We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JV
Brisbane, Australia
Can’t wait to go back!
Review of Shambhala@Byron
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Aug 2022
Do yourself a favour and take that special someone here! This place is something special. This was our second stay and doubt it will be the last! You have privacy but also close to the hub if you want to go out. I was reading the guest book and seems to be a popular spot to get engaged. Can’t fault it and looking forward to going back! The photos just don’t do it justice.
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Vali Hotel Lobby
Tripadvisor
AU$180
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
2.1 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$495
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$390
  • Algotels
5.5 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$456
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$189
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free parking
Beachfront
pool area
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    AU$105
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$284
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$242
  • Algotels
2.6 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa Cabin
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$220
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$120
  • eDreams
2.2 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$148
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Shambhala@Byron
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
25
7
3
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
7
3
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private spa privacy bedroom property hub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2022

Stayed 6 days and loved this place.

Pros
Gorgeous surroundings with stunning gardens
Accommodation had literally EVERYTHING provided
Lovely external private spa (though temperature setting was quite hot and we couldn't turn it down lol)
Beach literally at back of premises
Easy pin-coded access instead of keys
Few minutes drive to Byron Bay shops and cafes

Issues:
Sand in both mine and sons bed from day 1
Dirty iron stained new shirt
No immediate communication with staff
Spa bath in bathroom not working
Shower screen quite small which caused a lot of water to spill over to the bathroom floors every time
Quite expensive accommodation

Was given an extra day free to compensate for issues. Staff, when contactable, were pleasant and accommodating.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ginafitbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2021

This is the second time we've stayed here for our wedding anniversary, we love Shambhala! Would highly recommend anyone wanting to stay in a beautiful beachfront retreat, a serene place close enough to the hub but still has privacy. The property is beautifully designed and gives you a feeling of tranquility from the moment you arrive. The staff are always warm and welcoming and the little extra touches they added made our anniversary even more amazing. Until next time Shambala.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L1817QXjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2021

Absolutely stunning and pure bliss, my husband and I had a recent getaway and we couldn't have been happier. Breathtaking views of the ocean from our bedroom and balcony (it even had a gorgeous bath on it) The location seemed perfect as you can either take the short walk along the beach into town or a short walk in the opposite direction and have one of the most beautiful beaches all to yourself and afterwards the spa and steam room was a great way to unwind and relax before taking a bottle of wine down to the beach to watch the sunset. We can't wait to go back! see you next year.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AusCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

We were booked for mid August and were really looking forward to our stay but being in Qld and dealing with hard border closures and with Byron Bay being a hotspot, we are obviously unable to make it. We requested a refund, but the only option was a credit for a future stay or 80% of our original fully paid fee. We have no idea when things will open up or when we would be able to get down the coast again so we chose the refund but are very disappointed that management chose to keep 20% of our money (the booking was well over $1000) for doing nothing other than taking our reservation. I know hospitality is doing it tough, but so is everyone else. The whole thing just strikes me as being very mercenary.

Date of stay: August 2021
1  Thank SamAdams2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2021

I booked this retreat to have some time out from a busy life to reconnect, and treat myself. I was disappointed with the accommodation provided to me despite booking well in advance, the room provided was like a shoebox, stained pillow covers, no table/chair, no place to put the luggage on, shared toilet and bath with no lock (I couldn't have a shower in the accommodation, had to utilize the shower near spa).
The location was amazing, food was the best part of the retreat. The yoga was good

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Odyssey235426
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shambhala Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Shambhala@Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

The guest stayed with us during a yoga retreat where the experience differs from booking a getaway. When booking direct, guests are not sharing villas or bathrooms as described. In regard to the statement of stained pillowcases on the bed, we feel this to be incorrect. The photos show a used bed, and the photo of the pillow in question includes a hair which would have been picked up by our supervisor prior to check in. While we are unlike other hotels with identical rooms, our four villas here at Shambhala are all unique; we always value guests' feedback as to how we can improve and appreciate comments. We are aware that the facilitator of the retreat has tried to contact the guest several times to address her experience during her stay without success. Best to contact us anytime to discuss any concerns, our staff if always happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews