We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julie G
Mona Vale, New South Wales, Australia

Waves Byron Bay

Review of Waves Byron Bay
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Apr 2021
Due to the covid situation at Easter 2021 we had to cancel our accommodation, there were restrictions & the Blues festival cancelled

This hotel is refusing to refund me ? Absolutely appalling, My request for refund has been dismissed 100% by these greedy , profit hungry thrives , they don’t even have the courtesy to call me
I would not recommend booking this property & now I have to take this to the ACCC
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review
Responded 10 May 2021
Hi Julie, Thanks for reviewing on this public forum. As all previous communication with you ,of which there has been numerous, you were entitled to the conditions of your booking with Booking.com only your deposit to be forfeited. They highlight the T & C's along every step of the booking process. Notwithstanding, unlike most Hoteliers in the Industry we offered you a credit another night which is not part on your T&Cs which you agreed to by completing the booking. Our other guests were delighted with this option. There is certainly no 'greedy, profit hungry thrives?' in any of the Hospitality businesses we have the pleasure of working with, and suggest you may refrain from slanderous comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The new resort sized pool at the Atlantic Byron Bay
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$288
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$88
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Beachfront
Front
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$459
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$305
  • Expedia.com
    AU$435
3.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
AU$296
  • Priceline
    AU$296
  • Agoda.com
    AU$267
  • Vio.com
    AU$288
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vali Hotel Lobby
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$115
  • Priceline
    AU$122
0.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Premium Family Villa 3BRM
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$150
3.5 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$333
  • Booking.com
4.1 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa Cabin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$115
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
General
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$144
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse perfect location within walking distance byron bath fireplace brisbane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2021

Good location however the hotel is poorly maintained. Our bathroom and our front door had hushed cracks in them. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly which was especially worrying as we stayed there 2 days after corona virus restrictions were removed from the area.
Bathroom was filthy plus they did not come and clean our room one day and the bathroom stand of sewerage.
Fruit and muffins were nice fro breakfast but otherwise poor form

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank cecoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Hi cecoz, I do wish you had contacted our Reception about your concerns as we have an excellent Housekeeping and reception team evidenced by all of the fabulous reviews, however May was a month of continuing reburishments in most of our rooms so I'm sure you will be loving the new look rooms. Social media is probably not the best forum for fixing inhouse concerns.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2021

A nice option for a Byron Bay weekend away, our room clean and had recently been refreshed with modern beach themed decor. The hotel is close walking distance to the beach as well as restaurants/shops. Secure onsite parking was convenient and at no extra cost. The warm muffins, coffee and fruits in the lobby of a morning was a cute touch.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ItalianAlexP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Thanks so much for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2020

Waves apartments was very central to restaurants, cafes and beach. Apartment was spacious and clean. There was a morning juice and pastries for the guests and a nice area at reception for guests to relax. Also a communal area outside our room on the first floor where we had a few bottles of wine before we ventured out into Byron Bay.

Parking under the building was very convenient.

Will recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maps29017363992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Thanks Maps for your fabulous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020

My daughter and I enjoyed a brief two-night stay at Waves. We selected Waves for its location which was perfect. So close to the beach, shops and restaurants! We stayed in a boutique suite on the first floor which was great for us and not noisy at all. The bathroom was clean and large, the king bed was very comfortable and the sofa bed was fine for 2 nights. It was good to have parking included. The staff were friendly and the muffins are back!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjp921
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Our recent stay at Waves was very disappointing.
It turned out that there was only one garden style room as promoted in their advertising We got No 8. In need of refurbishment, old hard bed, ground floor close to main road to lighthouse, a very tiny narrow balcony with no seating,
It was hidden behind palm trees so very dark and almost depressing but at least it was a large room. The staff were quite polite but any time I mentioned a problem it was brushed off with a smile.
Complimentary coffee from pod machine was only at breakfast and the muffins were replaced with overripe old bananas. Instant coffee etc in room. Security was good. Roller door to garage was broken but they employed a security guard until it got fixed which was great as Byron is very busy and filled with a variety of people. Location was good too except that main beach nearby was totally washed away in the weeks before we got there. We will try somewhere else next time.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MazMar735
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Hi MazMar735, thank you for taking the time to review us, but a few inaccuracies were quoted. We have 5 garden views on the ground floor , not one,, and definitely not quoted how many on any of our sites. We also do not quote balcony seating as that would be inaccurate. We have outdoor seating on 3 other room types that you did not choose. Complimentary coffee and muffins have been offered complimentary to guests for over 10 years. We stopped the muffin service given the restrictions put in place during CoVid which will be resumed as soon as we have been given the go ahead from the Industry watchdog, given they are not individually sealed. I do hope regardless of your concerns that you may visit us again in the future.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews