We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bangalow Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Bangalow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed overnight in guest house 2. We were greeted warmly by the lovely Anastasia and given a good tour of the main house and all facilities. The guest houses are a recent addition and well built with very good facilities including a very comfortable bed, air con, a great shower and a cute blue sensor light (that you can turn off if you like) in the bathroom for middle of the night visits. There are tea and coffee facilities in a little alcove with a bar fridge and two comfortable chairs but there is a good coffee machine in the main house about 20 meters away. A short walk to all restaurants and the property is surrounded by lots of trees and a creek on one side. Plenty of good points but a couple of negatives that were only minor. Netflix did not work and there is no one on site at night to ask for help; there is a very noisy pump for the water tanks behind the guest house that you don't notice during the day - but you sure do at night (not that it comes on until needed) and a very bright red light on one of the sensors in the roof directly in your line of sight when you turn off the light for bed - just a bit annoying but as I said, all minor. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, nice quiche and fruit on the verandah of the main house. Overall a nice overnight and worth a return visit.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodynook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    25
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
49
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Four of us stayed in two rooms - Queen room and Queen standard room - for one night for a surprise birthday celebration. This beautiful property cannot be faulted! Such a handy location for the restaurants and shops of the main street, 5 minute walk to everything even the impressive markets on Sunday. The feeling of the property and grounds however is one of peace and tranquility; lush green lawns, expansive verandahs with generous and comfortable lounges to take in the view of the creek. Inside is as breathtaking with soaring ceilings, character features and a beautiful collection of artwork on the walls. The bedrooms were spacious and plushly furnished, each had private ensuite and we all reported a great night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious! Fruit platters, muesli, sourdough and spreads, croissants plus an array of handcrafted fruit flans and sweet and savoury tarts - too many to remember. I would highly recommend this place for a romantic weekend and it looks like the perfect venue for a wedding or special family celebration as you can book the whole house. Anastasia, our host, really makes her guests feel special and welcome, we will definitely be back! Would have taken more photos however I felt so relaxed during our stay that my phone was somewhere else, probably left in my bag in the room - who cares!

Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jfazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Such a beautiful guesthouse. The main house is so warm and welcoming and has a lot of country charm. The history of the house makes it seem all the more special to stay within the walls. Anastasia the host was a delight and made us feel right at home. If you're looking for a Byron Bay experience, you should definitely consider Bangalow Guesthouse, just magic.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My wife and I arrived Friday 19 August 2016 at 1.30pm looking forward to our weekend stay.

We were greeted by grumpy staff who advised check-in was 2pm, so we went for a walk in Bangalow and returned at around 2.30pm to get the key to our cottage in the grounds.

The cottage was new and very well appointed, so no complaints at this stage.

The following morning we went over to the main house for breakfast at 8.20am and sat at a table only to be told by a very unfriendly staff member to move as breakfast wasn't being served until 8.30am.

The breakfast on offer was not as advertised on the website.

No rhubarb and cinnamon, no baked pineapple etc.

The girl then came over to take our order for the cooked breakfast, which was fried eggs on toast with bacon. Once again not a modern Australian cooked breakfast as advertised on their website.

When my wife asked for a poached egg, she was told by the girl, that she didn't know how to make any other type of egg.

At this stage, we made no comment and left for our day trip.

On our return to the cottage around 5pm, the bed had not been made properly, just doona pulled up, some towels not replaced, bin not emptied and the soap in the same position in the sink as we had left it.

Once again, we said nothing at this stage.

The following morning, we went for breakfast and as in the previous day none of the lovely goodies as advertised.

Cooked breakfast was a boiled egg. at this stage I complained and was met with a hostile reaction, so my wife and I checked out.

For $350 per night an absolute disgrace.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annestrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalow G, Manager at Bangalow Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 September 2016
Hello annestrang,

I am very sorry to hear of your experience recently at Bangalow Guesthouse. We have had a change in management as of last week. I am the new manager and plan to make many changes and improvements at the guesthouse over the coming 3-6 months. I thank you for your feedback. I will call you to rectify the situation and invite you back to Bangalow Guesthouse to experience the changes first hand. Many thanks for your review. All feedback is encouraged as it assists us to improve the standards and give our guests a wonderful experience. I will be in touch this evening.
Kind regards
Anastasia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

A wonderful property just like being in a comfortable country home. Great location, friendly welcome, good home cooked breakfast. In summer there may be some traffic noise from the highway if you had the windows open. Short walk to great Bangalow shopping and restaurants and coffee.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangalow
4.8 km away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
6.1 km away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
4.9 km away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
368 reviews
8.1 km away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
7.2 km away
Abelia House
Abelia House
#14 of 35 in Byron Bay
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangalow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangalow Guesthouse

Property: Bangalow Guesthouse
Address: 99 Byron St, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia (Formerly Riverview )
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Bangalow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bangalow
Price range (per night): $188 - $345
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bangalow Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bangalow Guesthouse is a stunning property sitting amongst beautifully landscaped gardens on the banks of the picturesque Byron Creek. Situated in the main street of Bangalow and just minutes walk from a wonderful array of cafes, restaurants, boutique shops and the iconic Bangalow Hotel, this is the perfect Northern Rivers holiday spot. This historic home is an immaculately renovated heritage-style property with four en-suited bedrooms. These can be booked individually or you can hire the entire house. The Queen room has a spacious en-suite and bathtub, The King room features its own sitting room with river views. All of the rooms have been beautifully furnished with Coco Republic furniture and artwork by internationally renowned artist Ken Johnson. Wide shaded verandas surround the home on 3 sides and provide cool breezy spots to sit and overlook the magnificent gardens and Byron Creek below. The property is a 15 minutes drive from Byron Bay and the region's famous beaches, 20 minutes from Ballina/Byron Airport and only 45 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. The Bangalow Guesthouse is also a fabulous venue to host your wedding or any kind of special event with two designated marquee spots in the gardens. We regularly hold events, local fresh food lunches and seasonal special dinners in our elegant dining room or on the spacious verandah. Bangalow Guesthouse is just a two minutes walk to boutique shops, art galleries,cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Bangalow Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangalow Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing