We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter G
Canberra

Thoroughly recommendable.

Review of Berida Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2023
This is a locally owned hotel and not part of any chain. A stand-out feature for us was the genuine friendliness of all the staff, especially when a fierce electrical storm knocked out the lights at 8.30pm on Christmas Day/Night. Staff brought around small emergency lighting (by which we continued to play Scrabble).

We were there for Christmas Day lunch, which was excellent (in 2 sittings, so popular) - the staff handled the full restaurant very well. I had a very good local Pinot Noir with my pork. We also had two evening meals in Bistro Sociale before and after Christmas Day, which were delightful.

At the first meal, we ordered a de-alcoholized white wine from New Zealand, but alternatively received a South African wine comparing itself to Sauvignan Blanc. It was not and tasted like sugary lolly water - on providing this feedback, there was no charge: a good response.

The decor is subdued, but very appropriate, in the wall paper and carpeting. While we didn't drink in it, the intimate separate Whisky Bar had an amazing array of whiskeys from just about every place around the world that manufactures it.

Thoroughly recommended.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
AU$308
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Berida Hotel
Free parking
Pool
AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    AU$229
  • Expedia.com
    AU$239
2.4 km from Berida Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.6 km from Berida Hotel
Free parking
AU$196
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$196
0.6 km from Berida Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
1.3 km from Berida Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$229
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$229
2.5 km from Berida Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
  • Vio.com
2.3 km from Berida Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$244
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.2 km from Berida Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$229
  • Expedia.com
    AU$247
0.6 km from Berida Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$188
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Berida Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bowral
Reviews (1,196)
Filter reviews
1,196 results
Traveller rating
587
347
156
61
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
587
347
156
61
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin bar guest lounge grand suite games room old world charm charming hotel heated indoor pool bowral golf club good size southern highlands manor house king room an upgrade close to town open fire the ground floor old style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,196 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2023

From the moment we arrived we loved this hotel, our first, but not our last stay. Our room (#21) was a bit small, but perfectly adequate, clean and well appointed. We enjoyed a cocktail in the Gin Room and the range of Gins available was amazing. Dinner was something very special. The eye filet we normally avoid because they are usually more than we can manage, but they were shown by weight and we selected the smallest at 180g. It was cooked to perfection, best eye filet I have had in a long time. Good breakfast selection. The service across all areas of the hotel was excellent. Cheerful, not pretentious, attentive without being overbearing.
We lost a cashmere shawl on this trip, we weren't sure where, so we contacted Berida and they went out of their way to search in all the places we had been and report back to us, sadly not found, but they did all that anyone could expect to find it.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cleo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2023

This was our second stay at Berida Hotel and it was wonderful again. We were upgraded on check-in, which was real treat. The hotel has a lovely ambience, the staff are friendly and helpful and the beds are so comfortable!! We'll definitely be back!±

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lynda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2023 via mobile

We stayed at Berida Hotel for our wedding weekend in the Grand Suite. Berida Hotel went above and beyond to take care of us to help make our weekend special. The food was incredible at the Bistro Sociale and the whiskey bar had a really classy atmosphere. We used the grand suite and the junior suite to get ready for our wedding and these rooms were perfect, along with the friendly staff checking in on us and making sure we had everything we needed. We also used the catering option for our bridal party on the morning of our wedding which is really lovely food. Thank you Berida for an exceptional experience.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2023

I thoroughly enjoyed my overnight stay at the Berdia. It's a stunning, gorgeous, relaxing Boutique Hotel. Rooms are comfortable and clean - like staying overnight in a Day Spa! I had dinner with colleagues in Bistro Sociale, the service and food were divine!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank natc436
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2023

We stayed at the Berrida Hotel for a week and loved every minute of it. We had a family room on the second floor and it was perfect for us. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating, and were always very professional. We experienced a fantastic meal in Bistro Sociale, where wait staff were fantastic - helping us with options to suit our allergies and food preferences. We also enjoyed some lovely cocktails - in the restaurant, in the Whisky Lounge and in the games room while having a game of pool. We swam, used the sauna and generally explored the hotel and it's many eclectic decorations and artworks. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a quick break, or for a longer stay. We will definitely be back.

Room tip: Sit back and enjoy!
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews