We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend - Great B&B so close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baystay Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 35 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Tewantin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - Great B&B so close to town”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Many thanks to our lovely hosts Annie and Jack who were very welcoming. Jack kindly supplied us with a local map pointing out some places of interest, and then in the morning we met Annie who cooked up a storm in the kitchen.
We stayed in the spa room which I booked months in advance so our trip would be on the weekend of the Byron markets which were well within walking distance.
We made very good use of the spa and sauna - so relaxing.
Breakfast was delicious and plenty to go around. We enjoyed fresh fruit, juice, tea, coffee, cereals, fresh baked bread, banana pancakes one day and fresh muffins the next. All of this was enjoyed on the lovely deck upstairs.
This was my forth stay at Baystay, and I will definately be returning. Make sure you book well in advance for weekends and peak periods.
We also arrived early and were able to check into our room around 1pm which was great after our 3 hour road trip.
Best B&B in Byron. Make sure if visiting Byron you make a trip to Twisted Sista Cafe - great coffee and cakes.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    9
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I luved my stay @ this B&B. Set in its own oasis of gardens & trees a few mins walk out of town.
First few nights I stayed in the shared accomodation which has everything you need with kitchenette for light meals.
I then moved into the self contained Spa suite with Spa, sauna own living room, private garden area & patio.
Hosts Annie & John were very welcoming & helpful with local information.. The homemade breakfast was delicious on the balcony & a great chance to talk with the other guests.
I would recommend a stay here & look forward to staying @ Baystay on my next visit to Beautiful Byron Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The accommodation (studio room) whilst being clean and tidy was very basic, lacking in character and old fashioned in style, the tv was archaic and dvd didnt work. The bathroom was damp and badly in need of refurbishment. The external appearance of the studio was lovely as were the surrounding gardens. We were informed that the breakfast had not been included as we had a paid a lower rate (we could however pay $30 for breakfast for three people). The caretakers were very friendly. Location was close to the beach and a 10 min walk into town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Really enjoyed our 2-night stay in the spa suite - our own separate bit of the house with a spa bath and sauna. It felt very luxurious which is just what we needed. The owners clearly take pride in the place as it looked great - you don't need to worry about the negative review about the shower door, that's all been taken care of. Breakfast was lovely, homemade bread, beautiful preserves, poached pears and good coffee. Overall it was good value and we loved the private but homely feel to the spa suite. Would definitely love to stay again if we come back to Byron Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatDog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

As a single traveler this was the perfect break from noisy hostels. The hospitality was great, breakfast was delicious and the hosts went above and beyond to make sure all of my needs were met. I'll definitely be recommending this little jewel in Byron Bay to my friends and family and hope to visit again one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmys2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.1 km away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#9 of 35 in Byron Bay
305 reviews
0.4 km away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 35 in Byron Bay
201 reviews
0.6 km away
Ruskin House
Ruskin House
#12 of 35 in Byron Bay
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#20 of 32 in Byron Bay
164 reviews
0.8 km away
No photo provided
Cape Apartments
#43 of 66 in Byron Bay
1 reviews
1.4 km away
Aaron's at Byron Guest House
Aaron's at Byron Guest House
#31 of 35 in Byron Bay
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baystay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay Bed & Breakfast

Property: Baystay Bed & Breakfast
Address: 30 Marvell St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price range (per night): $121 - $231
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baystay is a lovely bed and breakfast situated within 5 minutes walk to both town and beach. It is a traditional style Aussie beach house of the 70s and has been operated as a B&B since 1995. Your hosts are locals of over 25 years and can help you with information about our beautiful area and give you an experience of our laid back beach lifestyle. Come and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Baystay Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baystay Bed & Breakfast Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing