We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$218
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sally W

young family's beach holiday

Review of Bay Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jan 2021
my son, his wife and two young children stayed for 4 days in january 2021. they had stayed the previous year at the same time for their beach holiday. i live locally and spent a lot of time with the kids and they again said it was the perfect place to stay - across the road from the beach, large rooms, beautifully clean and airconditioned, and the again hosts couldn't be more helpful and friendly. they'll be back again next year. sally warriner.
Date of stay: January 2021
Room Tip: there are two bedroom suites for families.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Garden Suite 1
Tripadvisor
AU$198
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$259
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vali Hotel Lobby
Tripadvisor
AU$267
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$455
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$323
  • Official Site
    AU$410
4.2 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The new resort sized pool at the Atlantic Byron Bay
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$281
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Front
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$453
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$181
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$405
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Bay Motel
Free parking
Pool
Penthouse Apartment outlook
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$361
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Bay Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$134
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Bay Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
113
80
24
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
113
80
24
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable beds location noise byron accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

Walking by we noticed they had vacancies! We checked in at reception to book a room for Friday & Saturday night. The only room available was the loft apartment. I went straight on TripAdvisor & checked through the reviews. There was a recent terrible review on the loft apartment. So, we asked if we could view the room & were taken through it.

I can report the room is very dated say 70’s era & on the dark side, hence, it didn’t have that spotlessly clean feel about it. It did have good air conditioning in the small bed room. The large bathroom has a double hand basin although only one mirror. The kitchen & dining was a nice size & overall the loft felt spacious. Some adjoining office areas were blocked off which made the loft seem disjointed. The balcony was the perfect size & we were sold! We booked the room & paid $400 a night including free parking!

The only real negatives were the noise from the beach hotel late at night & the sounds of the garbage trucks in the early morning around 6AM.

The positives far out way the negatives, number one location easy access to all of Byron & that balcony! Has to be the best balcony in Byron! Nothing better than sitting on that balcony with a drink, seafood & pizza watching the ocean & the people of Byron doing their thing. Finally, not having to drive around find a park spot & pay for it is a big plus.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank RKHOOKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2021

I have stayed in Byron plenty of times but this is the best motel experience we have had. We stayed the week of Christmas, hosts were so helpful, room so clean and location amazing. Will definitely be back!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2020

This is the worst unit ever at $350 per night and bedrooms with views blocked off half a slider door opens only so get ready to suffocate.
It is disjointed and didn't even have adequate crockery see photographs.
Oh and even the light was broken overthe basin in the already dimly lit bathroom.
Any wonder the manager refused viewing the day before.
Absolutely disgusted....

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank lainielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

This is always our go to in Byron Bay. Not only is it located in the most amazing area, but the owners always go above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable.

Considering it’s beachfront location, it’s always has surprisingly reasonable rates and is great value!!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

The Bay Motel is in a perfect location and the price is right. Customer service at the front desk is really good.

However, it could use a bit better cleaning - especially in the bathroom.

The biggest problem I had with the motel is that they did virtually nothing to stop drunken guests with loud parties. While this sort of thing is to be expected in Byron Bay - this was extreme.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Bwshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews