We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“31 days in Namibia and Botswana”

Self Drive Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We specialise in taking you places you probably wouldn't go on your own. You self drive in fully equipped vehicles, provided by us, led by our escorts and local guides. You have the adventure of driving your own vehicle, giving you more independence and your own space, but with the security and camaraderie of travelling with a small group in your convoy. Thinking of a Holiday or guided tour of Madagascar, a Safari in Namibia or Botswana or both, How about a guided motor home tour through Morocco or even a guided Iceland tour off the tourist track, Self Drive Adventures can offer all to you and more.
Reviewed 16 April 2018

A wonderful trip with plenty of up close and personal experiences with animals. Lying in bed at night listening to lions roaring in the distance and having elephants in camp literally metres from you is truly amazing (if not a little scary). Dave was our guide, his knowledge is vast and he shares it most willingly.

Most people relate Africa to animals but there is much much more to be seen, including driving for 7 days through the spectacular scenery of the Namibian rivers and gorges with each day better than the last. Then there was the spectacular skeleton coast, quad biking, climbing sand dunes for sunrise, visiting villages, flying over the Okavango Delta, visiting Victoria Falls, and much more.

Driving in your own vehicle allows time out when traveling in groups, even if you know most of the people in your group as we did. The vehicles were comfortable and well equipped, but if there was anything missing Self Drive staff fixed it very quickly.

Dave made crossing borders easy by letting us know what to expect as we approached each one and due to his understanding of the nuances of each particular crossing and of course the languages.

Arranging everything you need to make it to the Africa was covered by Linda's extensive lists and information that she provided in a timely manner.

We traveled in May, the weather was quite warm (+30) every day, the sky was always blue and the nights cool but not cold.

If adventure is what you are after then this trip will not disappoint.

Sandra and Jeff

2  Thank sj260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfdriveadventures, Marketing at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Sandra and Jeff
Thanks for the review and sharing your experience on one of our Self Drive Adventures of Southern Africa. Africa is really unique and there is nothing quite like listing to lions roaring when going to bed. I have shared your kind words with Dave and Linda. We hope the great memories of the adventure last many years.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"southern africa"
in 2 reviews
"memorable trip"
in 2 reviews
"off road"
in 2 reviews
"linda"
in 5 reviews
"botswana"
in 8 reviews
"animals"
in 2 reviews
"countries"
in 2 reviews
"4wd"
in 5 reviews
"company"
in 2 reviews
"parts"
in 2 reviews
"remote"
in 3 reviews
"stories"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2018

What a fantastic way to see another part of the world! After enjoying camping and 4WDing in Australia we really wanted to experience something similar in the more remote and wild regions of Southern Africa. This was our first trip overseas together and the tag along style suited us perfectly. Being able to do your own vehicle-based camping as well as the option to stay in other styles of accommodation allowed us to have many unique experiences. Other than the bush camping, highlights for us included the tree house on the Okavango River, the opulence of the Victoria Falls Hotel and the warmth and hospitality of the two guesthouses Londingini and Meikes.

Our adventure was like having two weeks of amazing wildlife, including the Okavango Delta and Etosha, followed by two weeks of unforgettable landscapes. Truly a photographic paradise.

We got to see plenty of wildlife up close thanks to the knowledge and experience of our guide Chris in Botswana. Other highlights included visits to the Himba tribe and the bushmen of the Kalahari. The outstanding geology of the west coast, the giant sand dunes in Sossusvlei and amazing sunsets were breathtaking.

The camaraderie of the group added to the trip’s enjoyment each day. Being able to do your own cooking was great. A good opportunity to share meals around the fire and make use of the camp ovens.

Right from our initial meeting with Mike at a 4WD show we felt very comfortable. Linda and Mike make a great team. They accompanied us on our trip and we always felt well informed and confident. Mike’s years of experience in the area is complemented by Linda’s vivaciousness and attention to detail. This ensures a truly wonderful time is had. They provide a unique way of travel that suits small groups allowing them to make the most of every moment. Thanks so much Mike and Linda.

We have no hesitation in recommending them to others with a similar sense of adventure! So good, in fact, we are off to Madagascar on another SDA trip! Can’t wait. Kim n Jim D

2  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selfdriveadventures, Marketing at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Kim and Jim

Thanks for the review and we are delighted you had such a great experience in Africa. I have shared your wonderful feedback with Linda, Mike and Chris. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Madagascar on another Self Drive Adventure filled with iconic locations and adventures off the beaten track. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Friends had done African 4WD adventures, with mixed success. We met Mike & Linda at a $WD show and thought their offering was pretty good, so the wife and I decided to book in. When our adult children found out, they wanted in as well, so it was a set of wedding, 21st and 18th birthday presents for the kids and off we went to do a 31 day Namibia/Botswana tour in July 2015.

What a fantastic time we had. The wildlife was awesome; 4WD'ing interesting, without being too difficult and the scenery and geological makeup were breathtaking. We had some wonderful camps n remote areas and got to experience much of the local culture first hand. The trip was seamlessly organised and paced very well, with plenty of time to chill out and marvel at the wildlife and scenery, as well as enjoy the company of our fellow travellers.

Chris, our wildlife guide in Botswana is still revered as a super-hero by our boys, and Mike's calmness, complemented Linda's enthusiasm. It s the yardstick against all future travels

2  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Owner at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hi Steven - thanks so much for the review. We enjoyed travelling with you and your tribe too! Looking forward to hopefully having you back again in 2020?! I was emailing Chris the other day, so I mentioned that your boys still think of him as a super hero!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We wanted to see rural Africa, but not from behind the window of a bus. Self Drive Adventures gave us the opportunity to be in close contact with the environment, the freedom to do our own thing and the security to have back up, if needed. The landscape of the Skeleton Coast and the majesty of the Victoria Falls were unique experiences. The direct interaction with the Bushmen and the Himba people in their own villages gave us memories to treasure. The ability to get up close to the abundant wildlife in both Botswana and Namibia was what we hoped for, and this more than met our expectations. The highlight was witnessing a pride of lions capture a kudu right in front of us. Mike's assured competence and Linda's infectious enthusiasm made this a trip to remember.

1  Thank silver72018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Owner at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thanks for the review Steve and Kerry. It will take a long time before the lion kill is topped from a wildlife viewing perspective - we were so lucky to see that! Hope we can travel with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Most outstanding trip, well cared for, tented for sleeping, they even got my tent up while I thought about what to do next. Anyone can do it if I can and what memories I now have. Great achievement with my disability. Loved it all Thankyou, even went quad biking down steep Sandhills. Dave was so caring of everyone and all avenues of safety were well covered and with Dave being a paramedic was great comfort for All especially in very remote areas of wonderful Namibia. We led 7 4wdcampers from Global Gypsies from Western Australia. Thanks everyone so well organised in every way. L n xx

Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Owner at Self Drive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hi Nancy, thanks so much for your kind words. Dave is a real gem - glad you enjoyed travelling with him. Hope we can have you back on another adventure with us someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Self Drive Adventures also viewed

Bowral, Southern Highlands
Bowral, Southern Highlands
 

Been to Self Drive Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing