We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitoulin Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timberlane Rustic Lodges
Reviewed 14 September 2017

First time there. It certainly will not be my last. Mark is a very conscientious owner operator. He values you experience. The cabins are rustic but clean and organized. I cannot say enough, except that my wife and I really enjoyed the peace and quiet as well as meeting the other patrons who frequently visit. The fishing is pretty good too. Thank again Mark!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Paul we are so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay. Mark really enjoyed meeting you both and was really pleased by your kind review. We look forward to having you back again! Thank you for your positive feedback and for sharing it with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience and are happy that you noticed. Have a great winter!
Laura & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

I like this place. Spent some time here with a couple friends to do some fishing and relax.

Mark Varey is a friendly fellow who you can tell enjoys what he's doing and knows he's got a good thing going at Timberlane. He works behind the scenes to make sure you have what you need but also likes to chat and will do so whenever he sees you. He'll check to make sure everything's good and will try and steer you in the right direction for the fish. They clean the fish here for you and package them so there's no hassle if you want to bring some home. The boat is filled with gas and ready to go before you are.

We took advantage of the meal plan. They do Breakfast and Supper. There's a microwave and fridge in the cabins so you can take care of your own lunch easy enough. The portions at Breakfast and Supper are not stingy and the meals are good. It's the way to go here.

As for the cabin, We stayed in the Oak. It is, as the title indicates - Rustic. If you are looking for a modern, air conditioned cottage with Satellite TV here - that's not what this is about. That said, there is a TV in the rec hall. Also in the rec hall are games, a Pool table, Ping Pong etc. A family with Kids would probably appreciate those things. The Oak Cabin is clean and dry with 4 rooms split off from a large central area with a great big table for playing cards, drinking the beers and eating the snack foods. This cabin was really close to the lake. I started and ended my days here sitting on the porch, having a cigar and just staring out over it. The Cabins not on the lake are within a minute's walk or less.

So about the lake - Manitou is one of the cleanest lakes I've ever seen. It was still a bit cold for swimming when I was here but this would be a great lake to swim in during July or August. It's a big lake and it took us a bit to find where the fish were hiding but find them we did and we ended up with a nice haul of Bass. The Walleye were wise to us though and remained in the depths. Next time.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbeefy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for all your positive input! We really appreciate it. Oak deck is definitely the best place to start and end the day, hard to beat that view of the lake and Niagara escarpment. You have described the place very well! We have tried to keep the resort as much like it was when it first opened, with the exceptions of new appliances and bedding, so that you can feel a bit like you travelled back in time, to a time when things moved a bit slower, its why we don't have any wifi or electronics in the cabin. Give you a chance to detach from the wired world if you choose, although we have excellent cell reception and wifi at the B&B if you choose not too. So glad you enjoyed the meals, the fishing, and the ambiance, and that you took the time to let us know!

Laura & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We had our wedding here October, 2016 and rented out the entire place for the weekend!
Words cannot express how happy we were with our entire experience at Timberlane from start to finish! Mark and Laura are the most kind, accommodating and hospitable hosts I've ever met.
From amazing views and clean cottages to great food and service, this couple knows what they are doing and their resort has so much to offer!!
They made the whole process so much easier and I would highly recommend the lodge for weddings, family functions, or just a quiet weekend away!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

You are too kind! Guests like you and your family make it very easy for us to be accommodating. Your wedding was so beautiful! And we had such fun with your family and friends! We wish you all the best and many many happy anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We weren't sure what to expect from our first trip to Manitoulin, but choosing Timberlane was a great start. It is rustic, but we were looking to get away for a few days and it certainly fit the bill.

Mark was able to give us great recommendations for every activity we did on the island. We took advantage of most of the meals and weren't disappointed. The pre-planned menu was a little off-putting for our kids at first, but they ultimately embraced it and tried some new things. Both breakfasts and dinners were excellent, with more than enough to satisfy our appetites.

The center of the island location allowed us to get out and explore, but then get back to Timberlane for a lot of R & R. The Lake was very quite and the small beach and platform/slide were great for our girls.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W, Owner at Timberlane Rustic Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thanks Steve! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate the positive feedback. Mark grew up on the island, and is an excellent resource for visitors, especially with all his stories. We also enjoyed getting to know you as well. Look forward to seeing all of you again, even if its just to stop by and say hi while you are back for a visit at another great island location. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

After a three day stay at Timberlane Rustic Lodges to attend an on-site wedding, my husband, kids and I cannot wait to plan our trip back next summer. Mark and Laura go above and beyond for their guests in every aspect. Their facilities, activities and the overall setting is more than we could have asked for. I would highly recommend this beautiful lakeside destination.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manitoulin Island hotels
6.1 km away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 34 in Manitoulin Island
72 reviews
17 km away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
179 reviews
22.7 km away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
64 reviews
86 km away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
78 reviews
22.9 km away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberlane Rustic Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberlane Rustic Lodges

Address: 249 Mill Rd | Mindemoya, Ontario P0P 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Manitoulin Island
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timberlane Rustic Lodges is a family friendly fishing resort nestled next to Lake Manitou on beautiful Manitoulin Island. We have 9 private cabins down below on the water, and one housekeeping wheelchair accessible cabin up above overlooking the water along with a 4 suite newly renovated century farmhouse B&B open year round. We also have canoes, kayaks, 17" stanley fishing boats and pontoon boats all available for rental. The fishing is excellent - bass, whitefish, pickerel, laketrout, pike, trout and perch are all abundant in the lake. We take care of all the fish cleaning and packaging for you on site. We have a full restaurant that is guest only and make our meals from scratch. We also get most of our food from local sources. The meals are served family style and we get many great reviews of them. Our staff is friendly and knowledgeable of the area and are happy to help you out and let you know about local events and happenings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing