We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bangalow Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Victoria's at Ewingsdale(Ewingsdale)(Great Value!)
USD 296
USD 288
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Byron Retreat(Skinners Shoot)(Great Value!)
USD 122
USD 97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Hotel Motel(Suffolk Park)
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa(Suffolk Park)(Great Value!)
USD 330
USD 227
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Elements of Byron(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 113
USD 106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

BreakFree Eco Beach(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 133
USD 127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lord Byron(Byron Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 130
USD 112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
42
27
8
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
27
8
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebeautiful propertyqueen roomthe main houseother gueststhe kitchenbyron baycome hometwo nightsstayed one nighthustle bustlecommon areasconvenient locationbed was comfortableeach morninghome away from homecountry ham
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed overnight in guest house 2. We were greeted warmly by the lovely Anastasia and given a good tour of the main house and all facilities. The guest houses are a recent addition and well built with very good facilities including a very comfortable bed, air con, a great shower and a cute blue sensor light (that you can turn off if you like) in the bathroom for middle of the night visits. There are tea and coffee facilities in a little alcove with a bar fridge and two comfortable chairs but there is a good coffee machine in the main house about 20 meters away. A short walk to all restaurants and the property is surrounded by lots of trees and a creek on one side. Plenty of good points but a couple of negatives that were only minor. Netflix did not work and there is no one on site at night to ask for help; there is a very noisy pump for the water tanks behind the guest house that you don't notice during the day - but you sure do at night (not that it comes on until needed) and a very bright red light on one of the sensors in the roof directly in your line of sight when you turn off the light for bed - just a bit annoying but as I said, all minor. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, nice quiche and fruit on the verandah of the main house. Overall a nice overnight and worth a return visit.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Woodynook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Four of us stayed in two rooms - Queen room and Queen standard room - for one night for a surprise birthday celebration. This beautiful property cannot be faulted! Such a handy location for the restaurants and shops of the main street, 5 minute walk to everything even the impressive markets on Sunday. The feeling of the property and grounds however is one of peace and tranquility; lush green lawns, expansive verandahs with generous and comfortable lounges to take in the view of the creek. Inside is as breathtaking with soaring ceilings, character features and a beautiful collection of artwork on the walls. The bedrooms were spacious and plushly furnished, each had private ensuite and we all reported a great night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious! Fruit platters, muesli, sourdough and spreads, croissants plus an array of handcrafted fruit flans and sweet and savoury tarts - too many to remember. I would highly recommend this place for a romantic weekend and it looks like the perfect venue for a wedding or special family celebration as you can book the whole house. Anastasia, our host, really makes her guests feel special and welcome, we will definitely be back! Would have taken more photos however I felt so relaxed during our stay that my phone was somewhere else, probably left in my bag in the room - who cares!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank jfazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Such a beautiful guesthouse. The main house is so warm and welcoming and has a lot of country charm. The history of the house makes it seem all the more special to stay within the walls. Anastasia the host was a delight and made us feel right at home. If you're looking for a Byron Bay experience, you should definitely consider Bangalow Guesthouse, just magic.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My wife and I arrived Friday 19 August 2016 at 1.30pm looking forward to our weekend stay.

We were greeted by grumpy staff who advised check-in was 2pm, so we went for a walk in Bangalow and returned at around 2.30pm to get the key to our cottage in the grounds.

The cottage was new and very well appointed, so no complaints at this stage.

The following morning we went over to the main house for breakfast at 8.20am and sat at a table only to be told by a very unfriendly staff member to move as breakfast wasn't being served until 8.30am.

The breakfast on offer was not as advertised on the website.

No rhubarb and cinnamon, no baked pineapple etc.

The girl then came over to take our order for the cooked breakfast, which was fried eggs on toast with bacon. Once again not a modern Australian cooked breakfast as advertised on their website.

When my wife asked for a poached egg, she was told by the girl, that she didn't know how to make any other type of egg.

At this stage, we made no comment and left for our day trip.

On our return to the cottage around 5pm, the bed had not been made properly, just doona pulled up, some towels not replaced, bin not emptied and the soap in the same position in the sink as we had left it.

Once again, we said nothing at this stage.

The following morning, we went for breakfast and as in the previous day none of the lovely goodies as advertised.

Cooked breakfast was a boiled egg. at this stage I complained and was met with a hostile reaction, so my wife and I checked out.

For $350 per night an absolute disgrace.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank annestrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalow G, Manager at Bangalow Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hello annestrang,

I am very sorry to hear of your experience recently at Bangalow Guesthouse. We have had a change in management as of last week. I am the new manager and plan to make many changes and improvements at the guesthouse over the coming 3-6 months. I thank you for your feedback. I will call you to rectify the situation and invite you back to Bangalow Guesthouse to experience the changes first hand. Many thanks for your review. All feedback is encouraged as it assists us to improve the standards and give our guests a wonderful experience. I will be in touch this evening.
Kind regards
Anastasia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

A wonderful property just like being in a comfortable country home. Great location, friendly welcome, good home cooked breakfast. In summer there may be some traffic noise from the highway if you had the windows open. Short walk to great Bangalow shopping and restaurants and coffee.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ianhY9780DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews