We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bangalow Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Bangalow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Bangalow guesthouse is a charming house it has a lovely large garden with a tree lined creek so you really do feel like your getting away from it all but still being within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The Bed was comfortable with good quality bedding.
The room was a decent size with a large bathroom our room had french doors that went out to a verandah which had a small table and a couple of chairs.
I didn't notice any traffic noise but than we weren't at the front of the house.
We had the house all to ourselves which was great but it wouldn't have mattered if there were others. The staff are friendly with a lot of local knowledge.
Byron Bay is not far and has some really great restaurants and shops tho it's traffic chaos. I don't know if there is any bus service between Bangalow and Byron but it may be worth checking out if your not familiar with the area or you can't stand trying to find a car park.
So to sum it up if your out to explore the area in my view Bangalow makes a more comfortable base but if your just there to visit Byron stay right in the town itself so you don't have the traffic hassle.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    25
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
49
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Our stay at The Bangalow Guesthouse was above our expectations. My husband and I were traveling from Brisbane to Sydney and had never been to Bangalow before. We did not know what to expect when it came to accommodations in such a small town. We planned to stay for two nights over the Christmas holiday. Well, we sure hit the jack pot with Bangalow Guesthouse! We stayed in the main house which is a charmingly renovated light filled home with a wrap around porch, beautifully decorated common areas, pretty gardens, and several well appointed guestrooms. The bed was very comfy with high quality linens and the rain fall shower with extra large fluffy towels felt wonderful! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was continental and 'help yourself' which suited us fine. The property also has 3 cottages available if you require more space during your stay. This place is A+!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We needed to find some where to stop for one night on our way south and came across the Bangalow Guest House, and we were so glad that we did. What a lovely place to stay, both the guest house and the town are very quaint and well worth a visit. The guesthouse is so nicely done it's very old world but beautifully decorated and set in lovely gardens. The breakfast was great, all laid out in the kitchen where you help your self and then eat out on the veranda . You also have use of the kitchen to make coffee or tea etc and can help your self to ice from the fridge. It's very easy to walk to the restaurants on the Main Street for dinner. We loved our short stay and if we are in the area will plan to stay a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltimes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Fremantle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin for two nights. Great location for an overnight stay if you're travelling. Traffic noise is constant but the beautiful decor makes up for it. Comfort abounds with sofas on your verandah and overstuffed couches in the shared living.
I wanted to boil an egg and heat some almond milk for coffee but the stove was broken. I also wanted a good coffee but the staff didn't know how to use the machine. We all love a good coffee to start the day so this was a bit of a bummer for us.
The new cabins paint etc are gassing off quiet a bit and need a good airing. We would have purchased some scented candles if staying longer as the traffic noise precluded sleeping with the window open.
I would stay again for a night or two on my way somewhere but probably stay in a room in the house facing away from the bridge where the road noise travels from.
A great place to visit if you love cape cod/ Hamptons style. Think "Something's Gotta Give" with Di Keaton& Jack Nicholson. We will definitely be back for a night after enjoying a long lunch at the Harvest cafe. I'm sure the coffee machine, new paint smells and stove issues will be sorted soon!

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed overnight in guest house 2. We were greeted warmly by the lovely Anastasia and given a good tour of the main house and all facilities. The guest houses are a recent addition and well built with very good facilities including a very comfortable bed, air con, a great shower and a cute blue sensor light (that you can turn off if you like) in the bathroom for middle of the night visits. There are tea and coffee facilities in a little alcove with a bar fridge and two comfortable chairs but there is a good coffee machine in the main house about 20 meters away. A short walk to all restaurants and the property is surrounded by lots of trees and a creek on one side. Plenty of good points but a couple of negatives that were only minor. Netflix did not work and there is no one on site at night to ask for help; there is a very noisy pump for the water tanks behind the guest house that you don't notice during the day - but you sure do at night (not that it comes on until needed) and a very bright red light on one of the sensors in the roof directly in your line of sight when you turn off the light for bed - just a bit annoying but as I said, all minor. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, nice quiche and fruit on the verandah of the main house. Overall a nice overnight and worth a return visit.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodynook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangalow
4.8 km away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
6.1 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
4.9 km away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
371 reviews
8.1 km away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
7.2 km away
Abelia House
Abelia House
#13 of 35 in Byron Bay
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangalow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangalow Guesthouse

Property: Bangalow Guesthouse
Address: 99 Byron St, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia (Formerly Riverview )
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Bangalow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bangalow
Price range (per night): $187 - $335
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bangalow Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bangalow Guesthouse is a stunning property sitting amongst beautifully landscaped gardens on the banks of the picturesque Byron Creek. Situated in the main street of Bangalow and just minutes walk from a wonderful array of cafes, restaurants, boutique shops and the iconic Bangalow Hotel, this is the perfect Northern Rivers holiday spot. This historic home is an immaculately renovated heritage-style property with four en-suited bedrooms. These can be booked individually or you can hire the entire house. The Queen room has a spacious en-suite and bathtub, The King room features its own sitting room with river views. All of the rooms have been beautifully furnished with Coco Republic furniture and artwork by internationally renowned artist Ken Johnson. Wide shaded verandas surround the home on 3 sides and provide cool breezy spots to sit and overlook the magnificent gardens and Byron Creek below. The property is a 15 minutes drive from Byron Bay and the region's famous beaches, 20 minutes from Ballina/Byron Airport and only 45 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. The Bangalow Guesthouse is also a fabulous venue to host your wedding or any kind of special event with two designated marquee spots in the gardens. We regularly hold events, local fresh food lunches and seasonal special dinners in our elegant dining room or on the spacious verandah. Bangalow Guesthouse is just a two minutes walk to boutique shops, art galleries,cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Bangalow Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangalow Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing