We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$376
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Junita C

Great place to stay

Review of Bay Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Apr 2023
Great place to stay in Byron Bay right across from the beach staff were very helpful and friendly nice clean rooms and comfortable beds we will stay here again the next time time we want to visit Byron
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Front
Booking.com
AU$597
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$597
0.4 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$213
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$282
  • Priceline
    AU$323
0.8 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$426
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Bay Motel
Free parking
Pool
Vali Hotel Lobby
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$162
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Waves Entry
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$181
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spa Cabin
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$160
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Bay Motel
Free parking
Pool
The Grande
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$311
  • Expedia.com
0.9 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$325
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$209
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Bay Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
113
80
24
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
113
80
24
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable beds location noise byron accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2023

Stayed a night in this motel for $250 a night , got the dungeon room at the bottom of the property at the back.
Room was full of mold on roof and on curtains (such a bad health hazard) and had cockroaches running around.
Yes It was across from beach , but all rooms look directly at the hotel next door (only reception and there residency looks at the beach)
Was extremely noise through out the night (back of building has all the alley way restaurants, so pretty loud) and then the garage trucks and other trucks start round 6am.
I would not recommend this property!!!
spend that little extra more and go somewhere else , even next door (at least there rooms are nice, have water views and a pool in complex)

Room tip: No pool , rooms look at other hotel , noise.
Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2023 via mobile

Stayed at this accommodation and booked 1 month in advance for 2 nights lucky only stayed for one. Upon arrival we were assigned room 12 which was seperate from the other rooms, behind the building situated next to the cleaners storeroom. Disappointed is an understatement. It was mouldy, damp and wasnt clean and had no natural light. It resembled a dungeon. It’s definitely not worth $300 a night.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dale r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meredith Wellington Wellington, General Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2023

Hi Andrew,
Thank you so much for your feedback, Yes they are our older rooms for those who are looking for a cheaper room but still on the beach, which we do explain prior to taking the booking.
All our rooms are cleaned to the highest of standard. As everyone knows who live on the beach mould can be a constant battle and hence regularly clean for this and have prioritised that particular room.
Thank you again and we hope you give us another opportunity when visiting Byron. We recommend our King deluxe rooms with plenty of natural lighting.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2022 via mobile

Beachfront location, keyed rear entry leads straight to shops, hot powerful shower, cleanliness and bed comfort A1, room size ample, parking easy, friendliness of management 5 stars. Verandah light stays on outside the room, so room was not entirely dark. I heard 3 bottle bins emptied at various times but it is next door to the beach hotel & at this price point u r totally winning, my next visit I will be booking here again!!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2022 via mobile

EXTREMELY NOISY!!! Rubbish skips at the restaurant get emptied by trucks, three times before 6:30Am everyday that we stayed! Extract fan on the roof next door obviously has worn bearings and is also very noisy! Rooms were clean but very basis.
$300 a night is very expensive for just a basic room, no pools, kids area etc!

On the plus side, very convenient to the beach and shops and a very powerful shower. Staff were friendly.

Room tip: Take ear plugs if you want to sleep any hours other than 12-5am
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank davecQ1491LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2022

As mentioned in reviews in TA this is a very basic old motel & not value for money. It is in a good position close to the hotel and beach. With this also comes noise from the bars & trucks collecting bins in the mornings at 6am.

We were in Byron for a wedding, Checked in Fri wanting to have a shower, no hot water. I spoke to mgt who advised me that because it was a windy day the pilot light had been blown out for the hot water system. They would light & in 30mins we would have a hot water - 1hr later no hot water. 6hrs later no hot water. Next morn no hot water.
I approached the male mgr and expressed that we weren't happy to pay $300 a night to have no hot water. He said don't worry we will look after you. The female manager had other ideas. She said I am coming up to see if you have hot water. She came into our room - hubby still in bed, put her hand under the shower & said "that's warm water" it's a hot day that is all you need.

Mgr said she would contact the owner, Peter Croke. Mgr said we can't guarantee you hot water, we think it’s better you find somewhere else to stay, She offered a $300 refund for Sat night ( not both nights) we had to be out by 10am. It’s now after 9am, we have a breakfast at 9.30 & hair appt after that. It was going to be very difficult to find someone else with very short notice.

As a property owner/ mgr myself, I was appalled with this type of bully management. Just because you can treat guests with this type of disregard doesn't mean you should.

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank 152pennyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews