
Large open-plan living area
Great entertaining kitchen
Master suite
Great entertaining pool and deck area
Cottage bedroom
Family Room
Main bathroom
Bath with a view in the cottage
Cottage open-plan living
Cottage
Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Byron Bay, Byron Shire, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
12review
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Eleven family members arrived at Sunset Villa as part of a special birthday celebration. The house was everything we had wished for, big open spaces, a beautiful view overlooking the mountains and very comfortable accommodation for everyone. The setting was so peaceful and despite the fact that we had picked a weekend when the cyclone hit Northern Queensland, we were able to enjoy the facilities offered because of the beautiful outdoor area that protected us from the rain. While the house is the other side of the highway to Byron Bay, it took us about 10 minutes to get into the town centre where we enjoyed browsing around. However we were happy to be away from the hustle and bustle of Byron in our own piece of heaven. All in all it was a wonderful weekend and we would be very happy to return with the family for the next big birthday bash!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review Tricia. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay & you are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Serene Retreat”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I must admit I was hesitant to book after reading the review from PJS, however was very pleasantly suprised and had an amazing family weekend away in this beautiful home.

It took us 15 minutes to drive from Byron Bay, which we found great as this provided the best of both worlds (close access to Byron, but a far enough distance to truly get away from the constant buzz of Byron). As you step onto the front patio, you are greeted with an amazing view of rolling green hills of the Byron Bay hinterland (see attached pictures). With plenty of outdoor space, this was a great entertainment area for BBQs as swimming whilst watching some amazing sunsets.

The home is beautifully designed with plenty of space for family and friends to comfortably relax. We stayed during March, with the ceiling and pedistal fans more than sufficient for staying cool - the added benefit of the pool was also a big plus. We had no issue with appliances or any of the ammenities.

If you are looking for a place to unwind from the constant drone of the city - Sunset Villa provided one of the most relaxing weekends we've had in a long time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review Greg. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a great stay. Hopefully we can invite you back another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJSavage
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So very dissapointing”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Unlike the last two review submitted on the same day, this is a review based on my experience at this below average house. We stayed in the Sunset Villa as 2 families. There were some good points and many bad.

Positives;

The view in the photo's provided by the owners is what you get, it is a very pretty landscape and would suit those keen to stay at the location and enjoy the vista. The pool is great and all the kids enjoyed it and the parents too. The outdoor area is inviting and I could imagine living there (in a better maintained property) hosting BBQ's and and harvesting the fruits that could be grown on site. This is where the good times end.

Negatives;

To suggest that the property is 10 minutes to Byron Bay is a flat out lie. At best it takes 20 minutes, the road to Byron is terrible (no fault of the owner) and can take up to 40 min to drive in, but never ever 10 minutes.

Although the listing advertises Aircon, it is a split system in 1 bedroom only that during our stay did not ever work. There are fans in the bedrooms however at 30+ degrees they are ineffective at allowing a decent night's sleep.

The living area has 2 large ceiling fans to allow air circulation, however only 1 of those worked leaving that room like a sauna.

The toilet seat in the en-suite was broken and made for an uncomfortable experience when heading to the loo in the middle of the night.

Most of the gas burners on the stove do not work, so plan what type of food you wish to cook as a stir fry will not happen on that cook top as we discovered.

When it comes to security rest assured that the location renders you unlikely to be robbed, that is great as the doors and windows do not lock. This is despite there being a $150 fee if you lose the keys. We never even bothered taking them out the house, they are redundant.

The rubbish bins at the front of the property were overflowing with bags of garbage leaning against it, rubbish removal is your responsibility, we took as much as possible to town to reduce the burden however had to notify the owners to address.

We did contact the owners as per their instructions to address the aircon and toilet issues however they did not respond, we chased them up the next day and received the usual "i was in a no service zone" response. Needless to say we left the house in exactly the same condition as when entered.

The family that stayed with us left early as they were so disappointed with the facilities, we hung in to the last only because we had shelled out so much to stay.

All things considered I believe that there are many better accommodation options than Sunset Villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
We are very shocked to read your review as we have received nothing but positive reviews in the last 2 years that we have been holiday letting the property. I would like to clarify some inaccuracies in your review as follows, for future guests to ensure they have a clear picture of the property. I would also like to point out that from the beginning of the booking enquiry you continued to ask for a discount which I did offer you and you also were extremely skeptical of whether the property existed at all ie asking me to provide proof that the property existed. I am sorry that you didnt have a good holiday, but we tried to offer you all that you asked for, i.e a price reduction and to fix the issues that you contacted us about but I am afraid some guests are never satisfied:

1. The drive from the property to the start of Byron Bay (with no traffic) it is actually a 10 minute drive - we have done the drive thousands of times ourselves. I concede from the property to the town centre of Byron Bay it would be closer to 15 minutes. Your stay was during the peak tourist season so traffic into town can be very heavy. This is not something we can control.
2. The house does have 1 aircon unit and the cottage has another aircon unit. There are two operable circulation fans in the main lounge room plus a floor fan that is ample for cooling. There are also ceiling fans in every bedroom and another in the family room. The open plan (ie high-raked ceilings) style of the house does not allow for an effective use of an airconditrioning system in the living area of the house. Hence the alternative installation of fans. Important point to note – the weekend of your stay was in the middle of January when the temperatures were high 30 degree days & nights. Everyone in the area suffered the heat.
3. The ensuite toilet seat was not actually broken but slightly loose that took less than a minute to tighten.
4. All the gas burners on the stove work. I’m not sure why you were unable to operate them as they worked before your stay and after your stay and no other guests have had issues operating them.
5. Every door has a lockable key and most of the windows have a secure lock so we are not sure why you have made this comment.
6. Unfortunately some of the neighbours had decided to leave rubbish in the property bins during this time as it was a busy time of year with our neighbours having family members stay etc. We have since spoken to the neighbours & rectified this issue. We also came during your stay and removed rubbish for you.
7. We returned your call within 24 hours of being notified of the issues and we offered to come to the property & fix them but you replied "dont bother as we're leaving tomorrow".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful scenery from the back deck.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and serenity
Liked least: not much
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing