We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Byron Motor Lodge Motel
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
western australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Central Motel”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We enjoyed one night at this motel and really appreciated the central location as we could park the car and walk everywhere.
The motel had everything needed for a one night stopover even if a little dated. The price was reasonable as B/Bay seems more expensive than most NSW locations.
The owners were very friendly and helpful and they did not allow schoolies!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    14
    5
    20
See reviews for
20
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I walked into the cozy Byron Bay Motor Lodge early one weekday morning after a not so comfortable 14 hour bus ride up from Sydney. I was immediately greeted by motel owner Liz Gleeson.
She was genuine, kind and very helpful. She said my room wasn't ready yet but held my bag for me and directed me where to get a good "brekky" with a beautiful view. I was weary from traveling and she did everything in her power to make me feel at home and comfortable.

My room was clean, large and stocked with plenty of amenities. Her husband Gerry was also out and about always willing to get anything I needed.

It was the best night's sleep I had in 4 days. Comfortable bed, comfy sheets and soft pillows.
I ordered breakfast to be delivered the next morning. It was on time and delicious.

I highly recommend this motel for anyone looking for a quaint place to get a good rest. :)

Sincerely,
Kim
New York

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We got to Byron Bay 1 minute after the i-Site office closed, so we just had to drive around and take pot luck on a room for the night. The Byron Motor Lodge is just off the main road into town and near the centre, so it was easy to come across. They had a room and we had had a long day on the road, so we took it.

But for the money it was poor value. We had been travelling in NZ and Australia for 6 weeks and had stayed in many motels, so we knew when something was priced for its location, rather than what it has to offer. But whilst Byron Bay is Australia's most easterly town (so everyone has to go there!), it has nothing to offer beyond a beach and an over-subscription of backpackers and over-aged hippies!

The staff of this motel had an indifferent attitude, bordering on downright rude, when I had the audacity to ask for a towel for the pool. The establishment offers most standard requirements for a motel, but there is no feel-good about it. The room was of reasonable size, but in need of brightening up and modernising. The kitchenette was poorly equipped - just the basic microwave, toaster and electric frying pan - no hob or oven. Cleanliness was not that good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabethgleeson, Owner at Byron Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your review and I apologise that our motel and Byron Bay did not meet your expectations during your visit to the Byron Motor Lodge Motel. We welcome all constructive criticism. I apologise that you feel we got it wrong during your stay - management and staff pride themselves on friendly service and also our cleanliness. The unit you stayed in has kitchenette facilities which has a mircowave oven, electric frypan, toaster, crockery, cultery, etc. and no oven/stove which you will find in apartments with a kitchen. Kind regards, Liz Gleeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We turned up as a family of five with no booking but fortunately there was a spacious family room available that was comftable and well equipped.Good value.
The owners were very helpful and the location was excellent.The children used the pool but perhaps a bit chilly in mid winter!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJSH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The rooms were fresh and cleaned every day. Our family room was very good value considering how close to everything this motel is.The management and staff are all lovely people, and we will definitely be back. Recommend this little 'gem' to anyone looking for a stay in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.4 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
223 reviews
0.4 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
0.4 km away
Byron Bay Side Central Motel
Byron Bay Side Central Motel
#30 of 32 in Byron Bay
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bay Beach Motel
Bay Beach Motel
#21 of 32 in Byron Bay
102 reviews
0.5 km away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#16 of 32 in Byron Bay
192 reviews
0.5 km away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#7 of 32 in Byron Bay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Motor Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Motor Lodge Motel

Property: Byron Motor Lodge Motel
Address: Corner Lawson & Butler Streets, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price range (per night): $137 - $454
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Motor Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious, ground floor motel units are tastefully furnished with queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fans, tea/coffee making facilities and a small fridge. Rooms with kitchenettes are available by request. We can cater for singles, couples and family groups. Our facilities include a swimming pool, BBQ area, guest laundry, parking at your motel door and ample off-street parking for an extra car, boat or trailer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Byron Motor Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Motor Lodge Motel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing