We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$191
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
MazMar735
Sydney, Australia

Beware Not as expected

Review of Waves Byron Bay
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Oct 2020via mobile
Our recent stay at Waves was very disappointing.
It turned out that there was only one garden style room as promoted in their advertising We got No 8. In need of refurbishment, old hard bed, ground floor close to main road to lighthouse, a very tiny narrow balcony with no seating,
It was hidden behind palm trees so very dark and almost depressing but at least it was a large room. The staff were quite polite but any time I mentioned a problem it was brushed off with a smile.
Complimentary coffee from pod machine was only at breakfast and the muffins were replaced with overripe old bananas. Instant coffee etc in room. Security was good. Roller door to garage was broken but they employed a security guard until it got fixed which was great as Byron is very busy and filled with a variety of people. Location was good too except that main beach nearby was totally washed away in the weeks before we got there. We will try somewhere else next time.
Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review
Responded 25 Oct 2020
Hi MazMar735, thank you for taking the time to review us, but a few inaccuracies were quoted. We have 5 garden views on the ground floor , not one,, and definitely not quoted how many on any of our sites. We also do not quote balcony seating as that would be inaccurate. We have outdoor seating on 3 other room types that you did not choose. Complimentary coffee and muffins have been offered complimentary to guests for over 10 years. We stopped the muffin service given the restrictions put in place during CoVid which will be resumed as soon as we have been given the go ahead from the Industry watchdog, given they are not individually sealed. I do hope regardless of your concerns that you may visit us again in the future.
Regards
The Team@WavesByronBay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Garden Suite 1
Tripadvisor
AU$199
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$260
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$206
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vali Hotel Lobby
Tripadvisor
AU$278
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Spa Cabin
Tripadvisor
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Premium Family Villa 3BRM
Tripadvisor
AU$131
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
The new resort sized pool at the Atlantic Byron Bay
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$282
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Front
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$455
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$435
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$361
  • Algotels
4.1 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse perfect location within walking distance byron bath fireplace brisbane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

On the positive side the hotel is brilliantly located - close to many top restaurants, and minutes to the main beach at byron and the walk to wategos. The down side was the offhanded receptionist we first encountered and the first room we were given. We had booked a deluxe suite with outdoor furniture and a small courtyard. What we were given instead was a dark room with a 30cm wide balcony which was totally useless. (room 5). I complained and asked when the room we had booked would be vacated as we were told there was ‘only one deluxe suite availble’ in the whole place. We were told we would have to wait for two days 2 days at which time we moved to the proper suite. It clearly was not the case that this was the only deluxe suite because when we eventually moved tonthe correct room (room 1) there were clearly 2 adjacent rooms with courtyards like ours.

There was no apology for the wrong room being given due to overbooking more than likely, in fact the people at the front desk avoided making eye contact!!

Also on the website it said coffee and muffins would be provided for breakfast. The coffee machine was there as were overripe blackened bananas suitable for making banana cake with. I understand that during Covid you cannot offer unwrapped food but surely if you cannot source individually wrapped muffins you can make a point to provide fresh bananas!!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank YvonneU679
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Enjoyed our stay at Waves. Room was large and clean. Position was good right in town. Can be a little noisy in the morning at times particularly where our room was positioned. However you are in town and Byron is busy so can’t expect silence.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bradyowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2020

Photos don’t truely reflect the rooms and the surrounds. Massively gouging guests with inflated pricing.
Look for a bnb better value for money. We found one just out of town - better atmosphere and better value.

Date of stay: September 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wilsonshane76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2020

Check-in was easy and the staff very friendly. The hotel room was very spacious and both the room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel is in a perfect position for access to the beach, walks and town.

Date of stay: September 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HeleneLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

I was hoping for more from this hotel than it delivered.

The first thing that seemed ‘off’ was to be advised that arriving between 5-6pm was viewed as ‘out of hours’ and that possibly there would be no one there to meet me. This didn’t eventuate in the end but wasn’t the best first image of the place.

On arrival I was provided with a note advising that there wouldn’t be a chambermaid service to tidy or clean my room each day during my stay.

The lobby offered free coffee every morning at 8am from a Nespresso type machine. Only undone by a tray of very overripe/blackened bananas which you could apparently help yourself to.

My room had a small balcony with no view or furniture on it. Meaning you were unable to sit outside if you wanted.

I would say that the hotel is reasonable but lacks personality or a sense of the patron being put first.

My stay made me feel why I understand why many Australians prefer to holiday abroad.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews