We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$195
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 June
Priceline
AU$195
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 June
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$162
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Shane Wilson
Sydney, Australia

Over priced - wanted an obscene amount of money to stay for some extra nights after already staying there for a week.

Review of Waves Byron Bay
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Oct 2020
Photos don’t truely reflect the rooms and the surrounds. Massively gouging guests with inflated pricing.
Look for a bnb better value for money. We found one just out of town - better atmosphere and better value.
Date of stay: September 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$127
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$127
  • Vio.com
    AU$96
  • StayForLong
1.9 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$234
  • Priceline
    AU$248
  • Agoda.com
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$224
0.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$435
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$396
  • Agoda.com
    AU$357
  • Priceline
    AU$435
3.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$323
  • Priceline
    AU$323
  • Vio.com
    AU$283
  • Expedia.com
    AU$324
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Penthouse Apartment outlook
Booking.com
AU$494
  • Priceline
    AU$494
  • Vio.com
    AU$494
  • Agoda.com
    AU$494
0.1 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vali Hotel Lobby
Booking.com
AU$137
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$168
  • Agoda.com
    AU$121
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
0.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$144
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Agoda.com
    AU$124
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Front
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$597
  • Priceline
    AU$597
  • Agoda.com
    AU$597
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$425
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$328
  • Official Site
    AU$382
4.1 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Trip.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$999
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
3.5 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse perfect location within walking distance byron bath fireplace brisbane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2020

Check-in was easy and the staff very friendly. The hotel room was very spacious and both the room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel is in a perfect position for access to the beach, walks and town.

Date of stay: September 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HeleneLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

I was hoping for more from this hotel than it delivered.

The first thing that seemed ‘off’ was to be advised that arriving between 5-6pm was viewed as ‘out of hours’ and that possibly there would be no one there to meet me. This didn’t eventuate in the end but wasn’t the best first image of the place.

On arrival I was provided with a note advising that there wouldn’t be a chambermaid service to tidy or clean my room each day during my stay.

The lobby offered free coffee every morning at 8am from a Nespresso type machine. Only undone by a tray of very overripe/blackened bananas which you could apparently help yourself to.

My room had a small balcony with no view or furniture on it. Meaning you were unable to sit outside if you wanted.

I would say that the hotel is reasonable but lacks personality or a sense of the patron being put first.

My stay made me feel why I understand why many Australians prefer to holiday abroad.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

Clean, friendly staff and great location, walking distance everywhere. Rooms at the ground level have no view and are quite dark. Enjoyed my short stay - I found it a little overpriced for what you get though.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Dayle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2020 via mobile

Just spent long weekend in Byron and stayed at Waves. In the centre of town and if you chance the markets , right on your doorstep . Perfect base . Accommodation was great and newly renovated bathrooms refreshed . Easy check in and check out and accommodated request for late check out . Complimentary coffee and local fruits at reception was nice touch . Will stay again when we return

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank FrugalFlashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2020 via mobile

Spacious king room with lounge area and private courtyard . Perfect position only 100m from the beach and great location for walking or cycling . Big roomy bathtub with great shower opposite. 5 mins walk to loads of restaurants and bars .
Waves staff were very helpful and friendly. Looking forward to coming back .

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 75cathyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews