We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tabitha A
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Excellent stay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jan 2022via mobile
Very happy, great room (ask for number 2) we had a little garden/courtyard it was excellent. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have a basic kitchenette. Friendly service, nice little pool, parking for each room is free.
Location is excellent, 2 mins walk to town or river, 20 mins to Byron, 5 mins to beach.
Date of stay: January 2022
Room Tip: Close all the windows of your room if you don’t like the traffic noise, then it was fine. Open...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$185
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$185
  • Priceline
1.0 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Queen room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$144
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$175
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
  • Priceline
1.7 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$10 steak (200g rump)
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$149
  • eDreams
0.9 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Queen room, downstairs
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$175
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
1.9 km from River Street Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ballina
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
15
14
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
14
7
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2021

Room 2 is in the front and on the corner of a road and a side lane (which is used as a through road) so very noisy. Bathroom vent open to avoid condensation allows noise to filter in. Take earplugs. Older motel redecorated and rooms downsized. Comfortable bed & pillows.

Room tip: Speak directly and ask for a room at the back near the carpark
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chamboNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christiana Whitty, Owner at River Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Thanks for the review and feedback chamboNSW.
We are sorry that you found your room noisy. Being well located on the main street, we do get some traffic noise and this can worry some guests. Hopefully if you stay with us again, you could book one of our rooms further away from the road.
We are glad that you noticed the extensive refurbishment our motel has recently undertaken and that you found the bed comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

We contacted River Street Motel on our way to Brisbane from the Hunter Valley at approx 9.00pm whilst we were travelling - expected to arrive at Ballina after 10.30pm. Nathan was awesome ensuring that we had a room at the back of the hotel for ease of access and left the key and room ready for our arrival. Found our room easily, parking was a breeze. Checking out was just as easy - PERFECT - Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank colettes622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christiana Whitty, Owner at River Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Thanks so much for the excellent review Colette and lovely comments about our motel and staff. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope to see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021 via mobile

Great hotel in handy location on Main Street, yet still quiet location. Older style motel but very neat and comfortable with under cover parking to suit large 4WD.
Quick easy booking but a little pricey compared to others.
5 minute walk to RSL for local feed and entertainment.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JeepinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christiana Whitty, Owner at River Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Thanks for the great review JeepinOz and positive comments about our neat and comfortable motel and great location.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021

I stayed at the River Street Motel in February of this year, and found it to be far superior to other motels/accomodation within its price range.

The room was very clean, with lovely homewares and linens. The staff were very accomodating and understanding. I was genuinely impressed, as I did not anticipate that everything would be so lovely.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KokebC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christiana Whitty, Owner at River Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Thanks so much for the excellent review KokebC.
We appreciate all of the lovely comments about our very clean and lovely motel, accommodating staff and value for money.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in room 1. A little noisy re traffic during the day but quiet at night. Room was very clean and spacious with fridge, microwave and crockery and cutlery. Clean, good pool. Very gracious hosts who allowed me an early check in. Perfect short flat walk to shops. Good Woolworths about 1km walk and $2.50 red concession bus ticket allows all day travel including from and to airport on Blanch’s coach. Bus stop 600m walk.
Thanks for a great short break!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank lyndy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christiana Whitty, Owner at River Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Thanks for the excellent review lyndy23 and lovely comments about our very clean, spacious and well set out rooms. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool, great location and found our staff friendly and motel good value for money.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews