We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$271
Expedia.com
AU$271
Get rewarded with One Key
Official Site
AU$272
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Rosie D

Best stay in the Highlands

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Aug 2020
Had the best stay at the Gibraltar Hotel. The location is perfect, staff are so accommodating, the food and drinks are excellent and beds are super comfortable. Perfect place to stay for a weekend in the Highlands. Hotel grounds and views from bedroom are incredible. Harvey’s bar worth a visit. Would definitely recommend.
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral, responded to this review
Responded 2 May 2021
Hi Rosie,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this wonderful view.
We look forward to hosting you again at Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Kind Regards,

Gibraltar Hotel Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$458
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$458
  • Expedia.com
    AU$458
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$458
2.3 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$260
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$254
  • Hotels.com
    AU$253
  • Agoda.com
    AU$260
1.3 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$220
  • eDreams
    AU$220
1.7 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$196
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$197
  • Expedia.com
    AU$207
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$520
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$511
  • Expedia.com
    AU$520
  • Priceline
    AU$520
7.2 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
2.4 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
6.8 km from Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral
Free parking
View more hotels in Bowral
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
318
274
143
67
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
318
274
143
67
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park rain shower southern highlands large bathroom spa bath saturday night dining room breakfast was included mini bar indoor pool wedding weekend lighting conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

It was very disappointing to have a lovely ambience and evening at Harvey’s Bar spoilt by a very early closure of the bar on a Sunday night. First the fire was let die down despite encouragement to put on some more logs. Then the aircon was turned off, with an obvious focus to clear the bar by 8.30. The management is very short focussed, if that how they treat guests on a quiet night. The staff were pleasant but this is not a good way to treat people who are supporting the hotel in tough times.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kangpoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
We are sorry to hear of your experience.
We are always striving to improve and reviews like this, make it easy for us to review, reflect and improve.
We will pass your feedback on to the appropriate department.


Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

I’ve known the hotel since it first opened but haven’t been back in Bowral for some time! You’ve got to try Harvey’s Bar! Amazing ambience and service! And yes get a suite with a balcony overlooking the golf course! Magical!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank pensfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hello,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review! We're so happy to hear you had a great time at Harvey's Bar!
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Gibraltar Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2020 via mobile

This is the 3rd or 4th time staying in this hotel and I have always considered it one of my most favourite hotels. Last time we were here was 5 years ago. I feel like the owners have changed hands because this amazing hotel has gone down hill :(
The rooms are quite specious.... the beds are sooooo comfortable. House keeping excellent but quite late in cleaning the rooms (around 3-4pm).
The swimming pool is not cleaned often enough.... on the edge of the pool was a dressing (wound dressing) and it was there for more then 24hrs. The dirty towels are left on the floor for hours and hours. It would be better if someone came every hour to just check on things.
This hotel always had an awesome buffet breakfast.... and I understand that with Covid that wasn’t available. But the continental breakfast provided was terrible.... a tiny fruit platter (1 small strawberry cut into quarters, a couple of slices of other fruits) 1 small croissant each, cold toast, tiny tubs of yoghurt ( not suitable for small kids) and very glugy porridge (which was pretty tasteless) for 2 adults and 2 kids! Also the price list says continental breakfast is $27 and the big breakfast is $24...so give people a choice and most will pick the big breakfast! On our last morning when we went to breakfast we were the first ones there and the staff were sitting at the tables almost asleep. The main guy in the dinning area stunk of cigarettes! Gross!
Overall cleanliness of the hotel wasn’t up to scratch!
I can’t believe my favourite hotel is no longer how it used to be!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Polka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
We are sorry to hear of your experience.
We are always striving to improve and reviews like this, make it easy for us to review, reflect and improve.
We can assure you that we are constantly evolving, training and updating our hotel.
When you get a chance, please keep an eye on our social pages as we continue to update the latest events / news.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2020 via mobile

This hotel had recently reopened post the Covid 19 shutdown so not all services available. Very pretty spot on the edge of a golf course. We stayed in a spa suite but the room, although well furnished was so dark it was virtually impossible to put on makeup or read. Bed was great with good linen. We ate at the bar one night and that was much better value than the restaurant where the food was overpriced for what you got. Staff tried hard and mostly succeeded.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tashi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hi Tashi,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review! We really appreciate it, especially given a lot of our services were unavailable due to COVID restrictions. We appreciate your patience with us.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Gibraltar Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2020

Have stayed here before and really enjoyed it. The ambience of Harvey’s Bar and great food.
Booked 2 nights (Thurs and Fri June 25 & 26) to escape Sydney and inject something into the economy.
Accept all the difficulties of reopening under all the problems of covid and my failure to fully read ALL the information on there website we came away from our two night stay rather disappointed.
The bar and restaurant were closed on Thurs.
Friday breakfast Was delivered to the room and contained a small croissant and a plastic containers of fruit and yoghurt plus a small bottle of water. No fresh juice or coffee. Had to use sachet of instant!
The included continental breakfast on Sat was served in the restaurant and was OK.
The reception area and corridors appeared to be unbeaten or at least were very much on the COLD side!
Again I appreciate the many problems the hotel must face under covid but at a cost over $600 for the two night expected our stay to be a bit better.
A lesson learnt read the small print in more detail and ask before booking.

Date of stay: June 2020
2  Thank tony_leonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral, Marketing at Park Proxi Gibraltar Bowral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
We are sorry to hear of your experience.
We are always striving to improve and reviews like this, make it easy for us to review, reflect and improve.
We can assure you that we are constantly evolving, training and updating our hotel.
When you get a chance, please keep an eye on our social pages as we continue to update the latest events / news.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Gibraltar Hotel Bowral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews