We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience, great food”
Review of Elephant Boy Cafe

Elephant Boy Cafe
Ranked #38 of 98 Restaurants in Bowral
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Elephant Boy Cafe, proudly born in Bowral. Located right in the middle of the Main Street of Bowral, we offer an eclectic though cozy place to enjoy a brilliant coffee, or sit down to breakfast, brunch, or lunch 7 days a week. The business has been sourcing and employing locally for more than 15 years. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We had lunch at Elephant Boy on our first trip to Bowral. The ambience created by the elephants and the walls lined with old books and Indian ornaments was fascinating.
We chose the chicken pie and the beef curry for lunch. The pie was the deepest I had seen and very tasty. The curry was tender and tasty, served with a pappadum and chutney on the side. To finish we shared the New York cheese cake which was very smooth and delicious - with café latte, served in coffee bowls. Being a cold day, it was lovely to pick up the bowl with two hands to drink.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank abctravelToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 461 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Had a great lunch here recently. Delicious house made soup and a pie. Coffee was top class too which is something you don't always get in regional NSW! Great service and unique surrounds. Will return.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Steveninsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Curry or coffee. Either one - you won't be let down. Interesting fusion of cultures make for excellent mains and great desserts. The staff are all very nice. Even when busy they were all over every table and never missed a beat.

Food was very very good. The title 'Cafe' really does not do the food justice. Indian fusion makes for interesting tastes - with their special curry being the feature: Elephant Boy Curry. Really - a standout. Some of my Indian friends may be disappointed as the curry was very mild - but delicious all the same.

Prices on the high end of a cafe, however well worth it for the ambiance, service and excellent food.

Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We thought we'd arrived late enough to miss the Sunday lunch crowd but the cafe was still jam-packed and we waited about 10 minutes for a table. It was incredibly busy and although we were seated in a reasonable time, we had a bit of a wait staring at someone else's scraps, before the staff came and cleared our table and took our orders. That said, the service was friendly and the food didn't take too long to arrive after we'd ordered. We sampled the chunky beef and mushroom pie, which was served with a tasty gravy, really creamy mash and some vegetables - a satisfying meal. Another member of our party had the smoked salmon on turkish and it looked good too. The atmosphere is cosy, all the walls are lined with book shelves filled with old books. This also creates nice accoustics - something sadly lacking in many stark, minimalist cafes - and that made for easy conversation even though the place was jumping. Decent coffee rounded out the meal; pricing was a little on the "trendy" side, though with generous servings.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

I love this place. The food, atmosphere, and service is always great. I really love their sponge cakes that remind me of afternoon tea with my grandma and the curries are terrific. Its a must with every trip into Bowral.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Trudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Elephant Boy Cafe also viewed

Bowral, Southern Highlands
Bowral, Southern Highlands
 
Bowral, Southern Highlands
Bowral, Southern Highlands
 

Been to Elephant Boy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.