We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$350
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Hotels.com
AU$350
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$304
Fully refundable before Tue, 23 Apr
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
171
154
57
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
154
57
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse perfect location within walking distance byron bath fireplace brisbane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2023 via mobile

My stay at Waves Byron Bay was very disappointing. We experienced an entire day without power, which was incredibly inconvenient, especially since we had a wedding to prepare for. What made it worse was that the hotel knew about the planned power outage but failed to inform its guests, leaving us frustrated.

To add to the disappointment, it took the hotel almost two weeks to reply to our email regarding the issue, and they offered no compensation for the inconvenience caused.

Furthermore, the cleanliness of the sheets was subpar, and the noise from the surrounding streets made it difficult to have a peaceful stay. Overall, our experience at Waves Byron Bay left much to be desired, with a lack of communication, cleanliness issues, and disruptive surroundings.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank E8819ZXjessicab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Byron Bay, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Hi Jessica, it is nice to have a further opportunity to communciate, and point out a few inaccuracies. As we emailed you, we had No prior knowledge of a power outage at Waves unitl it happened. We were also very disappointed not to be informed, but it was a Energex issue and many properties in Byron Bay were affected. Our lovely guests were extremely understanding as it was totally outside of our control. Regarding your sheet our Housekeeping team would have replaced it immediately if only you had called Reciption. It is disappointing that you have decided not to take up our compensation offer of a discount and upgrade upon returning as the offer was made to you in good faith.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2023 via mobile

Waves sits in about the best location in Byron - it’s across the road from the beach and very handy to the shops. The room we stayed in was very large by hotel standards, and was clean and nicely decorated. There was coffee and muffins available in the foyer every morning. I would definitely stay here again - we loved everything about it!

Room tip: Our room backed onto the lane behind and was very quiet. Other people in our group commented their room wasn’t so quiet.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Byron Bay, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2023

Thank you Elaine for your fabulous review, we love receiving feedback. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2023

This was our first holiday in more than a decade. We booked a Boutique Suite because the bathroom looked clean/fabulous and to be honest, the rate was excellent compared to other places that were charging exorbitant amounts.

The resort is minutes walking distance to the beach, boutique stores, cafes, restaurants and convenience stores (there's also a Woolworths) heading away from the main centre.

I would've loved to give it a better rating, however, the KS bed in the Boutique Suite we booked, was average. It was too soft and made a huge indent when my partner lay down (and he's not even fat or obese). As a result, he had a back ache that triggered a headache during our three-night stay and was counting down till departure day -- not exactly the mindset you want while on holidays. I was OK with the mattress because I have a petite frame.

The newly renovated bathroom looked as it did online -- luxe and modern. However, whoever the "genius" was who did the renovation, positioned the toilet roll holder towards the back, rather than the side, so when sitting down -- you have to turn, twist 90 degrees to grab the toilet paper! The hand towel rack is positioned where the toilet roll holder SHOULD'VE BEEN placed. There's no towel rail either and you have to rely on the flimsy retractable clothes line that sags towards the bathtub once you hang two towels.

There's secure underground parking in the basement with a height limit of 2:03 metres. If you have a roof rack, forget it. It's quite a small and narrow area space and if you do have a 4WD like we do, make sure you do a wide berth turn or you'll hit the railing near the lifts (you can see it's taken a beating by previous guests who evidently had no spatial awareness). Most of the parking spaces are narrow. On our last night, the remaining spots were too narrow but thankfully, an elderly couple saw our struggle and offered to relocate their car to another space, allowing our 4WD to take up two spaces.

There's no breakfast but the place offers tea/coffee and fresh fruit, which is perfect because, let's face it, when you're surrounded by cafes and restaurants, why try to compete? It's great because guests are usually on the go anyway.

Check-in is quick and easy. The staff are warm and friendly. Just don't ask the young casuals, who blow their cover that they're not a local, where to find the best place for croissants/pastries. The person on duty asked their colleague (another non-local) and anyone would think I asked them where the nearest unicorn farm was located. We were given A MAP. (LOL)

Would I return to Waves Resort? YES but I would upgrade to either a Deluxe or State Suite (there's also a Penthouse). Hopefully the KS beds in these rooms are better than the one we slept on.

Room tip: If you own a big 4WD, the height limit for the basement parking is 2.03 metres and the parking spaces are very narrow.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Esperanza0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Byron Bay, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Dear Esperanza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. We sincerely appreciate your honesty and are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would also like to convey our apologies that the bed was not to your liking during your stay, and have since reviewed ALL beds across our properties and replaced those that we felt did not meet our guest expectations.

Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide us with this invaluable feedback, and hope to welcome you back to Waves Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,.
The Team @ Waves Byron Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2023 via mobile

Excellent service . I cancelled my booking and the resort called me to get my details for the refund. I completely forgot to call back and they followed up again in a couple of months. Very good customer service. Refund was in my account immediately . 🙏

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bdg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Byron Bay, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, we are so thrilled that despite your travel plans did not pan out that our team was still able to make an impact upon you. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,
the Team@Waves Byron Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2023 via mobile

We recently visited Byron Bay for a nice week away. I’ve stayed at Waves a few times now and have always stayed here.

The rooms are a great size. We had room 2, a ground floor room. The bathroom is a great size too.

The location of the hotel itself is as good as you can get without paying too much. A short 5 minute walk to the main shopping and restraint precinct and a couple of hundred metres to the beach.

Underground secure car parking is also a feature if you have a car.

Whilst our stay was disrupted by the air con system breaking down, the staff were extremely helpful and assisted us immediately. We were transferred to one of the penthouse suites for the night. We were very thankful.

Overall, our stay was very enjoyable and will be back.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2023

Thank you Leigh for your fabulous review, and please call us direct to book your next booking, as we love looking after our return guests.
Regards
TheTeam@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews