We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$195
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 June
Priceline
AU$191
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 June
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$160
Fully refundable before Tue, 4 June
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
shellybellybuster
Penang Island, Malaysia

Poor value

Review of Waves Byron Bay
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2023via mobile
Very disappointing experience. We stayed here 4 nights but this hotel is overpriced for what it offers. Good points: it’s close to the beach (but has no pool) and there is underground parking. The reception staff are pleasant and knowledgeable. The rooms are large and bathrooms renovated. However, the housekeeping is sloppy- floor in our room was filthy and we asked for it to be mopped ( then a staff member left muddy footprints over it!) Tea and milk was constantly forgotten. The reception lounge had odd bits of detritus on it and be mindful that the hotel is unmanned after 7 pm so if you forget or lose your key( thankfully we didn’t) you will be locked out. There are much better value places to stay. Byron Bay is quite compact so most places are within walking distance of everywhere
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: On-site parking is available. If you like a poolside experience then this hotel is not for you
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Byron Bay, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review
Responded 5 Mar 2023
Hi shellybellybuster, thanks for you recent review as we take all feed-back very seriously. There is no excuse if you thought the floor clean was not up to standard, but pleased to hear that they returned to rectify. Regarding our Reception hours, indeed no-one is present on-site after 7pm, but as per your check-in details and in room leaflet, we have a 24 hr security company contactable from the room telephone. Also at the Foyer entrance we have a mobile contact number for anyone that may have misplaced their key, no guest has ever been left stranded, perhaps you may not have seen this.
As you loved Byron Bay, I do hope you will visit again.
Regards
The Team@wavesbyronbay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$127
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$127
  • Vio.com
    AU$96
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
1.9 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$234
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$199
  • Agoda.com
    AU$179
  • Expedia.com
    AU$223
0.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front
Booking.com
AU$632
  • Priceline
    AU$633
  • Agoda.com
    AU$632
  • Vio.com
    AU$632
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$422
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$435
  • Agoda.com
    AU$355
  • Hotels.com
    AU$396
3.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$323
  • Priceline
    AU$323
  • Agoda.com
    AU$286
  • Expedia.com
    AU$323
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Penthouse Apartment outlook
Booking.com
AU$531
  • Priceline
    AU$531
  • Vio.com
    AU$531
  • Agoda.com
    AU$531
0.1 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vali Hotel Lobby
Booking.com
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$168
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
0.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Spa Cabin
Booking.com
AU$144
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$425
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$366
  • Official Site
    AU$382
  • Expedia.com
    AU$425
4.1 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Trip.com
AU$999
  • Vio.com
    AU$999
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
3.5 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse perfect location within walking distance byron bath fireplace brisbane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2023 via mobile

Reception requested we provide a credit card imprint just as a precautionary measure. They said only 1 AUD would be requested but not charged to account. DO NOT provide this hotel with your credit card details. We did not take anything from the mini bar but after we checked out, our credit card was charged!!! Our credit card company then charged us for a foreign exchange rate.

This hotel also charged my daughter for use of a cot which had been placed in her room in event her 3 year old needed to use.

Seems as though the.management at this establishment will charge for anything they consider they can gey away with. Perhaps they think small amounts charged will not be quibbles about. WRONG!@

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank delaura2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo F, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2023

Hi delaura2014, Thanks for giving us the public forum to discuss even though we have exchanged much communication regarding resolving this issue. We have not charged your credit card other than the authorisation $1., and have repeatedly requested a copy of your charge or statement so we can also follow up. It was only suggested it may have been a mini bar charge but we investigated and it was not a mini bar charge, as we did not charge you anything else according to all our records. Whether your bank and overseas transaction has incurred costs we can not confirm. Also the suggestion that our company would illegally take funds from guests is totally incorrect and unfounded.
Once again thanks for contacting us again, and look forward to your copy of your charge and we can contact our bank and see if it can be tracked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2022 via mobile

My Sister and I booked a deluxe suite as a couple of days chill out following my Son’s wedding in Toowoomba.
The room was quite disappointing for the cost - it was dark, there was a DVD player which would have been more appropriate to have had a microwave, a lack of utensils and who uses bar soaps these days - liquid hand wash would have been more appropriate.
The cleaning staff were not up standard - leaving our used bath mat wet and still on the floor, and the bar soap was not replaced or even cleaned from the scum underneath

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 429carolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2022 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. I went with two friends for a weekend away from Sydney and had a very good service. The location is great, but what caught my attention is that they offered wines at night, what gave us a wonderful experience next ti their fireplace before going for dinner. The bath in our room was amazing. Will definitely come back.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Diego Andrés Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2022

We took a last minute booking to stay in byron on our drive to Brisbane, and loved everything from check in to departure. Location is amazing for walking everywhere and staff were so friendly and professional with nothing too much trouble. Rooms had been recently refurnished I was advised which we loved. I will highly recommend this Hotel to all of my friends and hope to visit again.

Date of stay: June 2022
1  Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2022 via mobile

I honestly don’t think iv ever had to write a review like this. But stay the hell away. I checked in for one night and asked to see the room before I booked it. Thought it wasn’t to bad, commented to the staff member about the bed not looking comfy , he said no he’s had many complaints it’s to soft. I realise now he was being an absolute flog and knew the bed was rock hard. I got no sleep, and iv got a sore back. All in all I wouldn’t waste my time. I booked down the road for the next three nights. It’s not worth $300 plus a night.

The room itself is quite run down. It was a large room though. Water damage in the bathroom. The shower was the only thing amazing. Water pressure was pretty awesome. Location was why we originally booked it.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank haddlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2022

Hi haddlem, I would like to thank you for your recent review. If you have the time we would appreciate a quick email advisiong us of your reservation name and room number so we can follow up immediately as we could not find you in our system. We replaced all mattresses in 2020 with AH Beard Executive Hotel quality so are somewhat surprised with your assessment. As one of our Reception team did point out , we occasionally get a 'too soft' comment but even this is very rare. Apologies you did not like the quality of our new mattress and disappointed you did not love your stay with us.
Regards
The Team@wavesbyronbay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews