We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip Back in Time”
Review of Elephant Boy Cafe - CLOSED

Elephant Boy Cafe
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Elephant Boy Cafe, proudly born in Bowral. Located right in the middle of the Main Street of Bowral, we offer an eclectic though cozy place to enjoy a brilliant coffee, or sit down to breakfast, brunch, or lunch 7 days a week. The business has been sourcing and employing locally for more than 15 years. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 4 September 2019

If a pleasant break for coffee or a light meal, in a setting reminiscent of days past, is your thing, then take time out to visit the British Raj-themed Elephant Boy café in Bowral. With its walls lined with book-filled shelves, you will enjoy the time you spend in this engaging establishment.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2019

The poached eggs came from a machine. They looked like breasts on a plate and had hard yolks. The toast was white bread, not ciabatta or sour dough but the sliced stuff. Service was fine, but the coffee was awful. Had heard good things about this place but it seems new owners have let things slide. Nice atmosphere ruined by the food.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Seximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

A shadow of its former self. Once a giant in the cafe landscape of Bowral, EBC is now unrecognisable, though still masquerading under the old guise. If the foodie police were operating in this quaint, alluring village, there’d be an investigation for overpricing and under-delivering. Small, unimaginative dishes at a premium. Sobering and underwhelming it’s stamped never-to-return.

Date of visit: August 2019
5  Thank peter3992016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere . This cafe is right in the heart of Bowral. We visited it twice on our recent visit - firstly for delicious scones for morning tea and then met a friend there for lunch the next day. Great service and we enjoyed the food.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank TaylorLeura
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2019

Was visiting Bowral for a wedding, decided to head to Elephant Boy Cafe for brunch. Was not disappointed. Will come again.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kit_Lok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Elephant Boy Cafe also viewed

Bowral, Southern Highlands
Bowral, Southern Highlands
 
Bowral, Southern Highlands
Bowral, Southern Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.