We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Point Cafe Avoca Beach”
Review of Point Cafe

Point Cafe
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Avoca Beach
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Point Cafe at Avoca Beach is the heart of H&H. It is the core cafe and has become a community institution. With unrivalled views out to the Pacific and a menu to match, “The Point” has been a favourite amongst locals and visitors alike for over 10 years. Set on the southern point of Avoca Beach, directly under the Surf Club you will be in a prime position to enjoy your morning coffee or sit back and relax with an indulgent long lunch. The Point Cafe Avoca Beach is available for private hire at night. We can host your special occasions; birthdays, anniversaries, intimate weddings. Contact Us today to enquire about your special event by the sea. Visit our website to view our current menus.
Reviewed 6 March 2024

Four old friends had a catch up for lunch last week at the Point Cafe overlooking Avoca beach. What a fabulous view, with parking close by thankfully as one person in our party was on a walking frame.
A good menu range covering all tastes, beer battered fish and chips for the guys, open Caesar salad for me and the savoury fritters for my friend. Delicious meals, quick service, friendly staff, with big serves, all washed down with a bottle of white wine. A beautiful day, will definitely be back.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 339margs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2024

Hands-down the best cafe we’ve found in the area. Over from the UK, we came here last year and loved it and this time we have been back twice already. This place is the best. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. You get to sit right by the beach and eat delicious food. We don’t want to eat rubbish, so this place has a lot to offer us. So far I have had the tiger prawns (amazing!) served with garlic bread which I was told is Turkish (never had garlic bread that is so light and delicious!) Today I had the squid, also fantastic. My hubbie had the fish and chips and loved it.

Went all out today and had desserts. Both gorgeous, but my Affogato knocked spots off one I had in another very expensive boxy place locally the other day.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023 via mobile

We stop for a refreshment. We had a cappuccino which was nice an creamy with a frothy. They put heaps of chocolate on the top. A very enjoyable coffee. We also had garlic bread which was very nice.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Charmaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023

Definitely a 'must do' if you are going this way. The position is fabulous right in front of the water (not the road) which is great but the surprising thing was just how good the food was. It was so good we went back to have lunch as well. Breakfast was probably the best pancakes I have had in years served with real maple syrup, berries, banana fritter and delicious bacon. I had the Salmon fish cakes for lunch and they were completely homemade with a seriously good sauce with salad and asparagus. My friend had a crab taco. The service was warm, fast and friendly. A surprising gem!!

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2023 via mobile

The new menu features a winter porridge that will delight. Not too hot and not too cold, this beautiful dish is just right.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank JacquiG1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Point Cafe also viewed

Avoca Beach, New South Wales
Avoca Beach, New South Wales
 
Avoca Beach, New South Wales
Daleys Point, New South Wales
 

Been to Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.