We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$196
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Esperanza0908
Sydney, Australia

Centrally located and close to everything you need and want

Review of Waves Byron Bay
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 July 2023
This was our first holiday in more than a decade. We booked a Boutique Suite because the bathroom looked clean/fabulous and to be honest, the rate was excellent compared to other places that were charging exorbitant amounts.

The resort is minutes walking distance to the beach, boutique stores, cafes, restaurants and convenience stores (there's also a Woolworths) heading away from the main centre.

I would've loved to give it a better rating, however, the KS bed in the Boutique Suite we booked, was average. It was too soft and made a huge indent when my partner lay down (and he's not even fat or obese). As a result, he had a back ache that triggered a headache during our three-night stay and was counting down till departure day -- not exactly the mindset you want while on holidays. I was OK with the mattress because I have a petite frame.

The newly renovated bathroom looked as it did online -- luxe and modern. However, whoever the "genius" was who did the renovation, positioned the toilet roll holder towards the back, rather than the side, so when sitting down -- you have to turn, twist 90 degrees to grab the toilet paper! The hand towel rack is positioned where the toilet roll holder SHOULD'VE BEEN placed. There's no towel rail either and you have to rely on the flimsy retractable clothes line that sags towards the bathtub once you hang two towels.

There's secure underground parking in the basement with a height limit of 2:03 metres. If you have a roof rack, forget it. It's quite a small and narrow area space and if you do have a 4WD like we do, make sure you do a wide berth turn or you'll hit the railing near the lifts (you can see it's taken a beating by previous guests who evidently had no spatial awareness). Most of the parking spaces are narrow. On our last night, the remaining spots were too narrow but thankfully, an elderly couple saw our struggle and offered to relocate their car to another space, allowing our 4WD to take up two spaces.

There's no breakfast but the place offers tea/coffee and fresh fruit, which is perfect because, let's face it, when you're surrounded by cafes and restaurants, why try to compete? It's great because guests are usually on the go anyway.

Check-in is quick and easy. The staff are warm and friendly. Just don't ask the young casuals, who blow their cover that they're not a local, where to find the best place for croissants/pastries. The person on duty asked their colleague (another non-local) and anyone would think I asked them where the nearest unicorn farm was located. We were given A MAP. (LOL)

Would I return to Waves Resort? YES but I would upgrade to either a Deluxe or State Suite (there's also a Penthouse). Hopefully the KS beds in these rooms are better than the one we slept on.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: If you own a big 4WD, the height limit for the basement parking is 2.03 metres and the parking...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Byron Bay, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Dear Esperanza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. We sincerely appreciate your honesty and are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would also like to convey our apologies that the bed was not to your liking during your stay, and have since reviewed ALL beds across our properties and replaced those that we felt did not meet our guest expectations.

Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide us with this invaluable feedback, and hope to welcome you back to Waves Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,.
The Team @ Waves Byron Bay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The new resort sized pool at the Atlantic Byron Bay
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$301
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$127
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$259
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$455
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$175
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$403
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Spa Cabin
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$325
  • Official Site
4.1 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$131
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse perfect location within walking distance byron bath fireplace brisbane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2023 via mobile

Excellent service . I cancelled my booking and the resort called me to get my details for the refund. I completely forgot to call back and they followed up again in a couple of months. Very good customer service. Refund was in my account immediately . 🙏

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bdg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Byron Bay, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, we are so thrilled that despite your travel plans did not pan out that our team was still able to make an impact upon you. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,
the Team@Waves Byron Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2023 via mobile

We recently visited Byron Bay for a nice week away. I’ve stayed at Waves a few times now and have always stayed here.

The rooms are a great size. We had room 2, a ground floor room. The bathroom is a great size too.

The location of the hotel itself is as good as you can get without paying too much. A short 5 minute walk to the main shopping and restraint precinct and a couple of hundred metres to the beach.

Underground secure car parking is also a feature if you have a car.

Whilst our stay was disrupted by the air con system breaking down, the staff were extremely helpful and assisted us immediately. We were transferred to one of the penthouse suites for the night. We were very thankful.

Overall, our stay was very enjoyable and will be back.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2023

Thank you Leigh for your fabulous review, and please call us direct to book your next booking, as we love looking after our return guests.
Regards
TheTeam@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2023 via mobile

Very disappointing experience. We stayed here 4 nights but this hotel is overpriced for what it offers. Good points: it’s close to the beach (but has no pool) and there is underground parking. The reception staff are pleasant and knowledgeable. The rooms are large and bathrooms renovated. However, the housekeeping is sloppy- floor in our room was filthy and we asked for it to be mopped ( then a staff member left muddy footprints over it!) Tea and milk was constantly forgotten. The reception lounge had odd bits of detritus on it and be mindful that the hotel is unmanned after 7 pm so if you forget or lose your key( thankfully we didn’t) you will be locked out. There are much better value places to stay. Byron Bay is quite compact so most places are within walking distance of everywhere

Room tip: On-site parking is available. If you like a poolside experience then this hotel is not for you
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shellybellybuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Byron Bay, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2023

Hi shellybellybuster, thanks for you recent review as we take all feed-back very seriously. There is no excuse if you thought the floor clean was not up to standard, but pleased to hear that they returned to rectify. Regarding our Reception hours, indeed no-one is present on-site after 7pm, but as per your check-in details and in room leaflet, we have a 24 hr security company contactable from the room telephone. Also at the Foyer entrance we have a mobile contact number for anyone that may have misplaced their key, no guest has ever been left stranded, perhaps you may not have seen this.
As you loved Byron Bay, I do hope you will visit again.
Regards
The Team@wavesbyronbay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2023 via mobile

Reception requested we provide a credit card imprint just as a precautionary measure. They said only 1 AUD would be requested but not charged to account. DO NOT provide this hotel with your credit card details. We did not take anything from the mini bar but after we checked out, our credit card was charged!!! Our credit card company then charged us for a foreign exchange rate.

This hotel also charged my daughter for use of a cot which had been placed in her room in event her 3 year old needed to use.

Seems as though the.management at this establishment will charge for anything they consider they can gey away with. Perhaps they think small amounts charged will not be quibbles about. WRONG!@

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank delaura2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo F, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2023

Hi delaura2014, Thanks for giving us the public forum to discuss even though we have exchanged much communication regarding resolving this issue. We have not charged your credit card other than the authorisation $1., and have repeatedly requested a copy of your charge or statement so we can also follow up. It was only suggested it may have been a mini bar charge but we investigated and it was not a mini bar charge, as we did not charge you anything else according to all our records. Whether your bank and overseas transaction has incurred costs we can not confirm. Also the suggestion that our company would illegally take funds from guests is totally incorrect and unfounded.
Once again thanks for contacting us again, and look forward to your copy of your charge and we can contact our bank and see if it can be tracked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2022 via mobile

My Sister and I booked a deluxe suite as a couple of days chill out following my Son’s wedding in Toowoomba.
The room was quite disappointing for the cost - it was dark, there was a DVD player which would have been more appropriate to have had a microwave, a lack of utensils and who uses bar soaps these days - liquid hand wash would have been more appropriate.
The cleaning staff were not up standard - leaving our used bath mat wet and still on the floor, and the bar soap was not replaced or even cleaned from the scum underneath

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 429carolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews