We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“marmite hostel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“marmite hostel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Looking at other reviews, and from my own personal experience, this hostel polarises opinions. Whilst I was there I spoke to some people who had fallen in love with Byron, and stayed here ages and loved the close knit friendships they develop in hostels. Personally, I found it to be rather clicky and not particularily friendly. I stayed in a standard 6/8 bed dorm it was fairly big if memory serves but quite dark. The staff were nice enough, I was picked up from the greyhound station by a young girl who was intent on recruiting everyone to a fancy dress pub crawl, it's a bit of a party town and a party hostel. The hostel is literally next to the beach, which is really nice, aside from that it's fairly average. I found this hostel to be like Byron, not overly memorable (apart from the amazing beach) One thing I will say is that a guy I met on the Greyhound stayed at the YHA (the one in the centre by the beach, not the one in the town) and that appeared to be far nicer, a really good communal area and loads of people who were friendly and down to earth. I wish I had stayed there to be honest. I would reccomend this hostel, to a point (access to the beach, is fantastic) but probably only to people travelling in groups. Bit dull if you're flying solo.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btone6seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    100
    40
    15
    4
See reviews for
7
45
98
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

I found this a lovely place to stay, great for backpackers. The beach is a 3 minute walk and there is private access from the hostel. The path takes you to the quieter end and not the main beach which was an added bonus. Only a short walk from the shops and clubs...this is the perfect location. The hostel also offers a free bike and bodyboard hire which is fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sc0tt90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed here for 1 night when I was Byron Bay, and couldn't wait to get the hell out of it & find somewhere else to stay. It is dirty, so so dirty!! There idea of cleaning a room daily involves emptying a bin. The floor is the bedroom was disgusting & obviously hadn't been cleaned or vacuumed in a long time. The mattresses all had funny stains... yuk!! It's giving me the chills just thinking about it. I didn't get any sleep here, it was so loud & people constantly drinking, shouting & doing drugs on the balcony.

Finally the next day when we were getting ready to leave the receptionist knocked on our door at 10.10am & just entered without even waiting for me to let her in. She began ranting & raving that we were 10 minutes late to check out & basically get out NOW if we don't pay right NOW for tonight. She was so rude!! She also woke up another guy in our room & poked him, saying he had to leave as well, but he had pre paid for a week.

DON'T STAY HERE........... FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

This hostel promotes itself heavily on the fact that it is by the beach. It is, and it also has a swimming pool. These are both great, unless you stay there when its raining heavily. If both there things are taken out of it, all you have is one big common room with music. There is no TV and you have to pay to use the internet (this includes wi-fi). Its pretty expensive, about $5 an hour. You can go down to Backpackers world and get a free half hour of internet everyday.
The bathrooms were dirty. The bathroom near to me had one toilet and one shower. There was a bath but the lock didn't work on tthe door.
The people I shared a hostel with got wasted and brought back a group of people into the room. Normally I wouldn't have minded but had to get up super early to catch a bus.
This is pretty lousy hostel in my opinion, overpriced not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinggirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

This hostel was excellent. The rooms were spacious. The kitchen was great. The location was amazing. The outdoor area was superb.

My only gripe is one of the staff who was working there. He had blonde hair and looked like a surfer dude...

He was one of the most arrogant, rudest, stuck up blokes I have ever met. He gave off the impression that he HATED tourists. You'd ask him a question and it was like you just asked him to build the egyptian pyramids from scratch all over again. He never smiled, I don't think he even spoke, he would just hand you your internet voucher with a miserable sour face.

A shame cus the guy who checked us in was great and the hostel was fab.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosejohn8583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.7 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.9 km away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 km away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#3 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 km away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay

Property: Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Address: 29 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Byron Bay
Price range (per night): $34 - $80
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed friendly accommodation On the beach in the heart of Byron Bay, one of Australias most spectacular and unspoilt holiday playgrounds. Backpackers Inn is perfectly located in the heart of Byron, just a short stroll to shops, pubs, entertainment and Byron's amazing selection of eating places. We have direct beach access and are the closest backpacker accommodation to the beach in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn On The Beach At Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing