We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste and great price”

Fishmongers Byron Bay
Ranked #43 of 204 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Takeout
Description: Dine in or Take Away Monday - Sunday 12pm to Late
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Great Taste, fresh, clean. Must go. My wife and I loved it. Would go back daily. The team provide fun service with a smile. Get the vegetable tempura.

Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Hey David

Thanks for the kind words.

You have summed up our approach to our menu perfectly in 3 words, great taste, fresh and clean and we really enjoy serving customers that appreciate what we do.

Hope you had a great time in Byron and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

We went for lunch and decided on the family pack with chips, tempura fish, prawns, calamari, oysters etc.
Cooked fresh, everything was nice and crunchy and not overly oily.
Oysters were especially fresh and the hand cut chips were yum. Generous portion but as with lots of places in Byron slightly expensive. Still happy to go back and eat again.

1  Thank riccishell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Hey Riccishell

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

The family box is a great way to sample a good selection of our produce. We are a little more expensive than a standard fish shop and that's because we prepare everything on site. Spuds arrive in the morning and they are washed back, cut and blanched in a low level of oil to ensure they are crispy when we cook them to order. All the prawns and calamari are prepare on site, the oysters are shucked to order (you can tell the difference) and the tarter is home made.

We repeat this everyday to make sure all your produce stays fresh and tasty.

Have a great 2016 and we look forward to seeing you next time.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Went for the highlight of 'The best chips in Australia' and we were bitterly disappointed, a soggy, burnt mess greeted us from underneath the lovely battered Hoki and sweet potato sliver. The fish was great, the tartare was great, the service was great, but, the chips were ugh, terrible!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank barneynbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Hi Barney and Betty

Really glad to hear you loved the Hoki and Kumera Chips.

We had a week or so where the potatoes had a really high level of sugar content which means when we cook them the sugar crystallises and prevents them from becoming crunchy. We have since changed suppliers and our famous Chips are "back".

Have a great 2016...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

I ordered the 'local barramundi' as recommended by the waitress.

For $22.00 I was given a slither of horrible fish that honestly tasted like dirt, I could not get my mind around it. Under my $22.00 slither of 'local' fish were extremely oily, unpeeled, unwashed handout chips that had gone soggy as they were placed in a tiny bowl.

I was so disappointed that I took the food back to the counter and told the chef that the fish tasted horrible, and asked if the management had changed as previously the restaurant had been completely different, especially food quality.

I was offered no apology or refund for my inedible revolting 'local' fish. For $22.00 I could have eaten anywhere else in Byron bay and I should have.

I will not be returning to this venue. What a waste of money.

3  Thank Guest1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

We debriefed with the staff and your particular experience was discussed. To set the record straight you were offered a meal replacement however opted to threaten the team with a "Bad Review" on trip advisor. We can't control what people write what we can control is having a really positive attitude and commitment to delivering a fresh and healthy approach to Fish and Chips.

We wish you well finding a healthier and more affordable option elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

In the lane behind the Beach Hotel, Fish Mongers can look busy but by the time you get your cooked to order fish meal a table has usually become available. I recommend the Hoki (the standard grilled fish) with salad or chips. My husband has the chips and I have the salad and we can share. If we feel like not being so 'health' the half family box is the go with calamari rings and grilled prawns as well as the fish and chips. There are other dishes too, but these two are our favourites. Dine here for $15 a head - great value for Byron Bay. BYO too (no corkage).

Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Thanks Lindy :)

It's been a really busy Xmas and I'm only just getting back to our reviews.

We love that you love it and the Hoki is a really good light white fish option which both kids and adults enjoy.

Hope you and your family have a great 2016…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishmongers Byron Bay also viewed

Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 
Byron Bay, Byron Shire
 

Been to Fishmongers Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing