We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Extraordinary experience - far exceeded expectations - 31 Day Namibia/Botswana

Thank you Mike and Linda, the creators. Thank you Dave, our fearless leader. Thank you Chris, our... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
WilliamR689
,
Sydney, Australia
31 Day Self Drive Safari to Botswana and Namibia”

This tour is exceptional if you want to experience the countries from a 4wd adventure perspective... read more

Reviewed 10 September 2018
Wizzfizz1
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
22
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southern africa okavango delta amazing wildlife wildlife guide skeleton coast victoria falls own vehicle quad biking sand dunes memorable trip off road his knowledge day trip namibia linda animals safari
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

My wife and I recently did a 40 day Namibia and Botswana trip with SDA. We really enjoyed the fabulous wildlife - up very close in many instances - and the scenery in many areas is absolutely spectacular. Some very interesting campsites, rewarding cultural experiences, and a few luxe nights thrown in to break up the camping a bit. I really enjoyed the driving as well - challenging at times, but not ridiculously so, and always with good advice from Dave the guide. In fact we did not do a tyre at all between the 7 hire 4WD's on the whole 6000+kms. Dave was also excellent with his knowledge of the land, the people and the weather and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Lachlan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfdriveadventures, Marketing at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Lachlan and Kerry, many thanks for your review. Being able to get up close to the wildlife sightings is one of the great advantages of going on our Self-Drive Adventures. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the driving and route. We have shared your feedback with Dave. Enjoy the great memories of the Africa bush.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

I recently travelled on a 40 day trip in Namibia and Botswana with Self Drive Adventures. It was a fantastic time seeing so many different landscapes. The best time was when we were up close with lions who were feeding. Completely worth the money.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank wingala84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfdriveadventures, Marketing at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Steven

We are delighted to hear you such a great time. It sounds like you had an incredible lion sighting. Thank you for choosing Self Drive Adventures for your Africa experience We hope we can welcome you back on another great adventure sometime in the future to explore one of our many interesting locations accross the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

My husband and I traveled to Southern Africa in April/May last year with the company called Self Drive Adventures who are based in Bowral NSW, Australia. We have done quite a bit of overseas travel over the years but I have always wanted to add Southern Africa to our travels.
Having met Linda and Mike through our 4WD Club, we decided this was an opportunity not to be missed. While we camped with Roof Top tents most of the time, we also stayed in two wonderful Guest houses which were organised by Linda and gave us an opportunity to spend a few days in local areas. The trip included visits to the Okavango Delta, Etosha, Botswana and also included an overnight stay at the iconic Victoria Falls Hotel. We not only walked around the falls when there was an unprecedented amount of water flowing over the falls, we also took the opportunity to take a helicopter flight over the falls, which was amazing and gave us a wonderful view of the falls in flood.
Linda and Mike accompanied us on our trip and with Mike’s years of experience as he had previously lived in Southern Africa, he knew the areas travelled and provided us with the history of the area's traveled on a day to day basis. Linda did a fabulous job of organising the trip and covered off the day to day planning details of the trip by briefing us each day. They both regaled us with stories about the areas we visited, which also included a Himba Village and a visit to the bushmen of the Kalahari. We also travelled down the Skeleton Coast on the Western side of Africa and saw the giant sand dunes in Sossusvlei and the sunsets were amazing.
In Botswana, we had Chris as well as Mike and Linda as our guides and he took the group out on safari's in his open vehicle and we saw lots of the wildlife in their natural habitats. It was amazing to watch the animals as they wandered down to the watering holes in the morning and then completed the return trip in the afternoon.
There were many other highlights to the trip, including not only at boat ride on the flooded Okavango Delta but also a helicopter flight over the Delta which provided a totally different view of the Delta.
We would highly recommend taking a trip with Self Drive Adventures as they have lots of options for travel and also were extremely helpful with assisting in organising the additional activities we completed on the trip.

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank naf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfdriveadventures, Marketing at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Nola and Craig
Many thanks for your review and positive feedback. We are glad to hear you had such a great trip and reading your comments reminds us of just how special some of the locations are .That 31-day route you took, includes in some amazing variety and contrasts from the overflowing Victoria Falls to Sand Dunes of the Skeleton Coast. I have shared your feedback with Mike, Linda and Chris and thanks for choosing us for your Southern African Adventure and we look forward to welcoming you back on another adventure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

A wonderful trip with plenty of up close and personal experiences with animals. Lying in bed at night listening to lions roaring in the distance and having elephants in camp literally metres from you is truly amazing (if not a little scary). Dave was our guide, his knowledge is vast and he shares it most willingly.

Most people relate Africa to animals but there is much much more to be seen, including driving for 7 days through the spectacular scenery of the Namibian rivers and gorges with each day better than the last. Then there was the spectacular skeleton coast, quad biking, climbing sand dunes for sunrise, visiting villages, flying over the Okavango Delta, visiting Victoria Falls, and much more.

Driving in your own vehicle allows time out when traveling in groups, even if you know most of the people in your group as we did. The vehicles were comfortable and well equipped, but if there was anything missing Self Drive staff fixed it very quickly.

Dave made crossing borders easy by letting us know what to expect as we approached each one and due to his understanding of the nuances of each particular crossing and of course the languages.

Arranging everything you need to make it to the Africa was covered by Linda's extensive lists and information that she provided in a timely manner.

We traveled in May, the weather was quite warm (+30) every day, the sky was always blue and the nights cool but not cold.

If adventure is what you are after then this trip will not disappoint.

Sandra and Jeff

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank sj260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfdriveadventures, Marketing at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Sandra and Jeff
Thanks for the review and sharing your experience on one of our Self Drive Adventures of Southern Africa. Africa is really unique and there is nothing quite like listing to lions roaring when going to bed. I have shared your kind words with Dave and Linda. We hope the great memories of the adventure last many years.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

What a fantastic way to see another part of the world! After enjoying camping and 4WDing in Australia we really wanted to experience something similar in the more remote and wild regions of Southern Africa. This was our first trip overseas together and the tag along style suited us perfectly. Being able to do your own vehicle-based camping as well as the option to stay in other styles of accommodation allowed us to have many unique experiences. Other than the bush camping, highlights for us included the tree house on the Okavango River, the opulence of the Victoria Falls Hotel and the warmth and hospitality of the two guesthouses Londingini and Meikes.

Our adventure was like having two weeks of amazing wildlife, including the Okavango Delta and Etosha, followed by two weeks of unforgettable landscapes. Truly a photographic paradise.

We got to see plenty of wildlife up close thanks to the knowledge and experience of our guide Chris in Botswana. Other highlights included visits to the Himba tribe and the bushmen of the Kalahari. The outstanding geology of the west coast, the giant sand dunes in Sossusvlei and amazing sunsets were breathtaking.

The camaraderie of the group added to the trip’s enjoyment each day. Being able to do your own cooking was great. A good opportunity to share meals around the fire and make use of the camp ovens.

Right from our initial meeting with Mike at a 4WD show we felt very comfortable. Linda and Mike make a great team. They accompanied us on our trip and we always felt well informed and confident. Mike’s years of experience in the area is complemented by Linda’s vivaciousness and attention to detail. This ensures a truly wonderful time is had. They provide a unique way of travel that suits small groups allowing them to make the most of every moment. Thanks so much Mike and Linda.

We have no hesitation in recommending them to others with a similar sense of adventure! So good, in fact, we are off to Madagascar on another SDA trip! Can’t wait. Kim n Jim D

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfdriveadventures, Marketing at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Kim and Jim

Thanks for the review and we are delighted you had such a great experience in Africa. I have shared your wonderful feedback with Linda, Mike and Chris. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Madagascar on another Self Drive Adventure filled with iconic locations and adventures off the beaten track. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews