We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FrugalFlashpacker
Sydney, Australia

Mini break

Review of Waves Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Aug 2020via mobile
Just spent long weekend in Byron and stayed at Waves. In the centre of town and if you chance the markets , right on your doorstep . Perfect base . Accommodation was great and newly renovated bathrooms refreshed . Easy check in and check out and accommodated request for late check out . Complimentary coffee and local fruits at reception was nice touch . Will stay again when we return
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The new resort sized pool at the Atlantic Byron Bay
AU$288
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$339
  • Agoda.com
    AU$257
  • Expedia.com
    AU$296
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
AU$110
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$110
  • Vio.com
    AU$88
  • Agoda.com
    AU$110
1.9 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Beachfront
Garden Suite 1
AU$199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$199
  • Vio.com
    AU$179
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
0.6 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front
AU$459
  • Priceline
    AU$459
  • Agoda.com
    AU$459
  • Vio.com
    AU$459
0.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$296
  • Priceline
    AU$296
  • Vio.com
    AU$267
  • Hotels.com
    AU$296
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vali Hotel Lobby
AU$128
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$128
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$115
  • Expedia.com
    AU$132
0.2 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$385
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$332
  • Official Site
    AU$346
  • Expedia.com
    AU$385
4.1 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premium Family Villa 3BRM
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$150
  • Hotels.com
    AU$150
  • Expedia.com
    AU$150
3.5 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa Cabin
AU$143
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$125
  • Agoda.com
    AU$116
  • Hotels.com
    AU$143
0.7 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$435
  • Booking.com
3.3 km from Waves Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
154
58
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse perfect location within walking distance byron bath fireplace brisbane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2020 via mobile

Spacious king room with lounge area and private courtyard . Perfect position only 100m from the beach and great location for walking or cycling . Big roomy bathtub with great shower opposite. 5 mins walk to loads of restaurants and bars .
Waves staff were very helpful and friendly. Looking forward to coming back .

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 75cathyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2020 via mobile

I would definitely recommend Waves Resort
The staff at the reception desk are very friendly
The room is spacious and clean
The resort is in the heart of Byron close
To shops beach and restaurants
So if you are heading up north
Do not hesitate to stay at this beautiful resort
Waves highly recommend it

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank mazza1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2020

Waves was amazing. Easy check in, we got there quite early before check in and were allowed to use the free parking provided underneath the hotel until we could check in at lunch time when our room was ready. The room was huge as we got upgraded, they had the sofa bed already made for our 2.5yo. Huge balcony with little views of the ocean, everything was nice and clean. It is in such a great location, easy, less than 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants. Will definitely stay again next time.

Date of stay: June 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Expedition620701
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2020

Hotel cancelled my booking. Called to enquire, and they said they double booked the room despite me receiving confirmation of my booking and receiving cancellation some weeks after booking. Turned out I got a cheaper price so my booking was cancelled due to demand, and people paying a higher rate. Disappointing. I will not book through them again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank tonicA3515GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WavesByronBay, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

HI tonic, Thanks for sending the review and giving us a chance to let you know what the Hospitality business is coping with right now to the Covid-19. In all good faith we decided to honour ALL deposits regardless of whether their cancellation policy allowed this or not, in the form of a credit. As all festivals were cancelled we put in priority any of these guests for bookings when festivals were re-scheduled. Byron Bay was not informed of the new dates and we were flooded with online bookings, which does automatically generate a return confirmation. We still believe we have morally done the right thing by honouring all of the previous guests as we had confirmed with them. I hope you can understand and appreciate our reasoning during this difficult time, and hope you were able to secure other accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

We have had a really great time at Waves right from the start where we messaged to say we’d be late to check in and they very promptly replied with all the details we would need and even gave us a glass from the complimentary wine we had just missed once we arrived.
Our room was great and kept nice and clean. Easy location to everything. Lovely staff. And the muffins in the morning - divine!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank livvybb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews