We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bangalow Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Bangalow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We needed to find some where to stop for one night on our way south and came across the Bangalow Guest House, and we were so glad that we did. What a lovely place to stay, both the guest house and the town are very quaint and well worth a visit. The guesthouse is so nicely done it's very old world but beautifully decorated and set in lovely gardens. The breakfast was great, all laid out in the kitchen where you help your self and then eat out on the veranda . You also have use of the kitchen to make coffee or tea etc and can help your self to ice from the fridge. It's very easy to walk to the restaurants on the Main Street for dinner. We loved our short stay and if we are in the area will plan to stay a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltimes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Bangalow Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin for two nights. Great location for an overnight stay if you're travelling. Traffic noise is constant but the beautiful decor makes up for it. Comfort abounds with sofas on your verandah and overstuffed couches in the shared living.
I wanted to boil an egg and heat some almond milk for coffee but the stove was broken. I also wanted a good coffee but the staff didn't know how to use the machine. We all love a good coffee to start the day so this was a bit of a bummer for us.
The new cabins paint etc are gassing off quiet a bit and need a good airing. We would have purchased some scented candles if staying longer as the traffic noise precluded sleeping with the window open.
I would stay again for a night or two on my way somewhere but probably stay in a room in the house facing away from the bridge where the road noise travels from.
A great place to visit if you love cape cod/ Hamptons style. Think "Something's Gotta Give" with Di Keaton& Jack Nicholson. We will definitely be back for a night after enjoying a long lunch at the Harvest cafe. I'm sure the coffee machine, new paint smells and stove issues will be sorted soon!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed overnight in guest house 2. We were greeted warmly by the lovely Anastasia and given a good tour of the main house and all facilities. The guest houses are a recent addition and well built with very good facilities including a very comfortable bed, air con, a great shower and a cute blue sensor light (that you can turn off if you like) in the bathroom for middle of the night visits. There are tea and coffee facilities in a little alcove with a bar fridge and two comfortable chairs but there is a good coffee machine in the main house about 20 meters away. A short walk to all restaurants and the property is surrounded by lots of trees and a creek on one side. Plenty of good points but a couple of negatives that were only minor. Netflix did not work and there is no one on site at night to ask for help; there is a very noisy pump for the water tanks behind the guest house that you don't notice during the day - but you sure do at night (not that it comes on until needed) and a very bright red light on one of the sensors in the roof directly in your line of sight when you turn off the light for bed - just a bit annoying but as I said, all minor. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, nice quiche and fruit on the verandah of the main house. Overall a nice overnight and worth a return visit.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Woodynook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Four of us stayed in two rooms - Queen room and Queen standard room - for one night for a surprise birthday celebration. This beautiful property cannot be faulted! Such a handy location for the restaurants and shops of the main street, 5 minute walk to everything even the impressive markets on Sunday. The feeling of the property and grounds however is one of peace and tranquility; lush green lawns, expansive verandahs with generous and comfortable lounges to take in the view of the creek. Inside is as breathtaking with soaring ceilings, character features and a beautiful collection of artwork on the walls. The bedrooms were spacious and plushly furnished, each had private ensuite and we all reported a great night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious! Fruit platters, muesli, sourdough and spreads, croissants plus an array of handcrafted fruit flans and sweet and savoury tarts - too many to remember. I would highly recommend this place for a romantic weekend and it looks like the perfect venue for a wedding or special family celebration as you can book the whole house. Anastasia, our host, really makes her guests feel special and welcome, we will definitely be back! Would have taken more photos however I felt so relaxed during our stay that my phone was somewhere else, probably left in my bag in the room - who cares!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank jfazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Such a beautiful guesthouse. The main house is so warm and welcoming and has a lot of country charm. The history of the house makes it seem all the more special to stay within the walls. Anastasia the host was a delight and made us feel right at home. If you're looking for a Byron Bay experience, you should definitely consider Bangalow Guesthouse, just magic.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangalow
4.8 km away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
6.1 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
4.9 km away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
391 reviews
8.1 km away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
7.2 km away
Abelia House
Abelia House
#14 of 35 in Byron Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangalow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangalow Guesthouse

Address: 99 Byron St, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia (Formerly Riverview )
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Bangalow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bangalow
Price Range: $188 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bangalow Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bangalow Guesthouse is a stunning property sitting amongst beautifully landscaped gardens on the banks of the picturesque Byron Creek. Situated in the main street of Bangalow and just minutes walk from a wonderful array of cafes, restaurants, boutique shops and the iconic Bangalow Hotel, this is the perfect Northern Rivers holiday spot. This historic home is an immaculately renovated heritage-style property with four en-suited bedrooms. These can be booked individually or you can hire the entire house. The Queen room has a spacious en-suite and bathtub, The King room features its own sitting room with river views. All of the rooms have been beautifully furnished with Coco Republic furniture and artwork by internationally renowned artist Ken Johnson. Wide shaded verandas surround the home on 3 sides and provide cool breezy spots to sit and overlook the magnificent gardens and Byron Creek below. The property is a 15 minutes drive from Byron Bay and the region's famous beaches, 20 minutes from Ballina/Byron Airport and only 45 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. The Bangalow Guesthouse is also a fabulous venue to host your wedding or any kind of special event with two designated marquee spots in the gardens. We regularly hold events, local fresh food lunches and seasonal special dinners in our elegant dining room or on the spacious verandah. Bangalow Guesthouse is just a two minutes walk to boutique shops, art galleries,cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Bangalow Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangalow Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing