We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dave M

Didn't even get there

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Oct 2016via mobile
After booking a long weekend at the park, a storm event occurred and we were given the option to extend our booking out to three months. The owner has now reneged on the agreement. The owner hasn't even got a clue what weekends are what when it comes to queens birthday and Labor Day. She spoke down her nose to me, not a good look if you are trying to get first time visitors to your park and want repeat visits. Judging by the comments I have read on trip advisor, it doesn't seem to rate very well. I will just go back to the park on the lake in Ballina, great service and great park, and pet friendly.
Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Nature Resort, responded to this review
Responded 19 Oct 2016
Thanks Dave McKay for giving me an opportunity to correct your erroneous statements, so that readers can understand better our policies. Firstly, I would like to say (which is clearly stated on your receipt and in our terms and conditions) that there are no refunds for cancellation within 30 days for a peak period booking. Initially you booked in January 2016, and believed the weather wasn't going to be good enough to stay. In fact it was perfect. This was a peak period booking. Out of consideration for you we allowed you to rebook within 3 months of the original date of the booking. You did, but cancelled it at the last minute and my staff allowed you to rebook (again) for the October long weekend (which was very generous of them - it is now 9 months from the original booking) - which you didn't show up for. No explanation. You then rang again asking to rebook for Christmas - which I pointed out was not what was agreed upon, and that you had used up your last credit on the October long weekend (Queens birthday weekend in Queensland, but known as the Labour day weekend in NSW - where we are located), and had not shown up for that booking (thereby making it a costly exercise for us when we could have booked that spot). Had you in any way been reasonable or even truthful I would have been much more open to trying to assist you. You spoke to me rudely and abusively, you lied regarding the facts (remember we have a booking system where all the conversations are recorded) and you threatened me. We have zero tolerance for bullying and harassment in the work place. We treat our guests with respect and understanding at all times, and ask that they do they same to us. Put simply you are not welcome at the Ballina Beach Village, which is a family friendly eco village. Rikki, Owner, Ballina Beach Village.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$180
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
2.0 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$185
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
2.7 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$178
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$178
2.9 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$275
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
1.8 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$175
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
4.0 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool and seating area 2
AU$144
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$144
2.9 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$192
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$204
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$185
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$198
  • Algotels
2.5 km from Ballina Beach Nature Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ballina
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
157
91
29
14
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
157
91
29
14
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great getaway cooking facilities camping cabin park sites campers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We s stayed for 5 nights in a cabin with our family and dog. Had everything you need, nice park and pools for the kids, fantastic beach.
Would definitely return again but will book for a longer period.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Stacy, thank you for your review. Very pleased you had the experience that we try to provide for all guests. You will be very welcome on your return. If you are staying for longer, make sure to ask what specials we have going? Out of school holidays we can do great deals! Best wishes, Rikki and the Staff, Ballina Beach Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

It's a shame the beach is more like 20 minutes for a dog. Make sure your dog is on a leash 100% of the time or you will get growled at. Not even one second, even if your dog is the friendliest one.

Bought a Scoopon for this place and were really let down by the amount of rules and lack of info from staff..

Would never stay again..

Staff are rude..

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
9  Thank Tranquil84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

I think reviews like yours are really valuable - becuase it clearly shows that we do not tolerate people who don't do the right thing with their dog visits. 40% of guests have dogs, and at peak periods we have up to 550 people. So if everyone let their dogs off, didn't pick up after them and and had dogs that constantly acted aggressively and barked non stop - then it would be a night mare (also, under the Council rules - it is illegal). We had numerous complaints about you and my staff spoke respectfully to you on each occassion, but more firmly each time. It is not acceptable that you let your dog roam at will into other people's camp sites, chase other dogs and defeacate where it feels like. There are consequences to your actions. The bottom line is you actually aren't welcome back. 99% of our guests are fabulous. Thank you to all of our wonderful dog guests who do stay with whom we never, ever have a problem. Rikki, Ballina Beach Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Of a prepaid one week stay we left after the first night. It was smelly and incredibly expensive for the very unsatisfactory cabins. I paid extra for a better cabin that was honestly just awful.... :(

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
9  Thank EllisSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Hello Sean, you made your point in the review that you put under another name yessterday. As stated, had you alerted the staff to your issues we would have offered to shift you if available, reclean if not, or upgrade you. if at all possible Ours is a family park, and we pride ourselves on our ability to ensure that all guests have a good customer experience. It is very unfair to review a property without giving the managmeent an opportunity to meet expectations while you are there and then to bombard a review site with multipile reviews. At peak period when we are fully booked, things can go wrong but we always have solutions if we are alerted to the problem - which we weren't. Clearly your two reviews are not typical of the experience that our guests have. I am sorry for this, and I could have made it right for you at the time had you let us know. Rikki and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I purchased a scoopon for a cabin at Ballina beach village and was really disappointed. I know it was a cheap deal but I found the cabin unacceptable. It smelt and the under bed cover was dirty. The taps were grimy and it was a small dingy cabin that you wouldn't want to stay in. The toilets and showers seemed grotty and as the cabin didn't have its own bathroom you had to use these shared ones.
I wouldn't stay here again.
It was school holidays and there wasn't anyone in the other small cabins.
I didn't view the other '4 star' cabins so can't comment, but I can't imagine they are much better.
On a positive note the management did try and solve the issue with offering us an upgrade but I didn't want to stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
9  Thank HazelStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Hello Hazel, In some respects I think your expectations were too high for the price of the deal that you purchased, nonetheless we did try to encourage you to stay (as you mentioned) with a free upgrade to a cabin with bathroom and linen. Explicit photos and descriptions of the cabins are on our site, and we are as full in our descriptions as possible so that people unerstand what they are buying. My apologies that our cleaning product which you smelt, was not to your liking. We have since changed it based on your feedback. Best wisehs and kindest regards, Rikki and the team, Ballina Beach Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a week with our dog in our van and there were plenty of nice friendly dogs staying there in cabins, vans and camping. Nice people working there, especially Jeremy and Lynette. Large grassy sites, not crowded when busy, good amenities and cafe etc. Only negative is the dog beach is a 10 minute drive away. Weekly ticket for ferry $54 but you could use it as often as you liked. Recommended for that relaxed style of van park rather than crammed in on top of each other style of park. Will come back again. 😊

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BallinaBV, Owner at Ballina Beach Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you for acknowledging our wonderful staff, it will give them a real buzz that you mentioned them by name. You have picked out the things that we think we are noted for – great service, a wonderful wilderness space but still only 8kms from town, plenty of room and pet friendly. Hope to see you back again soon. The staff spoke very fondly of you both.
Kindest regards,
Rikki and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews